We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Old World Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont San Francisco
Ranked #30 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We enjoyed our 6 nights at the Fairmont Hotel. From the easy check in and out process to the daily breakfast in the Laurel Room we loved it. We were entitled to free WIFI and gym usage at Active One - within the hotel by joining the free President's Club. WIFI reception was poor and slow but over time we got used to having to log in frequently! We stayed in the Tower which has amazing views of Alcatraz and The Bay Bridge. Just be aware that it might be difficult for some people to walk up Nob Hill with your bags to the Fairmont on arrival / departure. We were able to organise a airport - hotel - airport shuttle for $15US each. Very cheap and a great idea than using the BART system. Would recommend this hotel over and over again.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the NT Tower Deluxe Room (worth the extra $50 US per night upgrade) due to the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JohnandAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I'm thrilled to hear you had such a nice stay and were able to join us for such a long time! It sounds like you were able to
experience much of what we have to offer. Thanks again for your kind words and for being such loyal Fairmont guests.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,953 - 2,959 of 3,575 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

The hotel is gorgeous, simply sublime! The staff go above and beyond with their services. The the food wa equisite and scrumptious! A fabulous and memorable stay! The hotel to stay in San Fransiaco a real diamond xxx

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Andi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for your very kind words about the hotel. We're thrilled to hear you had such a nice stay with us and that you received such great service. Thanks again and we look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This is a first class hotel that deserves me as a guest. I highly recommend it to anyone. The service staff is very professional and made me feel special. The rooms are modern and comfortable. I would return again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank KSmick2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. I look forward to sharing your kind words with the staff. I know they'll be thrilled to hear it. Thanks again and we look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Such a beautiful, friendly, service oriented hotel! The food and drinks were excellent, didn't feel like you ever have to leave here. Was amazed by the walk in closet! Can't say enough about this gorgeous place! Def going back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Melinda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. I'm thrilled to hear you had such a nice visit and received such great service. As you mentioned many of the closets are extremely large (big enough to be a room in San Francisco) and offer a glimpse into some of the historic luxury we are known for. Thanks again and we look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Stopped By The Fairmont Before Going To The Tonga Room For Lunch..(Still Wish They Would Open The Glass Elevator And Crown Room To Public Again..(We Used To Spend A Fortune Up There) But The Remodel Is OK...Not Spectacular...Miss The Old Lounge And The Coffee Shop. It's A Little Too Generic Now...But I Know Times Change (And It's Their Property) So? We'll Still Stop By, But Only 4 The Tonga Room (Still The Same!:)) Miss The View From The Crpwn Room:(

Room Tip: Get A Tower Room With A View....Newer, But Worth It
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lance R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us and for coming to visit again! I'm pleased to hear you appreciate the renovation and are such a fan of Tonga Room. It is certainly one of a kind! As you mentioned the Crown Room features some of the most stunning views in the City and we'd love to be able to return the glass elevator to service, alas it is not in the cards. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Exceptional location, property, and people. An experience not to be missed (although the Tonga Room was closed the 2 days I was there! Closed 2 days of the week - dang!) ..............................................

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Allen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The hotel was OK. The room was clean. The bed was comfortable. The TV worked. The bathroom was small. There was nothing special about the room or the hotel. Rooms at far less expensive chains are as nice or nicer. No free WIFI in the room. I hope my room was the least expensive one in the hotel because I feel sorry for anyone who spent more and got less. The food in the basement café was poor. The server dropped the top of my muffin on the floor when she was taking it out of the toaster. She replaced it with an unheated one from the refrigerator. I guess I should be happy she didn't pick up the one off the floor.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank IrishDigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank your for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that we were unable to meet your expectation and you felt the hotel was not a good value. We strive to provide excellent value to all our guests and clearly we fell short. Thanks again for your feedback and I will definitely share with the staff.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
1,420 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
552 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
1,295 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont San Francisco

Address: 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108-6000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £186 - £581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-renowned, Fairmont San Francisco hotel presents an awe-inspiring picture of historic San Francisco. The grandeur of the hotel coupled with its reputation for impeccable service promises a truly memorable experience. Known for turning moments into memories for leisure and business travelers alike this luxury San Francisco hotel has been host to some of the most influential meetings and events, breathtaking weddings and personalized special occasions of the century. Fairmont San Francisco hotel provides accommodations that are a testament to luxury with 592 individually furnished and decorated guest rooms. The 62 elegant suites offer impressive views of the City and Bay. The hotel combines classic ambience with modern amenities. For business travelers, Fairmont San Francisco hotel accommodations features include a spacious work desk, multi-line telephone with voice-mail and High Speed Internet Access. Each of the hotel's spacious guest rooms and suites have been elegantly updated including flat screen TVs, luxury linen ensembles and pillow top beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairmont San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Fairmont Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing