We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great , location,friendliness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square
Ranked #4 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alvie
1 review
“Great , location,friendliness”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Loved the inn, quaintest creaky elevator we have ever been in,
Close to union square is a big plus, used the great gym and pool around the corner.
Ann at reception is the sweetest most helpful lady.
Would have liked a bar fridge in our room but kept some beers in the fridge in our floors lobby fridge , so not a big hassle,
Good value friendly place to stay, would definitely recommend

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cowma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our great location near Union Square, our helpful and friendly service and even our creaky elevator. Ann is quite a treasure and enjoys welcoming all our guests. We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to your next visit.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,134
    385
    67
    19
    8
See reviews for
170
994
89
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This was our 4th or 5th stay at The Inn. We enjoy the location, but more importantly enjoy the hospitality of the staff. They are always willing to to the extra to help make our stay relaxing.

The evening wine gatherings allows us to meet other travelers and we learn new activities to investigate in the area. We look forward to our next visit to San Francisco and we will plan again to stay at The Inn!!


Jan2014

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Guest L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your continued patronage of the Inn at Union Square. It is always a pleasure to welcome you back to your "home away from home" in San Francisco. Our staff takes great pride in providing whatever is needed to ensure a pleasant, relaxing and productive stay and we thank you for your acknowledgement. We look forward to your next visit

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I just booked my room. Wayne (the owner) was so great over the phone and recommended several wineries as well as give me a nice room. I can't wait to go. I will post another review after my trip is over.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DellT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The Inn at Union Square provided three nights of comfort, and it validated the brilliance of trip advisor. It had been 24 years since my last visit to SF, so I relied on this web site for help. I was not disappointed.
Room 505 was like a cocoon — well appointed and comfortable, but with a "view" of air vents. The staff was helpful, and for my needs (running around town for work to multiple addresses) the location was ideal. The breakfast area is tiny, but trays are provided, so you can take food back to the room. And one night, I was kept up by a coughing neighbor. But other that those teeny nitpicks, this was a stellar choice. Book it.

Room Tip: The hotel has only 30 rooms, and I would always prefer a room that does not face Post St. My room wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Dan B,
We are so pleased to hear how your stay at the Inn at Union Square enhanced your recent business trip to San Francisco. We are glad you enjoyed our ideal location and well appointed rooms as well as the friendly and helpful service you received from our staff. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again before another 24 years goes by!

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Everyone is right. Great location, half block off Union Square. I called and asked some questions which led me to pick a queen suite. The sitting room is at front street with window, which we liked. Windows open! Also a plus. Bedroom toward back. Very quiet. Very clean, bright and elegantly cheery rooms. Plenty of good lighting incl bright bathroom. Chocolates and flyer with weather and other info left in room at night. Paper outside door in a.m. Friendly upbeat staff who truly wanted to help, incl tips on public transit, etc. Our suite was top floor, rm 601. Large bathroom with enough room around sink plus other wall shelf and drawers under sink to put stuff. Good built-in dresser and recessed counter in bedroom. Also, nice triple sheeting!! A must for me. Breakfasts were good, hard boiled eggs, bagels, yogurt, pastries, fruit, etc. and Peets coffee and teas!! It was the most charming little place. Oh, also nice tall ceilings which gave room a great feel. I was with my honey, but it's the kind of room that would have felt bright and comfy alone if traveling on business. They even called the night before we were checking out to see if we needed any help getting to airport. We took Bart both ways. About 3-4 block walk but easy, before the hill starts going up! Tip on Bart back to airport, listen for announcements. You might have to switch to another train, they don't all go to airport.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Kelly W,
Thank you for your complementary and detailed review of the Inn at Union Square. We strive to provide every guest with an exceptional experience from our great location, complimentary breakfast and clean, comfortable rooms to our personalized service. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again when travels return you to San Francisco and to your new "Home away from Home."

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This was our first visit to San Francisco and this hotel was very centrally located just off union square. The staff were very helpful. The hotel is a small boutique hotel and was nice and clean. It does need a bit of refreshing - eg some of the carpet looked a bit worn and some paint was chipped in places in our room. The room was a lovely size though with two extra armchairs to sit in as well as a desk. There were little lobby areas with tea and coffee facilities on each floor which was a nice touch. The breakfast was nice too and they provided trays so you could take it back to your room. Also the drinks and nibbles in the evening was very appreciated after a long day of walking and sight seeing!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarzi42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polson, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This trip we opted for a boutique style hotel and settled on the Inn at Union Square due to the comments by others. Add ours to those who brag about the hotel. By it's location you will not have a room overlooking the bay but the quality and interior decorations of the home and hotel itself more than make up for it, and no fog issues. The staff, all of them, were so very helpful when we had a question as to finding a food source or how to get from here to there. We were greeted with the utmost cordial and friendly greeting as we came and go they were generally interested in how our day went. The ever present coffee pot was always fresh and delicious. Cookies in the evening were great as was the wine and cheese offerings. We opted for public transportation and walking and this hotel is central to everything one needs. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We selected a jr suite and had plenty of room. At the back of the hotel we did have some separation...
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel has the environment in mind and encourages you to be aware, but never preaches.
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Under72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,
We sincerely appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Inn at Union Square. We are pleased you enjoyed the service you received from our friendly staff as well as the extra touches such as the 24 hour coffee service, evening fresh baked cookies, wine and cheese hour as well as our central location. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,179 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,763 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
443 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#6 of 229 in San Francisco
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square

Property: The Inn at Union Square
Address: 440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square, a Greystone Hotel, is truly an urban retreat, in classic San Francisco style. The intimacy of our 30 elegant and restful rooms and suites provides the setting for our gracious staff to tend to your every need. From greeting you by name to making sure you have an umbrella when it rains- it is our pleasure to serve you. The Inn is located steps from Union Square- the city’s center for shopping, theatre and dining. If business is on the agenda, it is an easy stroll to the Financial District or the Moscone Convention Center. The Inn at Union Square is away from the crowd, in the center of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing