We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location, staff and value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Union Square

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Inn at Union Square
Ranked #4 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, staff and value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

We stayed here for the first 4 nights of our honeymoon and loved this hotel. Our flight had been delayed out of Heathrow by 5 hours so when we arrived I wasnt in the best of moods, this was soon changed by the cheery welcome from David.
Our room was small but very nice with a comfy bed and nicely furnished. The bathroom was very clean but in need of updating.
The location is excellent right by Union Square - we purchased the 3 day transport cards for cable cars and buses, but found the cable cars very busy and hard to get onto so mainly used buses.
Breakfast had an excellent selection and was plentiful
We loved the wine and cheese 'social hour' and the homemade cookies when you returned back to the hotel at night were delicious
I would return and recommend anyone to stay here, we booked through Expedia and got a very good deal.
Our favorite meal was in china town called The House - delicious chinese
We also ate at Scomas in Fisherman's wharf - nice location and seafood but expensive and a bit touristy

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caro81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,095
    372
    65
    18
    8
See reviews for
165
961
85
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

We had a 10 day stay here at the beginning of July, the hotel served as an ideal base for our sightseeing. We were upgraded upon arrival to a Junior Suite which was greatly appreciated (after a long journey from Glasgow via Philadelphia). The room was comfortable and a good size, though the carpet was stained in parts. The bathroom was also a good size and we were kept very well stocked with lovely Aveda toiletries.

The continental breakfast was always well stocked with cereal, pastries, fruit and bread for toast. And if you need a coffee or two before you can get going, you can have as much as you like, while reading the morning paper! Hot drinks were also available thoughout the day, with kettles on each floor. The bottled water and cookies in the evening were a fantastic bonus! We only made it to the cheese and wine on a couple of occasions but everything was of a good quality once again.

This hotel is situated just steps from Union Square and a short stroll from Market Street, so if you're keen on shopping, it's ideal. Westfield Shopping Centre is highly recommended. We used public transport thoughout our stay, the MUNI passes are fantastic value at $24 for 7 days, especially when you consider that one cable car ride is $5. We used the buses mostly (you can get a map from reception that shows all the routes) and found them very efficient and easily accessible from our base at Union Square.

Lastly, a big thank you to all the staff for being SO helpful and efficient throughout our stay, this hotel offers a much more personal touch than any others we've stayed in before. They have lots of good tips and will happily make reservations at restaurants and on day trips on your behalf. We were even provided with a takeaway breakfast at 6am before heading to the airport on our way home.

Overall, this hotel offered great value, location and service. We would definitely recommend it to other travelers, for both short and longer stays.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LinMcK76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern california
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2009

We were very pleased in our two night stay at the Inn, since we were going off the Trip Advisor’s recommendations. Wayne and his staff (like others have said) really do make the stay at the Inn worth it. They make thier three star rating seem like four. They are humorous, knowledgeable and make you feel like you like you’re at home. They have a fine breakfast and wine/cheese hour each day. We ate at Morton’s (just seconds away) and above Macy’s at The Cheesecake Factory. We saw Wicked one night and it was a short taxi cab ($6.00) ride to the Orpheum (If you are over 5'10, either sit in the front rows or back rows, leg room is tight) I am glad we trusted the reviews on Trip Advisor and had such a nice stay at the Inn.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for three nights (July 1-3). We were greeted by a vary friendly and knowledgeable staff. We enjoyed the continental breakfast, the cheese and wine time and the evening cookies. Our rooms were clean and spacious. The location was great. The trolley and other modes of transportation were only a short walk away. We would stay here again on any future visits.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoMaestra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights and were upgraded to a king suite.
The room was a reasonable size with excellent facilities.
You cannot fault the location, a stone's throw from Union Square.
The staff were all very, very helpful - they really could not do enough for you.
No air-con may be an issue for some but it was cool enough without it.
Nice continental breakfast.
Nice touch of free 'wine tasting' in the evening.
Free wi-fi did not work in the room, but it did in the reception areas.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John_and_Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2009

I have seen it before: An otherwise forgettable hotel makes it to the top of the TripAdvisor rankings through a combination of good prices and very friendly service. This place certainly has great service and good prices, and the location can't be beat. However, the hotel itself leaves more than a little to be desired. First, there was no air conditioning in our room; this necessitated sleeping with the windows open, and thus brought in all of the noises of the city. Not exactly the best night's sleep we've ever had. Second, the shower was one of the worst showers I have ever experienced (and that's including a lot of European showers!). It was very tight and the shower head could not be adjusted to actually spray onto one's body. If you can deal with these unpleasantries then this might be the place for you, but I was thoroughly unimpressed.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lasocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights. We got a complementary upgrade to a 'Queen Suite' which was nice. The only thing i would say would be that the views from a lower level room on the rear of the hotel will look directly onto a wall. If that doesn't bother you then good. The room was clean and reasonably big. Location is fantastic, you really are a short walk from union sq and the heart of san fran but far enough away to get peace and quiet. They held wine evenings every night, where you met with different guests from the hotel and had complementary wine and cheese. Lovely place, would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fridaygeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,826 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,678 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#7 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#8 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square

Property: The Inn at Union Square
Address: 440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is truly an urban retreat, in classic San Francisco style. The intimacy of our 30 elegant and restful rooms and suites provides the setting for our gracious staff to tend to your every need. From greeting you by name to making sure you have an umbrella when it rains- it is our pleasure to serve you. The Inn is located steps from Union Square- the city’s center for shopping, theatre and dining. If business is on the agenda, it is an easy stroll to the Financial District or the Moscone Convention Center. The Inn at Union Square is away from the crowd, in the center of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Inn at Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing