We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #5 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We were upgraded to a two room apartment which had a bedroom and a living area - . pullout sofa if needed. Rooms are not large but adequate for a pleasant stay. Our room was conveniently located near the kitchen where breakfast was served from 7am-10. It was a very good quality with a wide assortment of choices. In the evening from 5-7pm we were surprised and enjoyed free wine tasting with crackers and cheeses. Late in the evenings there was also fresh cookies served. Staff were pleasant and helpful and they made you feel at home.

Hotel is very conveniently located next to Union Square. I would not recommend a car - valet parking is $36.00/day and the hotel is in walking distance to most amenities. Cabs are not unreasonably priced either and there are plenty of them.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaileyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,017 - 1,023 of 1,689 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

With only 30 rooms, the Inn at Union Square is quiet and private even though it's just steps from Union Square. On several floors a small lobby exists where breakfast, afternoon tea, and cocktails are offered daily to guests free of charge. Personnel go out of their way to be helpful. I've stayed here twice and will definitely stay again on my next visit to San Francisco.

Room Tip: Ask to be ungraded to a suite for more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This place was great! Why stay across the street at the Westin when you can stay here! Great room, wonderful breakfast, great evening wine reception. I felt like I was staying at someone's home and not a stuffy hotel. Super location right in the heart of everything San Francisco. Wonderful Staff too!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabitha77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Some history. In July 2010, my early-20's daughter and I stayed in San Francisco for four nights as part of a two-week California trip. I selected the Inn at Union Square primarily for its location and the availability of complimentary breakfast. I was not disappointed! The clean, cozy room was quiet with a comfortable bed enhanced by incredibly soft sheets. Lighting in the bathroom area was excellent. Breakfast choices were sufficient for us. We also enjoyed the evening wine and snacks time, cookies and chocolates before bed, and friendliness and helpfulness of the front desk staff. Walking or accessing public transportation to reach our various city destinations was simple. For June 2012, I planned a three-night visit to San Francisco. No hesitation on my part where we would be staying. The Inn at Union Square was ideal again in every aspect.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Great location. As per previous reviews this hotel is small, but a great location that enabled us to sample a small piece of San Fransico action durng the limited amount of time that we had.
Our room was quiet spaceous, clean and well maintained.
Breakfast and their evening wine&nibbles provision was good, enabliing us to mix with other residents.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abbijoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

This is our last day at the Inn... We are simply heart broken. Ahead of us many more hotels! When we decided to opt for "cosy" as opposed to large and impersonal, little did we expect how cosy and friendly this place really was! In our experience we have never encountered anything that goes even near. Our queen room was a treat, and as if all the smiles and help we received during our stay was not enough, they give everybody "free" wine and cheese every evening? Not to come back here would be a sin. A big thank you to all the staff for having made our stay in San Francisco a truly memorable experience.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ssulliman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The lobby is smaller than most bathrooms, which makes checking in a nightmare when there are a group of folks trying to do the same. The rooms were clean but non-descript. Service was pleasant. Close to great restaurants and shopping. I would look to something more distinctive next time I am in the city.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oliveoil50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,474 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#18 of 230 in San Francisco
5,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,506 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,759 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#4 of 230 in San Francisco
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 440 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £174 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is a stylish San Francisco hotel retreat away from the crowds, but in the center of it all. Located in the heart of Union Square, guests of our boutique hotel can experience the exceptional variety of things to do in San Francisco. Enjoy pleasantly-appointed guest rooms, complimentary Continental breakfast, an evening cheese and wine reception, a business center and access to a fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing