We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find Your Heart Here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #5 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 15 April 2014

All Tony B. needs to do is look here at The Inn at Union Square to find his heart. This lovely facility and the wonderful staff will make you fall in love even more with this wonderful city. The rooms were tastefully appointed and clean and the staff was incredibly friendly and attentive. They offered countless wonderful suggestions on things to do and places to eat during our week-long stay. During the evening, the hotel felt like home as we had the opportunity to meet others residing there over wine and cheese. This hotel is located in a great spot as well and serves as a great jumping off point for anything you want to do. The Innkeeper, Wayne Olson and his wonderful wife, are the perfect hosts and will make you feel like family. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSFarquahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear GPSFarquahr,
Thank you, thank you, thank you for proving such positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Inn at Union Square. From our tastefully appointed rooms and friendly and attentive staff to our evening wine and cheese reception, we strive to provide the feeling of "home" to all our guests. I'm happy to hear our staff was able to provide you with excellent recommendations for things to do and places to eat and that you found our Union Square location to be ideal for your week-long stay. On behalf of Wayne and the rest of the staff, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

640 - 646 of 1,689 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Inn at union Square. The inn is centrally located with access to the Powell/Market street car. The F antique car was minutes away on Zmarket street accessing all of Fisherman's Warf. Although no view outside of our window, in interior is thoroughly clean and impressive. Free wireless internet is provided. A nice continental breakfast is provided free each morning. There is also a free wine and cheese reception each evening. Turn down bed service is provided each night along with chocolates at bedside. Two bottles of water are left each night for your next days adventures. If you are looking for a massive hotel lobby, then this inn is not for you. If you appreciate all of the above plus a friendly and helpful staff, stay here, you won"t regret it.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Dean J.,
We appreciate your business and your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Inn at Union Square. We are glad to hear how our friendly and helpful service, central location and added amenities such as evening wine hour and complimentary breakfast enhanced your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, and often.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Firstly, the staff were all very friendly and accommodating. This was our first night in the states and the City and they were helpful with directions and advice.

Hotel rooms were very pretty, and our fears of the room being small due to the "boutique" status were unfounded, as there was plenty of room for a couple on a 3 night stay.
While the hotel is older- original San Francisco design (but that is part of its appeal) it was currently being freshened up with new paint. Our room itself was in excellent condition. The bed and mountain of pillows felt like heaven after a 14 hour flight!
The hotel also has complimentary wifi and the daily newspaper at your door.

The location was convenient as close to Union square and the travel options near by. A taxi cost around $50 from the airport.

Every morning there was a complimentary breakfast spread on the 3rd and 5th floors. This included pastries, cereal, eggs, yogurt, muffins, fruit and drinks. You could also make your own takeaway coffee to start your day.

All the tours we took, picked us up straight in front of the hotel and the staff were able to call and confirm all our bookings to reassure my panicking husband!

We would definitely recommend this Hotel to anyone visiting San Francisco on vacation and thank the attentive staff at The Inn for making our first nights in the USA so enjoyable.

Room Tip: For reference, we had room 405. Not much of a view, but that's not why your'e here, is it?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UpperMiddleBogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear UpperMiddleBogan,
Thank you for such a wonderful 5-star review of our hotel! We are so pleased to hear how your experience at the Inn at Union Square started your holiday off on such a positive note. We strive to provide each guest with a personalized, exceptional experience delivered by friendly and accommodating staff. As you mentioned, our hotel is conveniently situated near Union Square and public transportation, making it the perfect option for exploring the city. We hope the rest of your travels went well and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I have stayed in many hotels throughout United States and the Inn at Union Square has to be one of the best. What draws me to the hotel are the staff and the amenities. The staff are never cranky and always willing to go that extra step to help. They also follow-up to get your opinion. I am a person who likes a morning paper, a fresh cup of coffee and not having to leave the hotel to find a place for breakfast. The expanded breakfast at the Inn meets easily all these requirements from juices, baked goods, cold cereals, yogurt and hard-boiled eggs. During the rest of the day you can have coffee/tea and in the early evening wine, sodas and a cheese tray are served. All gratis. Given its location in the heart of San Francisco I could not ask for more.

Room Tip: Each room seems to be unique so ask to see a few - if some are available when you arrive.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

very nice stay right off union square in downtown san francisco. am breakfast and pm wine tasting a nice touch. close to excellent fine dining establishments and shopping. would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomandpeggyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear tomandpeggyl,
We sincerely thank you for your recent stay and kind review. We appreciate your comments regarding our central location near Union Square, our complimentary breakfast and our evening wine hour. Thank you for your recommendation of our hotel and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in hotels all over the world from 5 star to budget and this is one of the best places I've ever been. The reason for that is the hospitality.

All of the staff at this hotel could not have been more friendly or helpful - from the cleaners to the Innkeeper.

Every evening you can help yourself to wine and snacks which is a great opportunity to chat to other guests.

Wayne, the Innkeeper, made loads of recommendations for the rest of our trip which are proving to be really helpful. I felt he really cared about making sure our California holiday was a success - talk about going the extra mile for guests!

Our room was a really good size and extremely well appointed with lovely decor. Aveda toiletries were great!

If the want a big corporate hotel that looks and feels like every other big corporate hotel then this probably isn't for you. If you want a boutique hotel with charm and character, wonderful hospitality and great location then don't hesitate to book this place!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ellie_CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I leisure travel a fair amount. I'm also compulsively researching to assure I get the best deal at the best price - but not at the expense of a comfortable and positive lodging experience. My decision to stay at The Inn at Union Square for a four day trip with my sister was spot on! From Wayne the Inn Keeper who made sure everything was perfect, to the front desk assistance, the wine and cheese daily receptions and the fresh and delicious Continental breakfast. The rooms roomy and meticulously clean - particularly the bathroom which is a must for me. Very quiet but just steps from the exciting movement of SF and shopping. Public transit 100 meters from the front door and easy walking distance to many sights and amenities. A 5 minute walk from the Bart at Powell Station. From the minute we walked in the door, we felt not only welcome, but invited. You will not be disappointed in this choice. Thank you Wayne - you are a gem and so is your staff.

Room Tip: Our room didn't have a view, but who needs a view when you can walk a block or two and see all o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatriciaBillings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear atriciaBillings,
We appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent four-day stay at the Inn at Union Square. We are happy to hear how our clean rooms, great location just off Union Square and the exciting movement of the city, as well as our complimentary breakfast and evening wine hour enhanced your experience. It's our goal to provide every guest with a personalized and exceptional stay and we thank you for your mention of our welcoming staff, especially Wayne. On behalf of Wayne and the rest of the staff, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Sqyare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,474 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#18 of 230 in San Francisco
5,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,506 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,759 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#4 of 230 in San Francisco
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 440 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £174 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is a stylish San Francisco hotel retreat away from the crowds, but in the center of it all. Located in the heart of Union Square, guests of our boutique hotel can experience the exceptional variety of things to do in San Francisco. Enjoy pleasantly-appointed guest rooms, complimentary Continental breakfast, an evening cheese and wine reception, a business center and access to a fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing