We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“California Anniversary Tour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square
Ranked #5 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rotherham UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“California Anniversary Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Great location. As per previous reviews this hotel is small, but a great location that enabled us to sample a small piece of San Fransico action durng the limited amount of time that we had.
Our room was quiet spaceous, clean and well maintained.
Breakfast and their evening wine&nibbles provision was good, enabliing us to mix with other residents.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abbijoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,101
    377
    66
    19
    8
See reviews for
168
968
86
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
118 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

This is our last day at the Inn... We are simply heart broken. Ahead of us many more hotels! When we decided to opt for "cosy" as opposed to large and impersonal, little did we expect how cosy and friendly this place really was! In our experience we have never encountered anything that goes even near. Our queen room was a treat, and as if all the smiles and help we received during our stay was not enough, they give everybody "free" wine and cheese every evening? Not to come back here would be a sin. A big thank you to all the staff for having made our stay in San Francisco a truly memorable experience.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ssulliman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa ynez ca
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

The lobby is smaller than most bathrooms, which makes checking in a nightmare when there are a group of folks trying to do the same. The rooms were clean but non-descript. Service was pleasant. Close to great restaurants and shopping. I would look to something more distinctive next time I am in the city.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oliveoil50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

I think my husband fell in love with Ann the moment she opened the door to welcome us, I didn't mind I did too. She is lovely and warm the perfect first impression for this wonderful tiny hotel. As others have said the lobby is small the hallways are narrow, which did concern us but with thoughts of Ann we continued on to find a well-appointed immaculate room. It’s not the largest we have been in but it was clearly well thought out. We found Aveda bath products, warm robes, our mattress comfortable and pillow topped, we were pleased and relieved. With Ann and Omar's help we used the 3 day Muni passes (good for Cable Car's too) and went from early morning back to the hotel for a recap with Omar or Ann and a rest then out again. We had 2 truly fabulous meals. Ann sent us to Bix an upscale speakeasy, which made us feel we were truly part of the City's nightlife. She also sent us to Quince where we had the best Italian meal of our lives (and we’ve been to Italy). We weren't around in the nighty wine and cheese but we did have a hardboiled egg and a strong Peet's coffee every morning before heading out (just two items from what I think was a very generous continental breakfast). We also were delighted to find cookies every night in the parlor on our floor and chocolates on our pillow at turndown, they of everything. This hotel is a hidden gem - where every staff member we encountered seemed to truly care about us and our well being. Thank you Ann, Omar, Josie, and all the staff members whose names I cannot recall but who made us feel so welcome, we will be back!

Room Tip: We were in a suite with a queen bed and sofa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, TX
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

The main reason I selected this hotel is the location. To get to Yosemite I rented a car at SFO and returned it 5 days later to the car rental location on O'Farrell St. which is a 4 minute walk from the inn. The rest of our stay we used public transportation including the cable cars which was only a block and a half walk. Looking out my hotel room window I could see one end of Union Square and I looked directly at the Westin St. Francis (which I couldn't afford). For us the location couldn't be beat.

The inn itself is a narrow, older, attached building typical for SF. But it was clean and well managed. The front desk people were always helpful and courteous. Our 2 room suite was on the third floor with the living room looking out on Post St. which is a busy noisy road. But the bedroom was in the back away from the street. With the bedroom door closed we couldn't hear a thing including other rooms or guests. My wife is a very light sleeper and enjoyed the quiet. We has the best of both. We could look out the window and watch people walking down the street but close the bedroom door and sleep well.

The breakfast was pretty good and included hard boiled eggs, pastries,muffins, bagels, toast, coffee, juice... you get the idea. There was also wine & cheese in the afternoons and cookies in the evenings.

Overall I would not hesitate to stay here again. It is an older place but certainly not dated, simply pleasant & small with helpful staff in a terrific location.

Room Tip: 2 room suites in the front are noisier but the bedrooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveFrisco_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights this month. Stayed here because all the hotels were sold out in the city due to the us open golf tournament. Got lucky when calling here as someone had just cancelled their reservation. Staff was very, very nice. Nice room, comfortable bed. Continental breakfast was good each morning. Small eating area, so you have to take food back to your room. Did not take advantage of wine hour each night. No air conditioning in my room (just a ceiling fan). They offered to bring up a portable air conditioner, but at night it was not that bad so I did not bother with asking. Great location right next to union square. Morton's steakhouse offers delivery to the room (right next door). This hotel is a part of an independent rewards group called stash hotels. Never heard of that group before, but looks like a nice group of independent hotels.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank swiper4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

My spouse and I stayed here the 2nd week of June 2012 for five days. Before booking the room, I read the reviews for the hotel. Based on those reviews, we upgraded the room to a suite because my husband was attending a conference and needed a place to work. That upgrade worked out just fine.

When we arrived at the room, my spouse noted that the room interior looked a bit worn-out. My biggest problem was with the bathroom. I don't think it was cleaned when we arrived b/c we found soap scum from previous occupants around the sink area and a used shower cap. The bathrooms could use an update. The floor tiles in ours were cracked. The groat work around the sink and tub area was black. Also, I soaked in the tub after a hard day of hill walking and there was lots of visible black on the underside of soap dish and around the grab handles. Only one of the electric outlets in the bathroom worked. And finally, I had hot water for only 2 days, the rest of the time it was tepid.

I talked to the hotel staff about the water and it might be an issue of their water system. The staff did come and look at the situation. Upon check-out I informed them of the electrical outlet situation in the bathroom.

I

Room Tip: I agree with the others do not select a room around the breakfast areas on the 3rd & 5th floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank delbertgrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent visit to the Inn at Union Square. We appreciate your comments and feedback on your experience. We are very sorry to hear you found some housekeeping discrepancies and some hot water issues. We strive to provide every guest with an exceptional experience and it looks like we fell a little short of that goal and for that, except our sincerest apologies. We have reviewed the information with our dedicated and proud staff who have remedied the issues. Thank you again for your feedback as this is vital to improve our facility and services. We look forward to your return to the Inn at Union Square during your next trip to San Francisco.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,910 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,700 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square

Property: The Inn at Union Square
Address: 440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is truly an urban retreat, in classic San Francisco style. The intimacy of our 30 elegant and restful rooms and suites provides the setting for our gracious staff to tend to your every need. From greeting you by name to making sure you have an umbrella when it rains- it is our pleasure to serve you. The Inn is located steps from Union Square- the city’s center for shopping, theatre and dining. If business is on the agenda, it is an easy stroll to the Financial District or the Moscone Convention Center. The Inn at Union Square is away from the crowd, in the center of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Inn at Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing