We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Our stay at Union Square April 23-25” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square
Ranked #5 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Our stay at Union Square April 23-25”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

This inn is AWESOME!! Wayne, the innkeeper, is EVERYTHING an innkeeper should be and more!! FANTASTIC location!! I can't say enough good things about the Inn at Union Square!! Looking for the perfect place to stay in the "City by the Bay" this IS the place!!

We arrived and were greeted by Wayne - such a gracious host! Our room was perfectly appointed! The morning breakfast and afternoon wine offerings superb! All the major tour company trolleys/buses are steps away...perfect location!

Again, looking for the perfect place to stay in the "City by the Bay" the Inn at Union Square is it!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank annab25763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,067
    367
    63
    18
    8
See reviews for
160
942
83
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lone Oak, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

This has to be one of the best hotels I had the pleasure to lodge in. It's a beautifully maintained, little boutique hotel with smallish rooms. The staff is very good, every one! Ann and Wayne were especially helpful. They represent the best is service excellence.

We appreciated the things provided for comfort and convenience like bottled water, an oscillating fan, lots of pillows on the bed, and good room lighting. The bed was very comfortable, one of the best! The rooms may not have a view but the room temperature was perfect and virtually no outside noise!

And there's more! Each morning you can find a better-than-typical continental breakfast with good coffee, plus wine and cheese in the evenings!

The Inn is right off Union Square, within easy short walking distance to shops, restaurants, cable car stop, and the Powell BART station.

It's a bit expensive... but hey! you're in San Francisco! Enjoy!!

Room Tip: Top floor near the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zylon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Zylon R.,
We sincerely appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Inn at Union Square. Service excellence is something we strive for day in and day out, along with providing the added little extras to make your stay as memorable and productive as possible such as bottled water, comfortable bedding, complimentary breakfast and evening wine hour to name a few. On behalf of Ann and Wayne and the rest of the staff, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Was in the city for a conference and booked the Inn at Union Square because it was one block from the conference. I relied onTripAdvisor reviews. Very happy we did. Union Square is less than half a block. Traveled to the city by car and was able to park right in front of the Inn. Was a little surprised that there was not a doorman, but I can haul my own luggage. Just bear that in mind if you are the type of person who requires/prefers assistance with baggage. We booked the parlor suite and it was like an apartment. Our room was located at the end of the hall of the sixth floor. Since we were not facing the street, the room was very quiet. Entering the room, we found a fireplace on our immediate right and what I thought was a connecting door turned out to be a toilet area with sink. The "parlor" had a sofa, two chairs, flat screen tv and on the cocktail table was a lovely fresh flower arrangement. There is also a small refrigerator. To our left was the door to our very large bedroom. There were two closets, a desk, a dresser, and another flat screen tv. The bathroom had a spa tub and shower. There was a separate vanity area with another sink and two mirrors.

There is no air conditioning, but each room (parlor area and bedroom) has a ceiling fan and a vertical fan. If you are looking for a view, the only view we had is of the roof next door.

At the front part of the building on each floor is a sitting area. You'll find coffee, tea, pears, and apples throughout the day. In the morning, a continental breakfast is provided on the 3rd and 5th floors. Pastries, cereal, bagels, yogurt, and juice are provided for breakfast. Between 5:30 and 7:00 p.m., wine, cheese, salami, crackers, and nuts are provided. There is no room service, although you can have some selections delivered from Mortons next door (skip this -- it was below mediocre and not to Mortons' usual standards).

Wi-fi is included and there is a travel/business center with a computer and printer.

Staff is very friendly. We forgot a corkscrew and one was delivered promptly and our offer of a tip was politely, but firmly, refused. Our future place to stay when traveling to San Francisco.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back if you prefer to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisettaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear LisettaT,
We appreciate your kind and detailed review of your experience at the Inn at Union Square. We strive to provide not only friendly and efficient service, but also extra touches and amenities to help make our guests feel pampered and at home. We are so pleased to hear how our complimentary breakfast, evening wine and cheese hour, free wifi, quiet rooms, and business center in particular enhanced your stay. We're glad our central location near Union Square suited your needs during your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon when business or pleasure returns you to San Francisco.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I was so glad that I choose Inn at Union Square. The room was wonderful and clean. I had a wonderful time. The staff was very helpful and truly made my stay enjoyable. Ann is a valuable employee. She handles thing very efficiently and was so helpful, very organized and knowledgeable. I would highly recommend you to my friends. Plus what a great location! Val R.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 192val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Lovely boutique hotel at Union Square. Service is first rate. All our needs were met. The rooms are well appointed, with all amenities provided. We have stayed here twice this week and both rooms were good sized and very, very comfortable. Nice size for San Francisco hotel. Omar at front desk made us feel at home; on second arrival we felt like family.
Definitely will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldsoccercoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Inn at Union Square and provide us with your valuable feedback. We are so glad you felt at home during your visit to our hotel. We strive to provide for every need from our well appointed, comfortable rooms to our exceptional service. Thank you again for your kind comments and we look forward to your return, which we hope is soon.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We are so happy we chose this hotel. The staff are so friendly and attentive, we could not have asked for more. We particularly enjoyed meeting other guests in the parlour for breakfast and the very enjoyable wine and cheese in the evenings. We stayed for 7 nights - the room was very comfortable & the location was perfect. Thank you Inn at Union Square, we will whole heartedly recommend you !!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ros S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, FL
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The attention to detail was fantastic! Besides the obvious; being a beautiful, clean, small inn in a fantastic location ~~ The Inn at Union Square has all the necessary amenities I look for. The beautifully decorated rooms, with a well lit bathroom and great make-up mirrors, comfy robes, powerful blow dryers (that don't overheat!). The fresh smelling, clean, cushy towels and great Aveda products to shower with. Then you have to mention the nice breakfast to get you going, the afternoon wine and cheese to savor before heading out to dinner and then to return to warm baked cookies. The front lobby staff was great! From the moment we pulled up and all the attention to help us get luggage in and checked in, to helping us with restaurant choices (since we were entertaining customers), and sight seeing suggestions, to finally getting us checked out and to the airport --- which I must say was a very sad day!! We stayed a total of four nights and wished it were 14! We will be back!! Thank you all at "The Inn"!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beth0928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,689 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#10 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,640 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#7 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square

Property: The Inn at Union Square
Address: 440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is truly an urban retreat, in classic San Francisco style. The intimacy of our 30 elegant and restful rooms and suites provides the setting for our gracious staff to tend to your every need. From greeting you by name to making sure you have an umbrella when it rains- it is our pleasure to serve you. The Inn is located steps from Union Square- the city’s center for shopping, theatre and dining. If business is on the agenda, it is an easy stroll to the Financial District or the Moscone Convention Center. The Inn at Union Square is away from the crowd, in the center of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your The Inn at Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing