We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool vintage hotel, needs a few things”
Review of Hotel Majestic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Majestic
Ranked #120 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The ambiance is great in this old hotel. There are cool murals in the elevator, great light fixtures, claw footed tub, glazed tile, marble entry, etc. Japantown is a wonderful neighborhood with shops and museums. It's a few blocks from Filmore with vintage shops and trendy restaurants and a few blocks from Van Ness which has great bars. There are a couple of shops nearby and we felt perfectly safe in this area. There were a couple of issues with this place though, first and foremost, they need to invest in a/c as the window unit didn't really work. We stayed in November and I woke up sweating every night. Also, there is zero water pressure in the shower. The toiletries were not replaced once in a 4 night stay. All things taken into account, including the fact that this was by far the cheapest hotel we could find, other that Travelodges and the like, I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catch242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Owner at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

Just on the right side of "charming and antique" rather than "in need of renovation" - but may need an overhaul soon! Staff were pleasant and helpful (held our bags prior to checking while we dropped a rental car off, and held them after checkout before we had to head back up). Breakfast wasn't included and was quite expensive (although tasty, as long as you like garlic!). That said, in a very decent part of town with really good transport links all over the city, and very comfortable rooms. A very characterful place.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Owner at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your remarks and thank you for dining with us. On my top to do list I've got public area carpet renovations, which we will be starting next month (the interior was remodeled 18 months ago)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The Majestic Hotel is located in down-town San Francisco, from all the photos available it looks old and stylish.
The staff are helpful and the hotel is clean. The restaurant (when open) was good and the food was good quality and very tasty. Wi Fi was free and reasonable speed.

Basically the hotel is just old, it’s run down and has no air conditioning. If you are OK with that no problem, but for us we just found it out of date an in big need of updating. Zero creature comforts. The bed was comfortable but the height off the ground was stupid.

Whist the restaurant was good when open, we were quite surprised when on a Sunday night, and Monday they close the restaurant and there was NO room service or NO breakfast, this was without warning.
Problem is the area is not the sort of place you want to venture out at night to buy food. Also (like a few places in USA) there is no allowance or for a boiling water jug in the room, so no morning coffee or tea and no way of getting it without going to a coffee pot in the lobby.

On entry to the hotel there was a very steep set of steps and although there were staff around, no assistance was offered with bags, we were quite surprised at this.
The windows didn't stay open (old wooden frames) and the room was stuffy. The shower was a small old shower-head over an old bath with a clingy shower screen. This was awful. The bathroom felt old and grotty.

It was a Priceline hotel and we decided after this not to use Priceline again, honestly for the sake of saving a bit of money it’s not worth compromising to this degree. The city is very overpriced and we got the impression it would be better than it turned out.
The position of the hotel frankly is just horrible. There were homeless and crack heads on the street. You don’t feel safe in this part of the city. The emergency services liked using the sirens all day, all night for no apparent reason. There is nothing nice about the area and no reason to go there, no facilities and nothing to look at. San Francisco is freezing cold and whilst there are some great attractions out of downtown, and plenty of tours, this area is to avoid.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Owner at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Guest I apologize for you poor experience with us. Certain complaints regarding A/C come a lot, we do have pretty constant weather in San Francisco, being a coastal city it can get quite cold and usually there is no need for A/C. I also apologize for any sirens you heard from public services, these services are emergency services have sirens that agencies survive to help the community. Lastly, I do want to mention that our hotel is located in Pacific Heights (one of the more expensive areas of San Francisco) in fact we are surround by very large community of senior and assisted living housing, and we do not have homeless that roam around our area normally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel was just what you think it would be. A vintage hotel with a cozy atmosphere and lovely service. The bathroom was really 'vintage' and if someone wants to complain about it - go ahead, but to me it's a part of the great package. :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josephine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Owner at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your remarks. You're right about vintage hotel with modern comforts (wifi, pillowtop beds, HDTV), people that WANT that experience do enjoy the hotel thoroughly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

It's hard enough finding an affordable room in San Francisco at any time. Good luck finding one when The America's Cup is in town. So we felt lucky to find one at the Majestic. Even luckier when it turned out to be not only affordable but an all around good choice. The room was small but that is to be expected in many old hotels and not really an issue. The bed was comfortable, the shower good and the room clean. A big plus was the staff. The guys at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. When I asked about the hotel's history not only could they answer my questions but they pulled out a scrapbook with much fascinating history in it. They were open about one of the rooms being haunted even though they don't promote it. And Aura in the dining room was very attentive and provided great service.

Room Tip: The Opera Suite is the haunted room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lannyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Owner at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for sharing you experience with everyone. We appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We used The Majestic for our over night stay in San Francisco. It is a very classic hotel. The welcome was warm. Our room was fabulous. Nice suite, with an incredibly comfortable bed.

Spent an hour or so downstairs in the bar. Our server Michael was a very engaging and entertaining guy.

Yes in places you could say it is dated. But it is a classic, old boutique hotel, so I guess that is the idea. But it is clean and comfortable, which to us matters more.

Recommended!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Owner at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Guest, Delighted that you had such a great stay with us. Michael our mixologist is FANTASTIC! He doesn't use any pre-mixed syrups or a blenders, all of his cocktails are handcrafted!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed here after flying in to San Francisco for three nights– the location is good, despite what I’ve read on here we didn’t experience anything too bad whilst we stayed here, the room was very comfortable – yes it was quaint and unlike most places we visited on our trip across California, but the staff were helpful and the breakfast was superb always freshly made and set you up for the day.
Plenty to do down at Fisherman’s Wharf, we visited the famous Alcatraz and did a tour of the city on an open top bus, please beware it is usually very cold and windy on these buses, the Golden Gate eventually came into view on the second day.
Overall we enjoyed SF but I can imagine anyone with mobility problems struggling to get around due to the ‘hilly’ streets – after a long day out we usually got a taxi back to the hotel – it was definitely worth a few bucks to save your legs.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Northy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Owner at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind words. I am very happy you had a comfortable stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Queen Anne Hotel
#79 of 230 in San Francisco
659 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#87 of 230 in San Francisco
2,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#133 of 230 in San Francisco
1,067 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#123 of 230 in San Francisco
1,298 reviews
Japantown
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic

Address: 1500 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94109-5307
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £91 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Majestic 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Majestic known for its enchanting romantic décor is a popular choice among visitors traveling to San Francisco. This classic European-inspired boutique hotel is just a short ten blocks away from the Union Square shops and restaurants of Downtown. Located in the Pacific Heights neighborhood, our quiet surroundings offer a conveniently located romantic escape from the many noises of Downtown San Francisco. It survived the Great Earthquake of 1906 and is rich with history, Edwardian architecture, and even ghost stories. At this boutique hotel in San Francisco, travel back in time, to the turn of the century! With royal bedding draped over the four-poster beds, plush carpeting, soft seating, accent furnishings, and beautiful artwork we aspire to provide only the best for our guests! Our bathrooms are just as unique as our guest rooms! Magenta marbled wash basins, brass faucets, extra large mirrors, antique decorative lighting, textured wall coverings, and of course claw-foot tubs with full-length goose neck showers to preserve the glamour of the Majestic. Recently renovated with modern comforts, all our guestrooms are equipped with flat screen televisions with premium channels, complimentary Wi-Fi, elevated pillow top beds with soft duvet covers and cool pillows, a snack basket and honor bar for purchase, hairdryer, electronic safe, iron and ironing boards, bath robes are just the standard amenities that come in each guest room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel San Francisco
Majestic San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing