We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You just can't get a better experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square
Ranked #4 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You just can't get a better experience”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

To take a line from Top Chef, "I would give this place a galaxy of stars if I could". 5 stars is an injustice. From the moment we checked in with the fabulous and super friendly receptionist Ann, to the moment we walked out the door to our next destination, this hotel was literally perfect. We had a bottle waiting for us in our room for our anniversary, the rooms were clean and thoughtful, wine in the evening, breakfast in the morning, the theatre was right next door (highly recommended)... It was just a dream. I'll never stay anywhere else in SF. Thank you so much Ann/Inn @ Union Square! After the long flight from Philadelphia, your wonderful hospitality was a real treat!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Lucas B,
We sincerely appreciate your patronage of the Inn at Union Square and for posting such nice comments about your experience. We are pleased to hear how our friendly service, clean rooms, complimentary breakfast and evening wine hour and our central location enhanced your stay in San Francisco. On behalf of Ann and the rest of the staff, we look forward to your return.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,133
    385
    67
    19
    8
See reviews for
170
993
89
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I highly recommend this Inn. It is in a good location. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. It was perfect for our short stay in San Francisco. We met other guests who said they either always stay here when they come to town or found out about it through TrpAdvisor and knew it would be great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPDavis205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I loved staying here. My first trip was two weeks before Christmas and I can honestly say I have never felt more Christmassy... The rooms are lovely and comfortable and at 6pm every evening the hotel put on cheese and wine for the guests to enjoy. This is such a social hotel as you get to meet and chat to a wide range of people in town for vastly different reasons/agendas, but at 6pm everyday it's truly surprising how many guests make their way back to the Inn to socialise.

I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lloyd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dongducheon, South Korea
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Service, service, service! Every experience I had with this hotel, from altering my original reservation, to check in, to check out, wow what great customer service! The hotel is a small and clean conveniently located hotel in the Union Square area. The rooms were very clean and the beds were very comfortable, however these amenities should be expected from any hotel in this price range. What sets The Inn at Union Square apart was the wonderful service. Even the cleaning staff was the friendliest I ever encountered. They have a great wine reception and are very friendly with helping you out with area information. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area. We stayed one night in another big brand hotel in the are which set themselves apart with their lack of service. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chickenlips79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you, thank you, thank you for the kind review and for choosing the Inn at Union Square for your visit to San Francisco. I am in complete agreement with you that all hotels should offer their guests a clean and comfortable room, but as you mention, it is the people and the service they provide that transforms a simple overnight stay into a memorable experience. Our pledge to our guests is to "Experience Exceptional Service" and we are extremely focused on this goal on a daily basis. We hope to have the pleasure of, once again, providing you wonderful service in the near future

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed here for 4 days in July. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was as good as a Euro B&B. Location was central SF, near everything. Free WiFi worked great. The innkeeper is on top of everything and makes it a point to talk to as many guests as possible.

Room Tip: Street in front can be a bit noisy so go for a top floor in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGreek53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel is small, no doubt about it, but I visited the "larger" hotels nearby and just really liked the feel of the Inn better. I appreciate the history of the building. I also thought this hotel was quiet. We were there in spring and did not need AC--actually we needed a little heat! Breakfasts were great, delicious granola, yogurt, fruit, coffee, tea, danishes. Not much room to sit out and enjoy it, so we took it to our room. Staff was very helpful in finding good restaurants, best routes to sightseeing destinations. Shopping on Union Square is exceptional. I would stay here again simply for the great location and ease of getting from here to anyplace you want to go in the city. We did follow the room advice and got a room on one of the "breakfast" floors.

Room Tip: As others have noted, get a room on one of the floors where they serve breakfast and wine tastings...
See more room tips
Green Features: It's California. Your environmentally sound whether you want to be or not.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dm3890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Canaan
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

If you can handle the non A/C, then its great. Service was fantastic, helpful, internet connection was good, wine tastings, breakfast, great location, charming place. Enjoy it. If A/C is an issue, then its a bit tough. Nights are generally cool, but it was stuffy in the room even with two fans.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room that faces the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StRaymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,163 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,760 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
438 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#6 of 229 in San Francisco
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square

Property: The Inn at Union Square
Address: 440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square, a Greystone Hotel, is truly an urban retreat, in classic San Francisco style. The intimacy of our 30 elegant and restful rooms and suites provides the setting for our gracious staff to tend to your every need. From greeting you by name to making sure you have an umbrella when it rains- it is our pleasure to serve you. The Inn is located steps from Union Square- the city’s center for shopping, theatre and dining. If business is on the agenda, it is an easy stroll to the Financial District or the Moscone Convention Center. The Inn at Union Square is away from the crowd, in the center of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing