We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Option! Decision Made!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont San Francisco
Ranked #21 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Only Option! Decision Made!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is the most exquisite hotel and I would not consider staying anywhere else. The location was perfect, only a step outside to a trolley stop and right at the top of the hill! The hotel staff were so helpful and professional, we were upgraded to the best room with the most spectacular views over the city out of the enormous full window. I was very impressed with the pet menu, only wish that I had my chi with me!

Ate at Atelier Krenn, 2 star michelin and it was about a 15 minute taxi ride, very easy to arrange taxis here, courtesy of the lovely, friendly doormen. Loved this hotel, will return.

Room Tip: We were very high up for a super view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you very much for your very kind words about the hotel. We are thrilled to hear you had such a nice visit and will be joining us again in the future. We pride ourselves on service and I'm happy we were able to deliver on your stay. Atelier Crenn is one of the best restaurants in the City and I can imagine how amazing a meal it was. Thanks again and we look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,839
    619
    235
    116
    97
See reviews for
699
1,139
99
624
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights with two children (12 & 14).
It's a fabulous hotel. We stayed in a corner tower suite and the views of the bay and bridge were wonderful.
The hotel is located at the very top of Nob Hill. It is quite a walk to Fishermans Wharf but a lovely walk (just get a cab back as the hills are vertical!).
The room we stayed in was lovely and quiet with a good size lounge/dining area (with double bed settee), a good sized bedroom and big bathroom. It had a fab coffee maker (an absolute must have for me).
We didn't eat in the hotel's main restaurant as wanted to explore San Fran but as we arrived so late the first night, we grabbed a light meal in the bar area. The food was lovely but just a warning, San Francisco is very expensive!!! We ate at The Tonga restaurant in our last evening and chose the set taster menu. Beautiful food, great atmosphere but again very pricey. It's also quite cold in there so take a sweater.
San Francisco wAs a beautiful place. A heads up on Alcatraz. Make sure you book well before you go. We didn't and missed out!! July/August is a busy period.
Highly hiring bikes and cycling over the bridge to Sausalito. It's stunning!!
Would definitely recommend this hotel but not if you're on a budget.
It's a fabulous 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank friendsfromderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I'm thrilled to hear you and your family had such a nice time. Our Tower Suites are quite large and offer some of the most stunning views of the City and the Bay and it sounds like you agree. As you mentioned biking across the Golden Gate Bridge is an amazing way to spend the day and to truly experience San Francisco. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back to The Fairmont.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canyon Lake, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Fairmont is an amazing chain of exceptional properties. San Francisco is lovely and in an excellent location. The quality of the hotel, the room and the restaurants were top notch. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank kaciep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thanks for your kind words about the hotel and for being a loyal Fairmont guest. I look forward to sharing your words with the staff. I know they'll be thrilled. Thanks again.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Be sure to stop in the Tonga Room, even if just for cocktails. Sidenote...nice to have water pressure in the shower. Elegant Room. Would have liked an ottoman for the chair. Loved the view. Great space. It would have been nice to have room in the refrigerator for dinner leftovers; ours spoiled because of the packed refrig.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thanks for sharing your recent experience at the hotel. I'm happy to hear you were able to experience Tonga Room. It is certainly one of a kind and a San Francisco institution. Thanks again for your kind words and happy birthday!
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The hotel was beautiful, but the housekeeping staff careless. My son brought his two baby blankets to the hotel. He left them on the bed when we went sightseeing. When we returned, the beds were made, and my son's blankets were missing. After several calls to management, they were never found. It ruined our vacation because my son cried every day because they were lost. We still do not have his blankets. They did not comp our room, and supposedly sent something to my son but we have received nothing thus far.

Room Tip: They have a two room suite for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SWKnapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. I'm pleased to hear you found the hotel beautiful but am very sorry to hear of your experience with housekeeping. I can imagine how devastating the loss of your son's blanket was for him and for that I apologize. I'm happy you were able to hear you were able to speak with management while on property but am sorry the amenity was apparently never delivered. Thanks again for your feedback and I look forward to sharing with the staff.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Variable experience in hotel which has a massive reputation, which it is now living on. Fabulous building and position. Large functional bedrooms which lack soul. Bay view outstanding. Dining room dark and old fashioned, unexciting. Food ordinary by plush hotel standards. Service acceptable but not special. One outstanding female concierge who just got it with terrific fix-it attitude. Will try elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: We had two Bay View rooms. At least they understood requirements for two good separate beds for sib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Amazing staff could not do enough to help, even a complimentary bottle of champers and chocolate covered strawberries left for us as it was our honeymoon!

The room was lovely and overlooked the bay towards Alcatraz - well worth a visit despite the fog!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thanks for your kind words about the hotel and congratulations on your wedding! We are thrilled you chose to spend your honeymoon with us and I'm pleased we were able to make it so special for you. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,914 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#30 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#9 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont San Francisco

Property: Fairmont San Francisco
Address: 950 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-6000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-renowned, Fairmont San Francisco hotel presents an awe-inspiring picture of historic San Francisco. The grandeur of the hotel coupled with its reputation for impeccable service promises a truly memorable experience. Known for turning moments into memories for leisure and business travelers alike this luxury San Francisco hotel has been host to some of the most influential meetings and events, breathtaking weddings and personalized special occasions of the century. Fairmont San Francisco hotel provides accommodations that are a testament to luxury with 592 individually furnished and decorated guest rooms. The 62 elegant suites offer impressive views of the City and Bay. The hotel combines classic ambience with modern amenities. For business travelers, Fairmont San Francisco hotel accommodations features include a spacious work desk, multi-line telephone with voice-mail and High Speed Internet Access. Each of the hotel's spacious guest rooms and suites have been elegantly updated including flat screen TVs, luxury linen ensembles and pillow top beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Fairmont Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Fairmont Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing