We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too classy..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont San Francisco
Ranked #21 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Too classy..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Not our kind of hotel. It is nice, no doubt about it, but we are just ordinary people, with ordinary jobs, who didn't quite feel at home at the Fairmont. We like to stay at good hotels, but the Fairmont are more suitable for the wealthy and posh class of the society. This wasn't for us, and we checked out earlier than first planned.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wenche J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for commenting on your recent experience at the hotel. I'm pleased to hear you found the hotel nice, but disappointed to hear you didn't feel welcome. We are welcoming of all people and I apologize that we failed to make you feel that way. Thanks again and we hope you would be willing to return and allow us the opportunity to give you the experience you deserve.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,839
    618
    235
    115
    97
See reviews for
699
1,137
99
624
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights there. When we arrived, the rooms wasn't ready yet but the lady at the front desk fulfilled her promise to give us a call as soon as the room is ready (it's about 1 hour after I arrived in which I consider it's good because we arrived before hotel check in time). The room is spacious, Internet is free, the room is clean, the ambiance of the hotel is great, nothing else we could have asked for. There is a cable car stop behind the hotel ( the street to the stop is a bit steep) but overall, I enjoyed my stay with The Fairmont San Francisco. Thank you for taking care of us.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PitPit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. It sounds like you had a nice stay with us and would like to return. I'm sorry your room wasn't ready when you arrived, but it sounds like it wasn't too much trouble for you and you appreciated the service you received. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel is like stepping back to the hedonistic days of the twenties. The hotel lobby is opulently fitted out with animal print furniture and gold paneled ceilings. The balcony suites we and our friends had booked were beautifully designed, with comfortable furniture, a separate bedroom with gorgeously huge beds, wonderful linen and clean and functional bathrooms. The staff were delightful and friendly and nothing seemed to much bother. We were recommended by the concierge to try the hotel's Tonga Room, a bar in the basement of the hotel. This is something of a San Francisco icon, and its definitely worth a visit, just to try one of the cocktails. We all agreed that we would definitely come back for a longer stay as the location is very accessible to downtown and the culinary Mission District.

Room Tip: Try and book a balcony suite as you get wonderful skyline views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. I'm pleased to hear you found the lobby so beautiful. It is truly one of the most beautiful in the City and offers a sense of arrival unparalleled in San Francisco. As you mentioned Tonga Room is an icon and not to be missed. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I've stayed at the Fairmont San Francisco Knob Hill twice now, and I will most definately stay here again. The decor and service and comfort of the rooms takes your breath away. The onsite amenities are great (the gym is perfect!) and the restaurants are superb.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Meredith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. I'm pleased you've enjoyed both your stays with us and we look forward to welcoming you for your third. Thanks again for your kind words and we look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We didn't know this the hotel in the TV show "Hotel" until we arrived and saw the lovely history wall on the corridor to the Cafe. What a wonderful place, great architecture and history. The kids loved the Tonga Room, mocktails, cocktails, great menu and flavours (menus has changed), live music with the "rain" providing the native atmosphere. The rooms were very spacious. 2 Teens and 2 adults easily shared the Exterior Deluxe room. Huge walk-in wardrobe was enough to let us all unpack for the 3-day stay. Yes, they aren't modern but the classic style and appointments add to the experience. The caffe cento on the lower level was a great place for us to have a light snack before heading for the day. Would love to go back as a couple! San Francisco is a beautiful city with so much to see, do and explore.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank PatinSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. I'm thrilled you and your family had such a nice stay and found the hotel so well-suited to your needs. As you mentioned we are truly the Grand Dame of Nob Hill and a San Francisco icon. Tonga Room is an institution and I'm happy you enjoyed it. Thanks again for your kind words and we look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Fl
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Everything you expect in a luxury property: Great location, very helpful and friendly staff. Rooms are well soundproofed with comfortable bedding. Don't miss the Tonga Room. Its an unexpected trip with great drinks.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank dc719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thanks for commenting on your recent stay with us. I'm pleased to hear you found the hotel so suited to your needs and the rooms comfortable. We strive to provide excellent service and value and it sounds like we did that for you. Thanks again and we look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Great lobby and nice rooms. Great view of the bay from the high floors. Attitude of many staff members not helpful. Rooms near service elevators in the new tower are noisy. I changed rooms after one night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ajay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,910 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#29 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#9 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont San Francisco

Property: Fairmont San Francisco
Address: 950 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-6000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-renowned, Fairmont San Francisco hotel presents an awe-inspiring picture of historic San Francisco. The grandeur of the hotel coupled with its reputation for impeccable service promises a truly memorable experience. Known for turning moments into memories for leisure and business travelers alike this luxury San Francisco hotel has been host to some of the most influential meetings and events, breathtaking weddings and personalized special occasions of the century. Fairmont San Francisco hotel provides accommodations that are a testament to luxury with 592 individually furnished and decorated guest rooms. The 62 elegant suites offer impressive views of the City and Bay. The hotel combines classic ambience with modern amenities. For business travelers, Fairmont San Francisco hotel accommodations features include a spacious work desk, multi-line telephone with voice-mail and High Speed Internet Access. Each of the hotel's spacious guest rooms and suites have been elegantly updated including flat screen TVs, luxury linen ensembles and pillow top beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Fairmont Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing