We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Four Days - A Great Choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square
Ranked #4 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Billings, Montana
1 review
“Fabulous Four Days - A Great Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I leisure travel a fair amount. I'm also compulsively researching to assure I get the best deal at the best price - but not at the expense of a comfortable and positive lodging experience. My decision to stay at The Inn at Union Square for a four day trip with my sister was spot on! From Wayne the Inn Keeper who made sure everything was perfect, to the front desk assistance, the wine and cheese daily receptions and the fresh and delicious Continental breakfast. The rooms roomy and meticulously clean - particularly the bathroom which is a must for me. Very quiet but just steps from the exciting movement of SF and shopping. Public transit 100 meters from the front door and easy walking distance to many sights and amenities. A 5 minute walk from the Bart at Powell Station. From the minute we walked in the door, we felt not only welcome, but invited. You will not be disappointed in this choice. Thank you Wayne - you are a gem and so is your staff.

Room Tip: Our room didn't have a view, but who needs a view when you can walk a block or two and see all o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaBillings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear atriciaBillings,
We appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent four-day stay at the Inn at Union Square. We are happy to hear how our clean rooms, great location just off Union Square and the exciting movement of the city, as well as our complimentary breakfast and evening wine hour enhanced your experience. It's our goal to provide every guest with a personalized and exceptional stay and we thank you for your mention of our welcoming staff, especially Wayne. On behalf of Wayne and the rest of the staff, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Sqyare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,095
    372
    65
    18
    8
See reviews for
165
961
85
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We had a great stay here. Every staff member we encountered (from front desk to cleaning) was friendly from the moment we first walked inside. I tend to be a light sleeper but I slept well at this hotel. The room was clean with plenty of room for us both. My only complaint might be the breakfast needed to have better quality pastries. I bit into a stale one a couple of times. But this is a minor complaint. I would stay at this hotel again with absolutely no hesitation. The afternoon wine/cheese spread is also a nice touch.

Additionally, the location was great. We were able to walk to great restaurants as well as shops. The hotel is also very close to Muni and the cable car. Despite being at the center of things, it is very quiet the minute you turn the corner of the street where the hotel is located. I would say this is a good hotel for those wanting a nice quiet place to rest after a day of sightseeing.

Speaking of great staff, my husband realized he left the charger for his ipod in the room after we checked out. Not really expecting a positive response (it was after all only a charger), he called the hotel a week after our return to see if housekeepiing had turned it in. Housekeeping did indeed and the hotel mailed it back to him promptly at no charge. I was ready to give a positive review before, but that small kindness truly sealed the deal. Thank you from Room #402!

Room Tip: The fourth floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gdadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Gdadog,
Thank you for your 5-star review of our hotel! We appreciate both your recent visit to the Inn at Union Square and your kind comments regarding your experience with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our central location near the Cable Car line as well as our friendly staff. We apologize for the pastries at breakfast and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Happy to hear we were able to get your charger back to you promptly. We look forward to the opportunity to provide exceptional service to you in the near future.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Forget about a spacious lobby or a doorman or a bellhop. Marble bathrooms. Nope. A restaurant or bar. Not here. Great views? No chance. What you will find is a friendly and professional staff dedicated to their guests.

The location is outstanding. Union Square is a vibrant shopping are with something for everyone, from Hermes to Nike and everything in between. The hotel is within a stones throw of several decent places to have breakfast. A continental breakfast is served daily and consists of pastries and cereal along with bananas and hard boiled eggs. Skip it and head out. Many reviewers have also commented on the complimentary wine and cheese every evening beginning at five thirty. This patron was underwhelmed. Apples and pears are always available. A very nice touch.

Our suite was described as a penthouse, which puts a smile on my face as I write this review. The penthouse actually consists of rooms on the sixth floor. Ours was quite spacious. The sitting area had a wood burning fireplace and a half bath. The bedroom was likewise very inviting with a very comfortable bed and nice linens. The bathroom was oddly designed but adequate. One room housed a large and deep whirlpool tub along with a toilet, sink, and shower. Cramped yet somehow comfortable. The shower was fiberglass with outstanding water pressure and toiletries from Aveda. The other portion of the bath housed a second sink.

The property is spotless even as it undergoes what seemed to be an ongoing paint project. Spackle is drying on the woodwork and the carpets are lined with painter's tape but nobody seems to mind. It feels as if you are staying at your best friend's house who is in the middle of a remodeling project.

If you want to exercise the hotel sells passes to a nearby gym for fifteen dollars. The gym is nicely equipped and even has a four lap pool for swimmers. The admission price is high if you only want to hit the treadmill, but a relative value for those who seek a full workout.

Speaking of value, this spot has to be the deal of the century. Great location and loads of charm along with an incredible staff make The Inn a must stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioMaranello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your detailed and informative 5-star review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your spacious room, our great central location and of course, our friendly and welcoming staff. We believe it is the people that make the difference, as hospitality is all about a personal connection with our guests. Thank you again for a wonderful review and we look forward to your return.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is nice, practicle and clean. We really had a great time and recomand this hotel. The location is very good for activities and bus tours! The reception has been quick and profesional. They also helped us to book good restaurant, i really had a Good experience

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ana p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turlock, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

#1 on my musts for a hotel is cleanliness. So, VERY CLEAN here. No complaints with that ..nice white tile in the bathroom .. nothing smelly etc. Great happy helpful friendly staff. Omar, Ken and everyone was great. Our room was upgraded to a suite which is nice if you want an extra room but we wanted a King bed so we stayed where we were ... still a nice spacious room. Valet service was good. Always expensive to park in San Francisco, can't get around that but our car was well taken care of. Oh ... I can't forget the complementary breakfast ... the best we've had anywhere! Blueberry scones, amazing granola, hard boiled eggs, juices etc .... Fresh cookies later in the day in a big jar on each floor ... We don't drink but they have a wine and appetizer time in the early evening too! Just great touches here. And Aveda bath products .. great. We will be back and hopefully more often because San Francisco is so fun!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Debbie D.,
Thank you for your wonderful 5-star review. You really touched on everything we feel makes the Inn at Union Square a special place for our visitors. From our clean, spacious rooms and our friendly, helpful staff to our complimentary breakfast and fresh baked cookies each evening, we aim to provide each guest with the best experience possible. We hope to welcome you back soon for more fun in the city.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

From the time we received the email a few days before arrival giving us driving instructions to the time we left, the hotel staff couldn't do enough for us.
Of course Wayne was the star, but meeting so many other guests who had stayed previously gave us confidence that our stay wasn't a one off experience but the norm for this brilliantly situated gem.
Coming from Australia, it might be a while, but WHEN we come back, this is where we'll be staying.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Loved this hotel. The location was right in the middle of everything. Union square is where I would reccomend to book a hotel. The service was amazing, the staff was super friendly and nice. We got all questions answered with so much of attention. I would definetly stay there again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryzhik965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your kind comments regarding your stay at the Inn at Union Square. As you noted, our location is quite central and convenient. Our staff takes great pride in the service they provide every guest to ensure their stay is the most pleasant and productive it can be. Looking forward to the chance to serve you again. A recommendation and repeat visit are the highest praise you can bestow us and we thank you.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,825 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,678 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#7 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#8 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square

Property: The Inn at Union Square
Address: 440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is truly an urban retreat, in classic San Francisco style. The intimacy of our 30 elegant and restful rooms and suites provides the setting for our gracious staff to tend to your every need. From greeting you by name to making sure you have an umbrella when it rains- it is our pleasure to serve you. The Inn is located steps from Union Square- the city’s center for shopping, theatre and dining. If business is on the agenda, it is an easy stroll to the Financial District or the Moscone Convention Center. The Inn at Union Square is away from the crowd, in the center of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Inn at Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing