We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #4 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 March 2014

What a great little hotel - absolutely everyone was kind and helpful and professional. Room was clean and wonderful. Bed was comfy. Location perfect …..breakfast was great - eggs, granola, yogurt, coffee, etc.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Robin T,
We appreciate your kind comments and your patronage. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit, especially our kind staff, clean rooms, comfortable beds and our complimentary breakfast. We look forward to your return.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

629 - 635 of 1,653 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

We spent three nights here and had the most wonderful time, from our unexpected upgrade at check-in to the attentiveness of the staff. The room was clean and cozy, and the bed was super comfortable. The breakfast buffet was delicious, as was the wine and cheese in the afternoon and late night cookies. The location couldn't be any better for exploring San Francisco by foot or public transportation (cable car was at the end of the street, and the F-line, metro, and BART were about a five minute walk down the block). This hotel definitely exceeded our expectations, and we would happily return if we're back in the SF area.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Michele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at the Inn at Union Square and how our attentive service, great location, little extras such as breakfast and our evening wine hour and, of course, our fresh baked cookies, exceeded your expectations. We cannot wait to welcome you back when travels return you to San Francisco.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

As the final stop on our honeymoon after visiting Hawaii, this boutique style hotel was great. From the moment we stepped through the door and were warmly welcomed by Ken on the front desk, to the quaint parlour type breakfast area, which also accomodates complementary wine tasting in the early evening this is a great hotel. As others have described before the rooms are quite small, but it's decorated very nicely and is very clean and less than a minutes walk off Union Square - a hidden gem. I would most definitely stay here again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BridgetEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for including the Inn at Union Square as part of your honeymoon and congratulations! We are so pleased to hear that our location, complimentary breakfast and evening wine hour enhanced your visit. On behalf of Ken and the rest of our attentive staff, we hope to welcome you back soon; perhaps a one year anniversary trip?

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I found this hotel on TripAdvisor--thanks to all the great reviews, and I'd like to add mine to the SATISFIED CUSTOMER list. Top in every way: clean, helpful staff, good location,nice Aveda products, tasty and healthy continental breakfast with good hours, and hey, who doesn't like some complimentary wine in the afternoon! Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AnnC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here while I was in town for the RSA Conference. The staff was professional and super polite. They accommodated an early check in and even upgraded my room to the 6th floor before I got there.

The continental breakfast was good and the cookies in the evening were fresh made and delicious.

The hotel is small and on the older side, but was very clean and well maintained. Despite being just outside Union Square and only having single pane windows, the noise wasn't all that bad. Just be prepared for the trumpeter that plays until around 11 PM every night in US.

I highly recommend this little gem if you are in town for some sightseeing as the location is ideal. It was a short walk to the cable car and the shopping on Post St is high end.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Heath H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Heath H,
We appreciate you taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor and for sharing how you enjoyed your stay during your recent business trip to San Francisco. From our clean and well-maintained rooms to our complimentary breakfast and fresh baked cookies each evening, we strive to provide everything our guests need to have an exceptional stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Arrived at hotel after a really bad day- and first thing I heard was that they were serving complimentary wine at hotel! It turned out to be a great experience with hotel owner personally pouring the wine and great variety of people all over the world! Hotel is really comfy, clean and super helpful staff! Good location. I will definitely stay there during my next visit and highly recommend for perfect stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merit906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are so happy to hear how your experience at our Inn turned your bad day into a good one. From our comfy rooms and Evening Wine Receptions to our helpful and attentive staff, the Inn at Union Square is here to serve your needs. We look forward to your next visit.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This hotel is definitely worth a look.  The staff was very courteous and helpful. Rooms are nicely kept and well furnished. Included breakfast consisted of muffins, pecan rolls, cereal choices, coffee, a number of teas, bagels and bread for toast. Complementary wine and cheese in the evening was a nice surprise. The location is close to all attractions in San Francisco.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank almar5156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,366 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
5,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#5 of 230 in San Francisco
1,249 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
510 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 440 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £168 - £1,128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is a stylish San Francisco hotel retreat away from the crowds, but in the center of it all. Located in the heart of Union Square, guests of our boutique hotel can experience the exceptional variety of things to do in San Francisco. Enjoy pleasantly-appointed guest rooms, complimentary Continental breakfast, an evening cheese and wine reception, a business center and access to a fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing