We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fairmont San Francisco
Ranked #31 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The hotel is very elegant and has a classic luxury atmosphere. Great location, huge bedroom with nice views and very helpful staff made our stay special. It's a place that makes you want to come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a Tower Building room. You will pay a little extra but the views worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luiza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thanks for your kind words. I'm thrilled to hear you had such a nice time and look forward to sharing your comments with the staff. Thanks again and we look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,111 - 3,117 of 3,622 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

I have stayed here for business conferences twice and had suites both time. The quality of the linens are top notch. If classic or old world are not your thing, then definitely don't stay here. This is your grandfather's hotel but that can be great and a welcome retreat. The bar is old school and not all that lively so don't expect a 'happening' scene. You can get that further down the hill. I like the feeling of the hotel. If you have the 'scratch', request a corner room/suite. You can sometimes get a deal on one of the travel websites too. I love a little french restaurant down the hill for a quiet dinner. This is also very close to China Town and an easy ride to Little Italy. So stay if you like classic. If a more modern feel is what you like, than try another place.

Room Tip: Corner room or Bay View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asquam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. It sounds like you enjoyed yourself thoroughly and plan on returning. I'm pleased you were able to stay in a corner room, as they offer some of the most stunning views in the City and a unique perspective on San Francisco. Thanks again for your kind words and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Excellent place to stay. It is in the center of al the attactions. The rooms are great and the staff is excellent. Very pricey but so are all the other hotels in San Francisco.The cable cars go right by the major intersection. Tough walk back up the hill from main cable car line.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. I look forward to sharing with the staff. I know they'll be thrilled to hear it. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Optimum location on Union Square/Knob Hill! Best location for all cable car connections.
Service was excellent from front to back , with special mention to Tom Wolf, senior concierge and
staff for prompt recommendations and reservations to our requests.
Hotel can only be described as Elegant. Our suite was everything We requested---highly
recommend the Singapore suite---full view of the city.
In-room service was best ever---service and food/beverage in all lounges/restaurants including
High Tea was above average.
Very friendly and accommodating staff.
This Hotel is a pillar in the San Francisco city landscape---and in Our opinion, should be rated
higher than it is.
Once you stay at this accommodation , it will always be a repeat.
It will be for us.
Thank you Fairmont for a very memorable and enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Singapore suite or equivalent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thanks very much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. It sounds like you had an amazing stay with us. We pride ourselves on delivering engaging service to our guests and Mr. Wolfe is that personified. I'm very pleased to hear that you have such a high opinion of the hotel, as you are clearly a very well-seasoned traveler. I look forward to sharing your kind words with the staff. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

A very special hotel that makes everyone feel special! I was my first time with the Fairmont in San Francisco and it did not disappoint. Everything went smooth from check in to check out. If you want to experience classic luxury at its best this is the place to be : )

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Nicoleta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I've been to San Francisco many times but this was my first time staying at the Fairmont. The outside of the building is grand and the lobby more grand. Upon checking in we upgraded to a 2-bed room. What we got was a beautiful corner room on the 14th floor with windows along 2 walls. The view was spectacular! We could see downtown, the Bay, the Bay Bridge, Coit Tower and the Transamerica Pyramid. The room was recently renovated. The bedding was pure white which I appreciated. Normally when I stay at a hotel the first thing I do is remove the patterned comforter. No need here. The beds were super comfy. Our room had a nice desk area and the cabinet that the LCD TV was on opened up to the mini bar, Keurig machine, and hot water kettle. K-cups and Fairmont tea was included in the cost of the room. I signed up for the President's Club so our room had workout clothes, including shoes, free of charge. We also had free wifi and the daily newspaper delivered every morning. The room was clean but if I had to nit-pick, there were some water spots on the bathroom mirror when we arrived and they remained there our entire stay. Otherwise, no housekeeping issues. The bathroom had a separate shower and tub and 2 Fairmont robes. The complimentary toiletries smell like roses, literally. I'm still using the hand lotion now that I'm home. The carpets were spotless and I actually walked around with my socks which I normally don't do in a hotel. Walking to the elevators there are long halls lined with old pictures and stories. There are quaint sitting areas along the way. The Cafe Cento has awesome pastries that we grabbed for breakfast in the room. Restaurants are kind of limited and pricey, but around the corner is the Nob Hill Cafe that has some good Italian food. This hotel is conveniently located to catch the cable car to the Financial District or Embarcadero or to Fisherman's Wharf. Do yourself a favor and valet your car and never take it out until you leave SF! Buy a 3-day or 5-day, MUNI pass and don't mess with the traffic and parking! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Fairmont and we even got a sneak peak at the 4th of July fireworks over the Bay. I've stayed at an adjacent hotel previously, but this is now my must stay at hotel when I go back to SF.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank RCBInman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I've been in the Fairmont before, when I lived in the Bay Area in the 90's, but this was the first time staying. Loved every second of it! You can't beat the elegance of location on top of Nob Hill, the entry, the lobby, elevators and finally the rooms.

The rooms were all recently renovated and the beds were incredibly comfortable.

The staff were all wonderful, from the bell desk and valet to the check in desk and concierge. Not one complaint. And the concierge desk is simply the best I've ever seen. We declined to rent car when we got to the airport because the lines were too long. We still needed a car one evening and the concierge arranged for it to be delivered to the hotel at the exact time I needed for only a 5 hour rental.

My favorite part has always been the Tonga Room though. One of the coolest bars I've ever been to.

You won't be disappointed with a stay in this hotel!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for your extremely kind words about the hotel. I'm thrilled to hear you had such a nice time with us, particularly after such a long anticipation! We pride ourselves on service, so I'm happy to hear of your interactions with the team. As you mentioned, Tonga Room is one of a kind and not to be missed. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 231 in San Francisco
1,444 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 231 in San Francisco
5,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#3 of 231 in San Francisco
563 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#9 of 231 in San Francisco
1,307 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont San Francisco

Address: 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108-6000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £176 - £539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-renowned, Fairmont San Francisco hotel presents an awe-inspiring picture of historic San Francisco. The grandeur of the hotel coupled with its reputation for impeccable service promises a truly memorable experience. Known for turning moments into memories for leisure and business travelers alike this luxury San Francisco hotel has been host to some of the most influential meetings and events, breathtaking weddings and personalized special occasions of the century. Fairmont San Francisco hotel provides accommodations that are a testament to luxury with 592 individually furnished and decorated guest rooms. The 62 elegant suites offer impressive views of the City and Bay. The hotel combines classic ambience with modern amenities. For business travelers, Fairmont San Francisco hotel accommodations features include a spacious work desk, multi-line telephone with voice-mail and High Speed Internet Access. Each of the hotel's spacious guest rooms and suites have been elegantly updated including flat screen TVs, luxury linen ensembles and pillow top beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Fairmont Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing