We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off to a rough start”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square
Ranked #4 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Off to a rough start”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Upon our arrival Anne greeted us and let me say she was absolutely stellar throughout our stay, but when she told us our room 501 was ready for us the trap door beneath me literally dropped out. Omar who made our reservations by telephone was to reserve 601 and that room was already taken. My research and discussions with Omar told me I did not want room 501 or 301 as those rooms are literally next to the area where breakfast and Happy Hour are served. Privacy and quiet are compromised and despite the view of Union Square out your window, its not what I wanted and yet after what I thought was being thorough on this hotel I was given the one room I didn't want. Anne graciously allowed us to view others and guess what...we ended up staying in 501 and it wasn't so bad. The proximity to the serving area was not as bad as I thought, in fact it worked to our advantage in being first in line to get served. The noise from Post Street was more than I cared for and we did not like the layout of this junior suite. So after one night we switched rooms to 306 (406 was even better,but taken) and enjoyed our stay at The Inn on Union Square. Staff was excellent. Rooms always very clean. Great location--7-10 minute walk to my meeting at Moscone Center South. Bed was comfortable but not fantastic like some luxury hotels provide. We noticed our fellow guests were all very friendly and outgoing and provided a nice vibe to the place. Many foreign travelers which I like to meet and greet. Breakfast was not anything to write home about, but it will save you $20 each meal and a lot of time if you do have meetings to go to like I did. The Happy Hour was great as well. Good quality local wines served with fruit, cheese,crackers and nuts....also a good value. Again, Anne did a special job at the front desk and housekeeping was top notch. I would recommend this hotel. We received 25% off by pre-paying the bill which helped on the hotel tab. Best restaurant experience on this trip was the "The Slanted Door", Ferry Building, Vietnamese menu selections.

Room Tip: Pick a room to the back of the hotel where it is quieter. Our room 306 was at the back, had a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Studio69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay at the Inn at Union Square. We are glad to hear you enjoyed Ann's exceptional service and our clean rooms as well as our wine and cheese hour each day. I am sorry to hear about the mix up with your requested room however it sounds like you found a quiet, comfortable room in which to enjoy your visit. We hope to have the pleasure to serve you again when travels once again return you to San Francisco.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,135
    386
    67
    19
    8
See reviews for
170
995
89
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Everything at the Inn at Union Square is there to be the best - not the biggest. From the room, that is not big, but has everything beautifully working and comfortable to the breakfast that is not a huge continental buffet in a huge impersonal saloon, but has few, tasty, quality food in a cozy small area in the 5th and 2rd floors.

Location is the best. literally 2 steps from Union Square but conveniently far from the crowd of Powel and Market st.

Staff can't get any better. Friendly and efficient. There was one incident when the laundry lost one pair of socks (not a regular one, but a special one for pregnant women) and in next day, the hotel had already found a store and bought one brand new to replace it. Priceless!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriabreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Guest
We appreciate you comments regarding your stay at the Inn at Union Square and are glad to hear how much you enjoyed our friendly and efficient staff, complimentary breakfast and comfortable rooms. We hope to have the pleasure to serve you again and welcome you back with your new son or daughter.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My husband, four-year-old son and I really enjoyed our recent experience at The Inn at Union Square. Every single staff member we encountered was very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The room was clean, and the breakfast bar was wonderful. Though we didn't have a chance to enjoy the afternoon complimentary wine, we did enjoy the evening cookies. We had a car, so we had to use the parking service. Though a bit expensive ($36 plus tax/day), the car was brought to us promptly upon request and the drop off was simple. The location is ideal, right in the heart of Union Square. I highly recommend this hotel. I know we'll be back!!

Room Tip: Our room was great. It was a junior King suite. It had a sitting room with a separate television...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDW777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

There's no air con at this place and so with the necessary open windows, it can be clammy and noisy. If there are 2 in the room be prepared to play bumper cars....the rooms are s.m.a.l.l.! There lots going for it otherwise. Brilliant staff, lovely apps and wine daily, and a more than decent continental breakfast. No better location to everything necessary in San Fran.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room....with open windows a street room is loud.
See more room tips
Green Features: Kinda lacking in recycling bins in rooms. Had no idea what they do generally.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelguy002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Wow , what service from each and every staff member at the inn !!
You can't beat the location , and the homely atmosphere , especially wine and cheese hour !!
Breakfast a huge bonus to get your day started !!
Great advice and help from all staff ....
There's no view from rooms but everything else makes up for it 100 times over !!!
Thank you for making our San Francisco trip even better

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmegsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your patronage and your wonderful comments regarding your most recent stay with us. It was our pleasure to have you as our guests and we are happy to see you enjoyed our helpful staff, complimentary wine and cheese hour and breakfast to start your day off right. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Sqaure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Inn at Union Square, it is in a very handy position for sight seeing and we found this hotel to be a gem, from the moment we arrived, we were greeted by very friendly staff and met with the Inn keeper Wayne who invited us to their regular evening wine and cheese get together which is a lovely idea as you can have a chat Wayne and other guests, breakfast was supplied in a small sitting room and more than adequate, our room was comfortable, we loved it and will be back !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayNewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your recent visit to the Inn at Union Square. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our convenient location, superb staff, comfortable rooms and complimentary breakfast. A repeat guest is the ultimate compliment for us and we look forward to your return.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAHAMAS
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We chose this hotel entirely on the reviews on Trip Advisor all of which seem to be spot on. I won't repeat other comments on location etc rather say that we are a family of 4 so took a which was surprisingly big including a bedroom with a door. There was quite a bit of noise from other guests especially in the mornings but no particular problem. Staff were great. Breakfast is simple but fine for us although there are not too many chairs of you want to eat out of your room. During our stay most local restaurants seemed to have long lines for breakfast so we really appreciated the option to eat in the hotel. Internet worked very well.

Would definately stay again.

Room Tip: The breakfast (and evening wine) is served on floors 3 and 5. It can get a bit noisy. We stayed on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidBahamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,176 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,763 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
443 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#6 of 229 in San Francisco
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square

Property: The Inn at Union Square
Address: 440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square, a Greystone Hotel, is truly an urban retreat, in classic San Francisco style. The intimacy of our 30 elegant and restful rooms and suites provides the setting for our gracious staff to tend to your every need. From greeting you by name to making sure you have an umbrella when it rains- it is our pleasure to serve you. The Inn is located steps from Union Square- the city’s center for shopping, theatre and dining. If business is on the agenda, it is an easy stroll to the Financial District or the Moscone Convention Center. The Inn at Union Square is away from the crowd, in the center of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing