We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything is good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square
Ranked #5 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everything is good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Great location and service. Breakfast variety was sufficient. Free flow of coffee and tea whole day. Yummy cookies served in the evening. Complimentary champagne was given upon knowing it was our honeymoon. Would definitely stay there again on next visit to San Francisco.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,101
    377
    67
    18
    8
See reviews for
167
968
86
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband and I just returned from a quick trip to San Francisco. In looking for a central location that wouldn't break the bank, I came across the strong reviews for this small hotel. What a find it turned out to be.

As others have said, if you want to be in the heart of the city, the location - a half block off Union Square- couldn't be better. I believe it may once have been the Cartwright Hotel, but appears to have been subdivided. Look for the red awning because the street access is very small.

The room we had was located on the fifth floor. No view except a brick wall, but immaculately clean, quiet, comfortable, wonderful king-size bed - everything we needed for a great sleep after a busy day in the city.

There is a nice wine and cheese service in the evening, complimentary breakfast, fresh cookies available at night. All very nicely done.

The hospitality of all staff that we encountered couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. Wayne, the owner, was very kind and Ann, at the front desk, couldn't have been more accommodating.

We generally stay at large chain hotels - Loew's, Westin, Hyatt. I'm picky about where we stay, but have absolutely nothing but high marks for this surprising find. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TustinTraveler2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and it was wonderful. The staff are so helpful and the location is perfect for getting out and about. The evening wine and cheese is a good way to meet other guests and swap stories of places visited and get ideas. The morning continental breakfast is also a nice touch, the fresh coffee and orange juice provide a great start to the day.

We had a late night flight but were able to continue to use the hotels facilities until we left for the airport which was really appreciated.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floors have no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlintSki2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The location cannot be any better. All major shops are within walking distance. The room is a bit small with no view but we hardly spent any time in the room. The breakfast is a nice touch to start the morning. Ann at the front desk is the best. She is very friendly and even ran out just to say good bye when I was getting into the cab. She is a great asset to the Inn that is for sure. I would stay there again without any hestiation and would recommend to anyone visiting this great city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YYZTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I never write reviews on here but I just had to this time to let people know what a wonderful delight this place is!

My sister and I have just left today after having spent a few nights at this place, to now head on to a friends wedding, and we both really wish that we could have stayed longer. I did extensive research on where I wanted to stay whilst in San Francisco and I saw all the previous reviews on here for The Inn at Union Square and from all the wonderful comments I had a feeling that this place would not disappoint and I was right!

From the lovely emails that I received prior to arrival and upon arriving after nearly a 21 hour long flight from Dublin to London to San Francisco and then a short walk from the BART, check-in was quick and easy (we didn't have to wait long - about 5/10 mins - which wasnt a long wait at all but nonetheless they apologised about us waiting - which was so lovely of them and completely okay) I knew the minute we arrived we were on to a winner in selecting this place.

The room we had on the third floor was a very good size (we had the Queen size standard room - and was perfect for 2 people sharing) and it was very clean (which was excellent as I am particular about cleanliness).

But bear in mind there is no A/C (didnt bother us as it wasnt too hot or cold) and this is definitely a boutique hotel (don't be expecting massive lobbies like the big hotel chains - it didn't bother us as we were looking for somewhere that focuses on their customers and this place is all about customer service!).

The Inn is located in a perfectly safe area of San Francisco - Union Square is literally a few seconds outside the front door to the left where you will find everything you need - lots of places to shop and also 5 min walk away there is a massive Macy's which has the wonderful Cheesecake Factory (which you must do a visit to at night - expect a 30/35 min wait at peak times early on in the week - but totally worth it at night for the glorious views - ensure to get a table outside if the weather is good!). All the major bus tours go constantly from Union Square during the day so it is ideal to be situated near there for this too. And you must at least once take a ride on one of the Trams which go up and down Powell and Hyde.

As previous reviews have stated the staff definitely are truly lovely and helpful and make this place so special - they truly are a massive credit to the hotel - all the hotel staff that we came into contact with where all helpful, polite and just lovely - a special shout out in particular must go to Omar though who on our first morning helped us hail a taxi when I asked how long it may take to get to the ticket offices to pick up our tickets for the Alcatraz tour at Fishermans Wharf (we had 20/25 mins to collect them) and within seconds he was out on the street hailing a taxi for us! We made it on time so a massive Thank you!

We did also indulge in the breakfast (excellent selection and plenty to choose from), the wine and cheese in the early evening was a delight too and we had a lovely evening chatting to fellow guests. And if you get the chance definitely try the wine and cheese - absolute perfection - and the cookies at 8pm were also a lovely touch. We lucked out as we were on the floor where all of this was on offer (the breakfast, wine and cheese and cookies are served on the third and fifth floors though the tea/coffee is served on all floors). Complimentary wifi was ideal along with bottled water daily, bathroom amenities (gorgeous Aveda products!) and daily newspapers - perfection!

It was not only the first time in San Francisco for me and my sister but our first time in the US and what a wonderful start to our big trip here - I will definitely be returning (we already want to go back right now!) and be recommending this place to my friends and family too!

I really have left my heart in San Francisco!

Thank You!!!!

Paula and Fiona Beattie

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissPBeattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Beattie,
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post such a comprehensive review regarding your recent stay at the Inn at Union Square. We're so pleased you chose to stay at the Inn at Union Square for your first visit to San Francisco and that you had a memorable experience. You certainly touched on the areas that we think makes the Inn special, namely our friendly and helpful staff, our included extras such as breakfast, evening wine hour, WiFi and fresh baked cookies each evening as well as our central location, close to all of San Francisco's attractions. We thank you for your stay and for your helpful comments. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends and family to the Inn soon.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed here for one night and it was great. Had a Queen Suite and it had a cute living room area. We were right next to the breakfast area and I worried it would be loud but it wasn't. Love that they go the extra mile, for example using Peet's Coffee, fresh squeezed orange juice, Aveda shower products and you can order Morton's room service if you wanted to. Great location. We were able to walk through Chinatown and have dinner at North Beach and everything felt so close. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimT6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,
We sincerely appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Inn at Union Square. We feel we are truly in the center of everything, but away from the crowds where you can see the sights and hear the sounds of the city and then escape to our quaint Inn at the end of the day. We are glad you enjoyed our extra touches including Peet's Coffee, fresh squeezed orange juice, and Aveda shower products. I look forward to your return.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Lodge, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Great boutique hotel in an even better location near Union Square. Rooms well appointed but small. Bedding is top quality and hotel is very quiet, even though it was nearly full during our stay. Toiletries (Aveda) were first class. Towels luxurious, plentiful and replaced even during turndown service. Staff are friendly and helpful. Only one elevator present and it was a little slow during peak demand hours but stairs were good alternative when leaving (only six floors in hotel). Shower also somewhat cramped but rain shower fixture was very nice touch. All in all, can't be beat for price, location and friendly staff. We will be staying here again on our return to SF.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Usualsuspect1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear George C.,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Inn at Union Square. We strive to provide an exceptional stay for our guests and are happy to hear how you enjoyed our well-appointed rooms with Aveda toiletries, top quality bedding, luxurious towels, our excellent location and the value we offer. Our friendly, helpful staff look forward to your return visit.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,914 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square

Property: The Inn at Union Square
Address: 440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is truly an urban retreat, in classic San Francisco style. The intimacy of our 30 elegant and restful rooms and suites provides the setting for our gracious staff to tend to your every need. From greeting you by name to making sure you have an umbrella when it rains- it is our pleasure to serve you. The Inn is located steps from Union Square- the city’s center for shopping, theatre and dining. If business is on the agenda, it is an easy stroll to the Financial District or the Moscone Convention Center. The Inn at Union Square is away from the crowd, in the center of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing