We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairmont”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fairmont San Francisco
Ranked #26 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Historic hotel, in a great location. A great experience staying at the hotel. The room had fantastic views and was well laid out. Furnishing were top class - it felt special.
My only (minor) criticism was the bar area where I thought the layout could be improved and service was slow.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thanks for your kind words about the hotel. Were thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and found your room and view fantastic. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,288)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont San Francisco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,821 - 2,827 of 3,288 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

As soon as you walk into the vast, ornate foyer you see that this is a hotel that must need a lot of upkeep .. and they do it really well. Plentiful front desk staff made for an efficient check-in, welcome after a long journey.

My room was on the 12th floor of "The Tower". Huge window and great view over the south of the city which was a fine backdrop to my stay.

The room was large and comfortable, the bathroom also ornate, also roomy, and the housekeeping exemplary. Having read TripAdvisor in advance I registered for the Fairmont "President's Club" and received free internet access for the whole of my stay. I also received complimentary use of fitness clothing provided by the hotel for the duration ... a lovely touch.

I liked pretty much everything about the Fairmont. Staff were really good, and Concierge Monica excellent. I usually went to cafes but the one day I had breakfast there it was good although pricey. I used the bar several times for coffee, again, efficient service.

Struggling to think of many negatives. There were a lot of dogs staying and I would normally avoid a hotel which welcomes pets, being allergic to animal fur. But it wasn't an issue here, perhaps because housekeeping was so good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Valiant2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. We are very pleased to hear you had such a nice stay with us. As you mentioned our lobby is quite grand and one of the most beautiful in the City. We pride ourselves on delivering excellent service, so it's nice to hear of your interactions with the staff. We are a pet-friendly hotel, and it's nice to hear your allergies didn't act up too badly as a result. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Great location atop of Nob Hill perfect for exploring San Fran. Concierge very helpful and came up with some good places to eat. Very comfy beds, good quality bed linen, great service - Kids loved the breakfast buffet. Would def stay here again. Free wifi and gym if President club member ( free to join).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Just finished a 3 night stay here and could not be happier. This place is beautiful. I stayed in a newly renovated room with a queen bed. After long walks all over SF, the bed was SOOOOO comfortable.
The staff is incredibly kind and helpful. The Concierge found me tickets to a baseball game and took care of all the details. When we decided to take the Muni to the game she outlined exactly which bus and train we needed to take.
The restaurant and bar downstairs is very nice. We watched the World Cup in the Bar and could not have been happier. Something fun about watching a futbol game with people from all over the world. Great fun!
We had the breakfast buffet one morning. It was nothing special, but it was very delicious. The staff was great. $30 bucks for the breakfast buffet was a little high, but not unexpected at such a fantastic hotel.
I will stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing outside the hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cortesokc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thanks for your kind words about the hotel. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and found service so useful. I can imagine what an exciting experience it must have been watching the World Cup with people from so many different backgrounds. Thanks again for your kind words and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed at this property for 2 nights in late June. The lobby of the hotel is beautiful and classy, but no one sleeps in the lobby, so let's get to the room. The standard room we had on 6th floor was recently renovated. The room was spacious and tastefully decorated. We were very comfortable and noted no wears and tears.... until we walked into the bathroom, which looked like it was stuck in the 80's. I'm talking shower curtain, orange marble and absolutely no space to put your packed toiletry bags.

This is a fine establishment and I just don't understand why the hotel will update the room but not the bathroom. If the bathroom update is pending, then put the guests in another room that is complete and have a consistent theme throughout. If this was any other hotel not in the same class, I would have overlooked it but I just don't think the lack of attention to details should be practiced by management of a fine establishment.

We enjoyed the view from the top of the hill while walking about outside. While we frequent S.F., this is our first time staying at a hotel on top of the hill. We like walking the city, so the location of the old historic hotels up the hill is not ideal for someone that likes to walk.

Wifi is not free.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is fully refurbished rather than partially done.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

No doubt a top hotel; bell and concierge were excellent, so too the front desk staff; rich in tradition. The building is magnificent and location atop nob hill is wonderful. The corner suite was top quality and recently refurbed. I did, however, forget to pack my CDs so was unable to have any music in our room (I did say it was traditional; at least the grammar phone had gone).
The general quality won't disappoint but the hotel does lack character and atmosphere.
The web site's description of the gym is outrageously inaccurate. It is smallish, dingy, not staffed to the hotel quality and gets packed with locals. It swayed us to try Fairmont, but we won't get caught again (this is our 3rd trip to the city).
The Fairmont (Savoy) London is in a totally different class.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank familymanfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your comments about the hotel. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your room and found the hotel top notch. We strive to be the best and we appreciate your feedback as it gives us motivation to continue to improve. I'm sorry to hear you found the website description of the gym to be inaccurate. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you again to The Fairmont San Francisco.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

There were some great last minute booking deals from the hotel which brought it well within our holiday budget and we couldn't have made a better choice. The hotel is classy without being precious and the attentiveness of staff is second to none. The location was excellent for transport links or even walking to places like Union Square, Chinatown, the financial district or Fisherman's Wharf

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Tredaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thanks for sharing your feedback on your stay with us. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and were able to find a great last minute deal. We pride ourselves on service, and feel this is what differentiates a good stay from a great one. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#22 of 230 in San Francisco
1,275 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,315 reviews
SoMa
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
1,612 reviews
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#5 of 230 in San Francisco
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont San Francisco

Address: Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108-6000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £214 - £559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-renowned, Fairmont San Francisco hotel presents an awe-inspiring picture of historic San Francisco. The grandeur of the hotel coupled with its reputation for impeccable service promises a truly memorable experience. Known for turning moments into memories for leisure and business travelers alike this luxury San Francisco hotel has been host to some of the most influential meetings and events, breathtaking weddings and personalized special occasions of the century. Fairmont San Francisco hotel provides accommodations that are a testament to luxury with 592 individually furnished and decorated guest rooms. The 62 elegant suites offer impressive views of the City and Bay. The hotel combines classic ambience with modern amenities. For business travelers, Fairmont San Francisco hotel accommodations features include a spacious work desk, multi-line telephone with voice-mail and High Speed Internet Access. Each of the hotel's spacious guest rooms and suites have been elegantly updated including flat screen TVs, luxury linen ensembles and pillow top beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Fairmont Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing