We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place for an adult getaway.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #5 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 September 2014

If you are traveling without children in tow, this is the perfect plac to stay. Conveniently located, friendly staff, comfortable & well maintained rooms, and wonderful perks like waking to coffee and breakfast pastries, finding wine, fruit and cheese waiting when you come in from a long day of sight seeing, and having warm cookies before going to bed. We spent a week at this hotel and its high standards never wavered. This is where we will be staying if we ever have the opportunity to visit San Francisco again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VaDem58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear VaDem58,
We sincerely appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Inn at Union Square. We are so pleased you enjoyed our friendly staff, complimentary wine and cheese offerings as well as breakfast in the morning and those irresistible fresh baked cookies each evening. We hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

581 - 587 of 1,723 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

Spent 3 nights at this delightful hotel. Great setting and location near Union square. Staff very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Very nice rooms, but a bit noisy on the back end over looking a court yard with vents blowing the whole time, so was not able to have windows open. Wine tasting offered in the evenings, but we were too busy to make these.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Chas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Chas P.,
We appreciate your feedback and kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Inn at Union Square. We are sorry to hear that the noise from neighboring buildings disturbed you. We hope it did not detract from your experience too much. We are happy to hear, however, that you enjoyed our friendly and helpful staff, central location and nice rooms. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

This is a great hotel to stay while in San Fran. We stayed for a couple of days and it was in the most perfect location, so close to all the action of the city and many restaurants located in walking distance. The rooms are very nice and classic decor, we were slightly worried when we read the reviews about how small they were, but it was fine and we had quite a few pieces of luggage. The staff were also very friendly and welcoming and happy to help. The room was also kept very clean. There are no views from the windows, it faced out to a wall, however it meant that the room was quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ren_mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear ren_mac,
We are so pleased to hear how you enjoyed our perfect location, clean and comfortable rooms and our friendly and welcoming staff. We hope to have the pleasure of providing exceptional service to you in the not too distant future.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Our stay was pure perfection! I found myself smiling at just how lovely this hotel made me feel. Never have I felt so welcomed and at home at a hotel! My husband and I stayed for six days. This was our first trip to San Fran. Coming and going there was always someone at the front desk to greet us. I loved the quaint, older building, the decor, the room furnishings. The breakfast was impressive. We cracked open the window, enjoyed the cool morning air and sounds of the city while eating with a couple from Australia. Omar and Ann were super friendly and willing to help us plan our day with suggestions and recommendations. Great location. Close to the convention center for my husband. And yet within walking distance to Chinatown, the trolley, shopping, and restaurants for me. The evening happy hour of wines and cheeses also exceeded our expectations. And then there were late night cookies. We'd definitely visit again. This place is a gem!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Casey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Casey H.,
We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience at the Inn at Union Square. From our complimentary breakfast and evening wine hour to our convenient location and late night cookies, we strive to cover all the bases to ensure our guests have an exceptional experience. On behalf of Ann, Omar and the rest of our helpful staff, we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Great place to stay for couples on vacation. The staff is really helpful and friendly, the rooms are clean and there are even a wine bar and cookies included :-) One evening the inn keeper even went to pick up ginger ale for my pregnant girlfriend!

The hotel is situated at Union Square which is an ideal location for tourists who want to explore the city.

All in all, this was a very nice experience and we will definetly visit this place again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Søren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Søren A,
We appreciate your kind and thoughtful comments regarding your recent stay at the Inn at Union Square. We are pleased to hear that you found our location just off Union Square conducive to exploring the city and that are staff was helpful and accommodating. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I just spent a week at this lovely hotel. The location is perfect, I wasn't sure if I should stay at Union square or the Fisherman's Wharf area and was so glad I ended up choosing this hotel. The staff were very helpful and the nightly wine reception was a great chance to meet other guests. Breakfast and nightly cookies were also provided. The room was well appointed and the bed great. Would definitely stay again rather than at a large hotel. Thank you for providing such a welcoming place to stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank Janeaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear g Janeaus,
We thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your lovely comments. As a small hotel, we have the opportunity to slow down and get to know our guests, personalizing the experience. We are glad you enjoyed our evening wine reception, complimentary breakfast and well-appointed room. We look forward to your return and the opportunity to serve you again.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is a quirky small hotel with very friendly staff in a great position near Union Square. The rooms are well appointed and the bed very comfortable. Only 5 floors. The lift is small but adequate. The staff are so keen to help. The Westin is directly opposite and the cable car just at your door,.

Room Tip: The 5th floor is great and each evening at 5pm till 7pm they have wine and nibbles for guests provid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Geraldine C.,
Thank you very much for you review and for staying at the Inn at Union Square recently. We are glad you enjoyed our well-appointed rooms, comfortable beds and helpful staff. Thank you for mentioning our excellent location near Union Square and we look forward to your return visits.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 231 in San Francisco
5,577 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#4 of 231 in San Francisco
1,283 reviews
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#17 of 231 in San Francisco
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 231 in San Francisco
1,528 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#18 of 231 in San Francisco
5,397 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 231 in San Francisco
3,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 440 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £168 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is a stylish San Francisco hotel retreat away from the crowds, but in the center of it all. Located in the heart of Union Square, guests of our boutique hotel can experience the exceptional variety of things to do in San Francisco. Enjoy pleasantly-appointed guest rooms, complimentary Continental breakfast, an evening cheese and wine reception, a business center and access to a fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing