We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary Trip to SF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square
Ranked #5 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Anniversary Trip to SF”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Inn, as part of our 25th wedding anniversary trip. It was perfect! The space is intimate and warm...a charming respite from the city bustle, yet convenient to all the fun. The staff was absolutely wonderful. They were all, so friendly and thoughtful. They gave us excellent suggestions for restaurants and things to do around the city. It is obvious that they know the city's neighborhoods very well. Top notch. So much more personal than a big, chain hotel. I would definitely recommend to friends and family. This place is something very special.

Room Tip: Breakfast, wine tastings and evening cookies are offered in the common areas of floors 3 & 5. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shabby32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Shabby32,
Thank you so very much for staying at the Inn at Union Square and for sharing your kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed our personnel and the excellent service they provided. We pride ourselves on ensuring each guest has an Exceptional Experience and that comes from personalized service and intimate knowledge of the city. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,108
    382
    67
    18
    8
See reviews for
168
972
88
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We picked this hotel for a family get together in San Francisco for three nights in July.
It was perfect.
The hotel is fairly small by big city standards but that is most of its charm.
The lobby reminds one of a small hotel in Paris, barely room for two groups of travelers with baggage to pass by. But that is more than compensated by the friendly front desk employee.
The rooms are not large but more than adequate, especially the few suites that are available.
The breakfast is very nice and so is the wine and cheese served nightly between 5:30 and 7PM.
Getting in late one afternoon, we barely had enough time for what was left in the red wine bottle, so at 7:15 we sheepishly asked for another at it was produced with a smile, rather than a finger pointed at the clock.
My only qualm is that the hotel is not air conditioned. This is normally not a problem in this city but on a hot day the room can be a bit stuffy at night. We noticed that one of our rooms, a suite on the end of the floor, with two windows, was much cooler. But that is not an issue most nights.
The location cannot be beat. It is just steps from the main cable car line and Union Square itself.
A great location from which to explore the rest of this wonderful city.
The prices, BTW, are quite reasonable. It deserves its place on Trip Advisor's list of favorites.

Room Tip: The suites appear to be at the end of the corridor with better cross ventilation which helps on warm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N47543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind words and we are all very pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us. Thank you for mentioning the exceptional service provided by the staff as well as our central location and charming facilities. We certainly enjoyed having you as our guests and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Highly recommend this property if you like a boutique hotel. We had a suite with sitting room and working fireplace, large bedroom, full bath and 2 half baths. The staff is friendly and accommodating and supply guests with lots of bottled water, delicious breakfast buffet and yummy cookies for bedtime. The Inn has not overlooked any comforts or amenities that help to make guests feel welcome. There is no lobby but each floor has a parlor with tea, coffee, juice and cocoa. The property is small and has one elevator so sometimes there is a few minutes wait. The location was perfect for our needs-only problem was we were so very comfortable we didn't want to leave!!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for the suite-it is remarkable! So much room and so much comfort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jorebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear jorebel,
We appreciate your kind words and patronage of the Inn at Union Square. We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that you did not want to leave us. We hope you will return to us soon, so we can once again take great care of you.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights during our visit in SF. Very pleasant hotel, center of the town, close to public transport and the cable car. Don't expect much from the breakfast, but the coffee is good and you can drink a cup, or take away all day long. The personnel was very kind, they even surprised us with a champagne and chocolates when finding out it was our honeymoon.
It would be a plus for a cleaner bathroom, but all things considered, we would return there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria_Maria2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Maria_Maria2020,
Thank you for your kind words and thank you for choosing the Inn at Union Square as part of your honeymoon trip. We are happy you found that our central location and kind personnel enhanced your visit to San Francisco. I am dismayed to hear that you felt our bathroom cleanliness was not up to the highest standard and we will certainly review this with our staff. Congratulations to you and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you if and when you return to our fair city.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Certainly a "boutique" hotel but found service lacking. Takes 30 minutes to retrieve your car from the valet parking. Evening wine service and breakfast only really enjoyable if you like to eat/ drink in your room....Very narrow corridors and quaint rooms with small bathrooms. Price commensurate with a number of other well appointed full service hotels nearby.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrDev156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear DrDev156,
Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your comments. We strive to provide every guest with an exceptional experience; however, it seems we fell short of that goal with your visit. We sincerely apologize if we did not live up to your expectations. We have reviewed your comments for areas we can improve upon as to provide exceptional service for future guests. Thank you again for sharing your feedback as it is invaluable to our constant improvement.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coulsdon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

A lovely quirky little hotel , with great rooms and very centrally located. The staff were just the best (thank you Wayne and Ann) and made our few days in San Francisco a delight. The wine in the early evening , the cookies later , the buffet breakfast. All lovely touches and very much appreciated.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank bettysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear bettysdad,
On behalf of Ann, Wayne and the rest of the team, we sincerely thank you for your kind words and patronage. We're so pleased to read that you appreciated our special touches from our evening wine hour to our breakfast buffet and nightly fresh baked cookies. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to San Francisco.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Great location, in walking distance to restaurants, cable cars, shopping and tours.

Amazing staff, warm and welcoming. We upgraded to a junior suite, was on the 3rd floor at the back of the hotel. We really enjoyed the evening wine and cheese / snacks. Very plentiful and a nice pre dinner snack.
Breakfast had a good variety and lots to chose from - nothing hot but we were pleased with the choices.
Bed was comfy and the room was well appointed.

Overall, we loved this hotel and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Take a room at the back of the Hotel away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbroer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Jbroer,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at the Inn at Union Square. We are so pleased to hear how our prime location, friendly staff, comfortable rooms and our added extras such as complimentary breakfast and evening wine hour enhanced your visit. We sincerely appreciate the recommendation and hope to have the pleasure to serve you again in the near future.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,019 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square

Property: The Inn at Union Square
Address: 440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is truly an urban retreat, in classic San Francisco style. The intimacy of our 30 elegant and restful rooms and suites provides the setting for our gracious staff to tend to your every need. From greeting you by name to making sure you have an umbrella when it rains- it is our pleasure to serve you. The Inn is located steps from Union Square- the city’s center for shopping, theatre and dining. If business is on the agenda, it is an easy stroll to the Financial District or the Moscone Convention Center. The Inn at Union Square is away from the crowd, in the center of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing