We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #4 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Our stay was pure perfection! I found myself smiling at just how lovely this hotel made me feel. Never have I felt so welcomed and at home at a hotel! My husband and I stayed for six days. This was our first trip to San Fran. Coming and going there was always someone at the front desk to greet us. I loved the quaint, older building, the decor, the room furnishings. The breakfast was impressive. We cracked open the window, enjoyed the cool morning air and sounds of the city while eating with a couple from Australia. Omar and Ann were super friendly and willing to help us plan our day with suggestions and recommendations. Great location. Close to the convention center for my husband. And yet within walking distance to Chinatown, the trolley, shopping, and restaurants for me. The evening happy hour of wines and cheeses also exceeded our expectations. And then there were late night cookies. We'd definitely visit again. This place is a gem!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Casey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Casey H.,
We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience at the Inn at Union Square. From our complimentary breakfast and evening wine hour to our convenient location and late night cookies, we strive to cover all the bases to ensure our guests have an exceptional experience. On behalf of Ann, Omar and the rest of our helpful staff, we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,636)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

501 - 507 of 1,636 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

Great place to stay for couples on vacation. The staff is really helpful and friendly, the rooms are clean and there are even a wine bar and cookies included :-) One evening the inn keeper even went to pick up ginger ale for my pregnant girlfriend!

The hotel is situated at Union Square which is an ideal location for tourists who want to explore the city.

All in all, this was a very nice experience and we will definetly visit this place again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Søren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Søren A,
We appreciate your kind and thoughtful comments regarding your recent stay at the Inn at Union Square. We are pleased to hear that you found our location just off Union Square conducive to exploring the city and that are staff was helpful and accommodating. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I just spent a week at this lovely hotel. The location is perfect, I wasn't sure if I should stay at Union square or the Fisherman's Wharf area and was so glad I ended up choosing this hotel. The staff were very helpful and the nightly wine reception was a great chance to meet other guests. Breakfast and nightly cookies were also provided. The room was well appointed and the bed great. Would definitely stay again rather than at a large hotel. Thank you for providing such a welcoming place to stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank Janeaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear g Janeaus,
We thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your lovely comments. As a small hotel, we have the opportunity to slow down and get to know our guests, personalizing the experience. We are glad you enjoyed our evening wine reception, complimentary breakfast and well-appointed room. We look forward to your return and the opportunity to serve you again.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is a quirky small hotel with very friendly staff in a great position near Union Square. The rooms are well appointed and the bed very comfortable. Only 5 floors. The lift is small but adequate. The staff are so keen to help. The Westin is directly opposite and the cable car just at your door,.

Room Tip: The 5th floor is great and each evening at 5pm till 7pm they have wine and nibbles for guests provid...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Geraldine C.,
Thank you very much for you review and for staying at the Inn at Union Square recently. We are glad you enjoyed our well-appointed rooms, comfortable beds and helpful staff. Thank you for mentioning our excellent location near Union Square and we look forward to your return visits.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

I don't have much to add to other positive reviews, yet we thought the people who manage this hotel have understood what hospitality and quality truly mean: the details and little things, which all work out very well in this prime-location small hotel. Highly recommendable indeed for a leisure stay in SF.

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank Nico1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Nico1611,
Thank you so very much for your kind words and feedback regarding your recent visit to the Inn at Union Square. We are pleased you found that our prime location, extra touches and our hospitality enhanced your visit to San Francisco. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Inn, as part of our 25th wedding anniversary trip. It was perfect! The space is intimate and warm...a charming respite from the city bustle, yet convenient to all the fun. The staff was absolutely wonderful. They were all, so friendly and thoughtful. They gave us excellent suggestions for restaurants and things to do around the city. It is obvious that they know the city's neighborhoods very well. Top notch. So much more personal than a big, chain hotel. I would definitely recommend to friends and family. This place is something very special.

Room Tip: Breakfast, wine tastings and evening cookies are offered in the common areas of floors 3 & 5. I...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shabby32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Shabby32,
Thank you so very much for staying at the Inn at Union Square and for sharing your kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed our personnel and the excellent service they provided. We pride ourselves on ensuring each guest has an Exceptional Experience and that comes from personalized service and intimate knowledge of the city. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We picked this hotel for a family get together in San Francisco for three nights in July.
It was perfect.
The hotel is fairly small by big city standards but that is most of its charm.
The lobby reminds one of a small hotel in Paris, barely room for two groups of travelers with baggage to pass by. But that is more than compensated by the friendly front desk employee.
The rooms are not large but more than adequate, especially the few suites that are available.
The breakfast is very nice and so is the wine and cheese served nightly between 5:30 and 7PM.
Getting in late one afternoon, we barely had enough time for what was left in the red wine bottle, so at 7:15 we sheepishly asked for another at it was produced with a smile, rather than a finger pointed at the clock.
My only qualm is that the hotel is not air conditioned. This is normally not a problem in this city but on a hot day the room can be a bit stuffy at night. We noticed that one of our rooms, a suite on the end of the floor, with two windows, was much cooler. But that is not an issue most nights.
The location cannot be beat. It is just steps from the main cable car line and Union Square itself.
A great location from which to explore the rest of this wonderful city.
The prices, BTW, are quite reasonable. It deserves its place on Trip Advisor's list of favorites.

Room Tip: The suites appear to be at the end of the corridor with better cross ventilation which helps on warm...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N47543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind words and we are all very pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us. Thank you for mentioning the exceptional service provided by the staff as well as our central location and charming facilities. We certainly enjoyed having you as our guests and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,314 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#5 of 229 in San Francisco
1,230 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 229 in San Francisco
2,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 440 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £155 - £1,053 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is a stylish San Francisco hotel retreat away from the crowds, but in the center of it all. Located in the heart of Union Square, guests of our boutique hotel can experience the exceptional variety of things to do in San Francisco. Enjoy pleasantly-appointed guest rooms, complimentary Continental breakfast, an evening cheese and wine reception, a business center and access to a fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing