We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fairmont San Francisco
Ranked #26 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We were guests at the Fairmont using our DVC points. It was luxurious, beautify, historic and great location. The breakfast was amazing. We feel so fortunate to have the opportunity to view history and have such lovely accommodations. Excellent staff as well.

If you are a member of Fairmont's Presidents club the wifi is free.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MajeeSwanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your extremely kind words. We're thrilled you enjoyed and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,288)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont San Francisco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,693 - 2,699 of 3,288 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

Enjoyed the Fairmont for our first visit to California as it was in a good location between Fishermans Wharf and Union Square. Tonga room a great experience with the staff very friendly and helpful with recommendations for eating out and excursions.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have no real outlook but front of hotel is stunning
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Killie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thanks for your kind words about the hotel. I'm pleased we were able to make such an impression on your first visit to California. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back for your next visit to sunny California.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Wonderful history with classic craftsmanship. Smaller rooms for an older property, over 120 years old. Incredible views from the restaurant on top. Older Windows allow the sounds of the city to permeate your room. The ding, ding of the trolley, occasional fire truck, and car alarm at 530 in the morning.

Would stay there again and staff is very attentive.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank WCEverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. I'm very pleased you had such a nice time with us and enjoyed your stunning tower views. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The Fairmont is not a cheap hotel by any means but if you can afford it and if you like hotels with character it is the way to go in San Francisco. The building itself is stunning and the views are absolutely amazing, especially from the corner suites on higher floors. There is no better view in San Francisco! However, the decor is a little dated, and the decor in the rooms is uninspiring even though we were in a room that had been recently renovated. In all honesty, the service from housekeeping and in-room dining is spotty so be very clear with your request and follow-up to make sure it gets taken care of. However, the concierge desk is excellent and Charlotte was amazing with everything from the Opera, Giants games, fishing trips, restaurants, and even advice for Napa. For us the location was perfect as we had a car. You are at the top of Nob Hill which is just two blocks from Union Square but due to the hills the walk is almost impossible. However, you will pay 60$ per day for parking, plus tips to the valet. Supposedly they had a house car that could take you within a one-mile radius but I was there for two weeks and it was never once available so don't count on using that. Taxis are easily available at most times.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank A Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Found the Fairmont San Francisco to be a good hotel, seems to have an old school luxury feel. Found the tiki bar to be interesting as well as the bee apiary on the roof.

The room we had a great view of the city.

Location on top of a hill is also nice to work off the food fat you get from eating around the city.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank RichieBearington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for commenting on your stay with us. I'm pleased you enjoyed the hotel and were able to experience Tonga Room. It is definitely one of a kind! Thanks again and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I booked for one night..and apparently making any kind of noise results in them asking you to leave..yes we were a little loud and we would have kept it down if asked, a simple warning would have sufficed however no...they asked us to leave with no where else to go. I consider myself a reasonable person and have never been treated as badly as I have at this poor excuse for a hotel...
Aside from this the room was small not that clean and not what you'd expect from the lobby or exterior.
As a result I will set foot in this hotel again in my life.
Honestly the worst experience of my life...DO NOT STAY HERE....

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We booked this hotel expecting a five star hotel and what we got was hardly a four star. In fact, this would have been the worst four star hotel I have ever stayed in. We stayed there for four nights in August 2014. Paying almost $600 per night, we got a VERY small room that had a weird smell. Here are some of the major disappointments:
1. The ottoman in the room had several obvious stains
2. The bath tub was very old
3. There wasn't enough drawer for organizing our cloths. Almost all storage spaces were filled with snack and beverages that were for sale.
4. I couldn't find a trash can in the bedroom.
5. The concierge were not friendly at all.

Any pros? The neighborhood is very nice. You can't get eateries and cafes close by but if you walk for 5-10 minutes you get to areas with a lot of options.
Some people might find the decoration of the lobby interesting. The lobby felt like you are in castle, not necessarily my taste.

Overall, I couldn't have been more disappointed with Fairmont.

Room Tip: Our room was in the "tower" and we didn't have a good view. From my room I could see t...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Golbaghali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#22 of 230 in San Francisco
1,275 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,315 reviews
SoMa
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
1,610 reviews
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#5 of 230 in San Francisco
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont San Francisco

Address: Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108-6000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £214 - £559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-renowned, Fairmont San Francisco hotel presents an awe-inspiring picture of historic San Francisco. The grandeur of the hotel coupled with its reputation for impeccable service promises a truly memorable experience. Known for turning moments into memories for leisure and business travelers alike this luxury San Francisco hotel has been host to some of the most influential meetings and events, breathtaking weddings and personalized special occasions of the century. Fairmont San Francisco hotel provides accommodations that are a testament to luxury with 592 individually furnished and decorated guest rooms. The 62 elegant suites offer impressive views of the City and Bay. The hotel combines classic ambience with modern amenities. For business travelers, Fairmont San Francisco hotel accommodations features include a spacious work desk, multi-line telephone with voice-mail and High Speed Internet Access. Each of the hotel's spacious guest rooms and suites have been elegantly updated including flat screen TVs, luxury linen ensembles and pillow top beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Fairmont Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing