We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Count me a very happy client of the Inn!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square
Ranked #5 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Count me a very happy client of the Inn!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I found this hotel on TripAdvisor--thanks to all the great reviews, and I'd like to add mine to the SATISFIED CUSTOMER list. Top in every way: clean, helpful staff, good location,nice Aveda products, tasty and healthy continental breakfast with good hours, and hey, who doesn't like some complimentary wine in the afternoon! Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnnC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,121
    383
    67
    19
    8
See reviews for
168
984
89
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here while I was in town for the RSA Conference. The staff was professional and super polite. They accommodated an early check in and even upgraded my room to the 6th floor before I got there.

The continental breakfast was good and the cookies in the evening were fresh made and delicious.

The hotel is small and on the older side, but was very clean and well maintained. Despite being just outside Union Square and only having single pane windows, the noise wasn't all that bad. Just be prepared for the trumpeter that plays until around 11 PM every night in US.

I highly recommend this little gem if you are in town for some sightseeing as the location is ideal. It was a short walk to the cable car and the shopping on Post St is high end.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Heath H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Heath H,
We appreciate you taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor and for sharing how you enjoyed your stay during your recent business trip to San Francisco. From our clean and well-maintained rooms to our complimentary breakfast and fresh baked cookies each evening, we strive to provide everything our guests need to have an exceptional stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Arrived at hotel after a really bad day- and first thing I heard was that they were serving complimentary wine at hotel! It turned out to be a great experience with hotel owner personally pouring the wine and great variety of people all over the world! Hotel is really comfy, clean and super helpful staff! Good location. I will definitely stay there during my next visit and highly recommend for perfect stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merit906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are so happy to hear how your experience at our Inn turned your bad day into a good one. From our comfy rooms and Evening Wine Receptions to our helpful and attentive staff, the Inn at Union Square is here to serve your needs. We look forward to your next visit.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is definitely worth a look.  The staff was very courteous and helpful. Rooms are nicely kept and well furnished. Included breakfast consisted of muffins, pecan rolls, cereal choices, coffee, a number of teas, bagels and bread for toast. Complementary wine and cheese in the evening was a nice surprise. The location is close to all attractions in San Francisco.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank almar5156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Exceptional service - each and every staff member is welcoming, friendly and helpful. You're really well taken care of: daily newspapers, breakfasts, coffee/tea/bottled water, freshly-baked cookies, fruit, cheese & wine. I had a queen bedroom with separate sitting room, but there are also cosy parlours to relax in. From a seasoned traveller who's stayed at many hotels - I definitely recommend The Inn at Union Square. Would love to return.

Room Tip: Get the one with a sitting room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine_TC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Janine_TC,
It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are grateful for the kind comments. We truly set out to create a home away from home for all our visitors. We are pleased to hear how you enjoyed the little extras we provide from complimentary newspapers and fresh baked cookies to our complimentary breakfast and evening wine hour. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again when travels return you to San Francisco

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We were recently staying at the Inn at Union Square and had a great stay and would strongly recommend. Its a wonderful small Hotel right near Union Square in a great location. The staff was wonderful and friendly. The breakfest in the morning and wine tasting in the evening was fantastic. Our room was clean quiet and comfortable. My wife and I would stay here again and the resturant next door had a great happy hour and wonderful oysters! Salute'

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle Wa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

If you want a great option to the Westin, Hilton, etc. you will love the location, character, space and personal attention to customer service at the Inn.
Ask for room 6007 for a great quiet spacious room.
Give this great hotel a try on your next visit to S.F.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirkland67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent visit to the Inn at Union Square. We appreciate that you took the time to post a review and we particularly appreciate your comments regarding how our personalized service is a welcome difference from the branded hotels in our neighborhood. We believe an exceptional guest experience at our hotel can only be accomplished by the intimate service provided by our attentive staff. We look forward to serving you upon your return visit to San Francisco

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,074 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
5,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 228 in San Francisco
2,746 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 228 in San Francisco
1,143 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square

Property: The Inn at Union Square
Address: 440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is truly an urban retreat, in classic San Francisco style. The intimacy of our 30 elegant and restful rooms and suites provides the setting for our gracious staff to tend to your every need. From greeting you by name to making sure you have an umbrella when it rains- it is our pleasure to serve you. The Inn is located steps from Union Square- the city’s center for shopping, theatre and dining. If business is on the agenda, it is an easy stroll to the Financial District or the Moscone Convention Center. The Inn at Union Square is away from the crowd, in the center of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing