We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay for a night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #4 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The location cannot be any better. All major shops are within walking distance. The room is a bit small with no view but we hardly spent any time in the room. The breakfast is a nice touch to start the morning. Ann at the front desk is the best. She is very friendly and even ran out just to say good bye when I was getting into the cab. She is a great asset to the Inn that is for sure. I would stay there again without any hestiation and would recommend to anyone visiting this great city.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YYZTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,636)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

582 - 588 of 1,636 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

I never write reviews on here but I just had to this time to let people know what a wonderful delight this place is!

My sister and I have just left today after having spent a few nights at this place, to now head on to a friends wedding, and we both really wish that we could have stayed longer. I did extensive research on where I wanted to stay whilst in San Francisco and I saw all the previous reviews on here for The Inn at Union Square and from all the wonderful comments I had a feeling that this place would not disappoint and I was right!

From the lovely emails that I received prior to arrival and upon arriving after nearly a 21 hour long flight from Dublin to London to San Francisco and then a short walk from the BART, check-in was quick and easy (we didn't have to wait long - about 5/10 mins - which wasnt a long wait at all but nonetheless they apologised about us waiting - which was so lovely of them and completely okay) I knew the minute we arrived we were on to a winner in selecting this place.

The room we had on the third floor was a very good size (we had the Queen size standard room - and was perfect for 2 people sharing) and it was very clean (which was excellent as I am particular about cleanliness).

But bear in mind there is no A/C (didnt bother us as it wasnt too hot or cold) and this is definitely a boutique hotel (don't be expecting massive lobbies like the big hotel chains - it didn't bother us as we were looking for somewhere that focuses on their customers and this place is all about customer service!).

The Inn is located in a perfectly safe area of San Francisco - Union Square is literally a few seconds outside the front door to the left where you will find everything you need - lots of places to shop and also 5 min walk away there is a massive Macy's which has the wonderful Cheesecake Factory (which you must do a visit to at night - expect a 30/35 min wait at peak times early on in the week - but totally worth it at night for the glorious views - ensure to get a table outside if the weather is good!). All the major bus tours go constantly from Union Square during the day so it is ideal to be situated near there for this too. And you must at least once take a ride on one of the Trams which go up and down Powell and Hyde.

As previous reviews have stated the staff definitely are truly lovely and helpful and make this place so special - they truly are a massive credit to the hotel - all the hotel staff that we came into contact with where all helpful, polite and just lovely - a special shout out in particular must go to Omar though who on our first morning helped us hail a taxi when I asked how long it may take to get to the ticket offices to pick up our tickets for the Alcatraz tour at Fishermans Wharf (we had 20/25 mins to collect them) and within seconds he was out on the street hailing a taxi for us! We made it on time so a massive Thank you!

We did also indulge in the breakfast (excellent selection and plenty to choose from), the wine and cheese in the early evening was a delight too and we had a lovely evening chatting to fellow guests. And if you get the chance definitely try the wine and cheese - absolute perfection - and the cookies at 8pm were also a lovely touch. We lucked out as we were on the floor where all of this was on offer (the breakfast, wine and cheese and cookies are served on the third and fifth floors though the tea/coffee is served on all floors). Complimentary wifi was ideal along with bottled water daily, bathroom amenities (gorgeous Aveda products!) and daily newspapers - perfection!

It was not only the first time in San Francisco for me and my sister but our first time in the US and what a wonderful start to our big trip here - I will definitely be returning (we already want to go back right now!) and be recommending this place to my friends and family too!

I really have left my heart in San Francisco!

Thank You!!!!

Paula and Fiona Beattie

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissPBeattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Beattie,
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post such a comprehensive review regarding your recent stay at the Inn at Union Square. We're so pleased you chose to stay at the Inn at Union Square for your first visit to San Francisco and that you had a memorable experience. You certainly touched on the areas that we think makes the Inn special, namely our friendly and helpful staff, our included extras such as breakfast, evening wine hour, WiFi and fresh baked cookies each evening as well as our central location, close to all of San Francisco's attractions. We thank you for your stay and for your helpful comments. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends and family to the Inn soon.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed here for one night and it was great. Had a Queen Suite and it had a cute living room area. We were right next to the breakfast area and I worried it would be loud but it wasn't. Love that they go the extra mile, for example using Peet's Coffee, fresh squeezed orange juice, Aveda shower products and you can order Morton's room service if you wanted to. Great location. We were able to walk through Chinatown and have dinner at North Beach and everything felt so close. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimT6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest,
We sincerely appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Inn at Union Square. We feel we are truly in the center of everything, but away from the crowds where you can see the sights and hear the sounds of the city and then escape to our quaint Inn at the end of the day. We are glad you enjoyed our extra touches including Peet's Coffee, fresh squeezed orange juice, and Aveda shower products. I look forward to your return.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Great boutique hotel in an even better location near Union Square. Rooms well appointed but small. Bedding is top quality and hotel is very quiet, even though it was nearly full during our stay. Toiletries (Aveda) were first class. Towels luxurious, plentiful and replaced even during turndown service. Staff are friendly and helpful. Only one elevator present and it was a little slow during peak demand hours but stairs were good alternative when leaving (only six floors in hotel). Shower also somewhat cramped but rain shower fixture was very nice touch. All in all, can't be beat for price, location and friendly staff. We will be staying here again on our return to SF.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Usualsuspect1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear George C.,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Inn at Union Square. We strive to provide an exceptional stay for our guests and are happy to hear how you enjoyed our well-appointed rooms with Aveda toiletries, top quality bedding, luxurious towels, our excellent location and the value we offer. Our friendly, helpful staff look forward to your return visit.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Very well managed hotel. Committed and cheerful staff. Wayne runs a great team and leads from the front especially as regards engaging with guests. All his suggestions...restaurants .... Wine tours etc excellent. Well located hotel. Loved the wine/cheese early evening event....frequently turned into a bit of a party...

Room Tip: Probably choose third or fifth floor.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shilohWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The Inn at Union Square sets the bar for personal boutique hotels. Wayne and rest of the staff are exceptional hosts who made us feel at home during our Christmas visit. The breakfasts were tasty and beautifully presented, and the wine hour was a great opportunity to visit with the other guests. The rooms are lovely and spotless and the beds are very comfortable. The inn provides a quiet, intimate and peacefull setting, while being located right in the middle of the city. But it's the staff who go above and beyond that make this hotel the gem that it is.

I read a lot of reviews on a lot of hotels before selecting the Inn at Union Square and we could not have made a better choice.

Room Tip: The rooms have lots windows and plenty of light, but only a view of nearby rooftops. There was some...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I often struggle with TripAdvisor Reviews as they seem to be over complimentary or overly critical. In this case, I have resurrected my TripAdvisor login as this hotel is worthy of a review. The reviews we read in selecting this hotel were spot on. You walk in; the Hotel Foyer and Hotel Front are "nothing special". However, the experience is amongst the best that we have ever come across. The Hotel is spotlessly clean. I have never met so many staff that enjoy their jobs - always enquiring what they could do to assist or improve our experience. It was unbelievable. This Hotel had all the charm and intimacy of a B & B but with the benefit of not feeling as if you were staying in someone's home. The drinks in the evening were a great way to meet some people from around the world; the breakfast was great and we particularly looked forward to the cookies. What an experience!! Thank you so much. Your Australian guests!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear andmel,
First off, thank you for resurrecting your Tripadvisor account to post a review for the Inn at Union. Second, thank you very much for your wonderful comments. We strive to provide an exceptional experience for each and every guest through a well-maintained and "spotlessly" clean facility and a highly motivated, service-oriented staff who are eager to please our guests. We hope you will keep your account open, at least long enough to return to the Inn at Union Square and share you feedback once again.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,312 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#5 of 229 in San Francisco
1,230 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 229 in San Francisco
2,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 440 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £155 - £1,054 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is a stylish San Francisco hotel retreat away from the crowds, but in the center of it all. Located in the heart of Union Square, guests of our boutique hotel can experience the exceptional variety of things to do in San Francisco. Enjoy pleasantly-appointed guest rooms, complimentary Continental breakfast, an evening cheese and wine reception, a business center and access to a fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing