We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved the hotel, customer service needs HELP” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Majestic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Majestic
Ranked #118 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
San Diego, California
1 review
“loved the hotel, customer service needs HELP”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

I Loved the old style of the hotel and the junior suite was a great room, wonderful view! We liked it so much we asked to stay another night with the man working the front desk that evening when we arrived back at the hotel Thursday night at about 11pm. When we asked he told us we could extend for the same price and just to call down anytime before noon the next day to let them know. We woke up and were excited to stay another night at the Majestic. I called down at about 9am the next morning to confirm that we wanted to stay a second night. It was a different man working now and he told me we could stay but for a higher rate. When I told him about the gentleman the night before telling me we could stay for the same price he said he did not know who it was working and and it did not matter!... He told me I should have done it then.... What kind of service is that??.... I was told I had til NOON the next day. I have worked many years in customer service and this was unprofessional, Instead of arguing with me about the rate which was I was told prior, it should have been honored. Unfortunatley this expirence left a bad taste in my mouth, when I truly did enjoy the hotel itself. Not a big deal but something to mention, I was charged $13 room service gratuity without being told, so we had tipped cash on top of that. When I asked about the charge when seeing it on my bill, the "manager" who was checking us out literally smirked at the other employee. Not worth fighting with these guys on your vacation. Loved the hotel but customer service is huge in my eyes and it was very disappointing.

Room Tip: really enjoyed the 5th floor view from the junior suite, great room location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ciarabrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Sir, I apologize for the below average customer service you received. I am however pleased you enjoyed your stay never the less. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    233
    93
    49
    57
See reviews for
71
275
42
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walpole, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Second time we stay at this hotel. Food is very good - either eat in very nice dining room or at bar. Staff are friendly. All necessities no frills, including price. Easy access to all public transport and other restaurants, Japan town. Feels comfortable. Under-rated - seems to be frequented by many locals who appreciate atmosphere, cuisine and friendly barman, Dave. Much better than big named hotels downtown. Decore could still be updated even more.

Room Tip: Hey, this is not the Intercontinental, but nor is the price. Open windows on corner Sutter and Goug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyWren6398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your sincere comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

This is a return review of a hotel that I stay in regularly. The Majestic is in Japan Town, near the the Fillmore district and Pacific Heights, all great neighborhoods well worth exploring, especially if you have already experienced the Union Square scene. The place is family-owned and they are there running the show. Their employees stay the same year-in year out, so they must be well treated. The rooms are fundamentally unchanged since the last remodel which was over 20 years ago, and even then they did not redo the double-sash windows or the clawfoot tubs. The rooms have good firm mattresses, quality linens, classy victorian draperies, and old furniture verging on the antique (or perhaps the opposite). I love it, because the old SF decor charms me, it is such a good deal, the staff are so nice, the restaurant is beautiful with decent food, including room-service, and I can live without a gym, air-conditioning (this is San Francisco, air-conditioned by God), and I would rather have windows that open wide. Here are the important things to know :
1) the rooms facing to the rear are cheap, but tiny and dark. The beds are still great, and these are a good deal for young people on a budget.
2) The corner rooms facing Gough st (103, 203, 303, 403, 503,) have a lot of traffic noise, even late at night. They are big and bright, but not conducive to a good night. I recommend getting rooms on the top floors in the 5,s and 6's (305, 206 and so forth)
3) the suites are incredible deals, and don,t hesitate to get one if you have some extra change. For less than the price of a discount room in February at the Sheraton Palace you can feel like an Virginia City silver baron.
4) The staff have always been gracious; in the old days, before I knew my favorite rooms, I would look at two or three and even more before making a final choice. Of course the judicious use of a ten-dollar bill is not unhelpful, and with experience and maturity I now tip everyone well, but they were nice to me before in my hungry days when I was a real tightwad.
5) On warm days you have to open the windows, and in a heat wave I would get a room at Union Square with AC. The windows are low, and I would not stay here with young children.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mediaeval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your detailing of our room types and room map. This will be very helpful to future guests! Thanks again for the fantastic review Merci Beacoup!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

This is an old building/hotel. If you remember that going in you won't be shocked or surprised by the state it's in when you go. It's easy to get cheap rates compared to others in the area, it's close to various public transportation options and a good walking distance to other cool attractions (at least a one way walk) and again it's usually going to be a cheaper option. It may not feel clean but that's more the age than anything else. It was quiet when we were there. The staff was nice and helpful at correcting a few mistakes with our bill/reservation. We only stayed one night but this hotel served it's purpose and I thought had some neat old building charm

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your honesty and staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Get agreed upon price in writing before signing anything. Room was nice but could use a good cleaning. Shower curtain was gross and what made it worst is that it touched you because of the tub type. Not really close to anything but walkable.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Howard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Owner at Hotel Majestic, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Google Translation
Dear guest, I apologize for your poor experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Kentucky
Level Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

The ambiance is great in this old hotel. There are cool murals in the elevator, great light fixtures, claw footed tub, glazed tile, marble entry, etc. Japantown is a wonderful neighborhood with shops and museums. It's a few blocks from Filmore with vintage shops and trendy restaurants and a few blocks from Van Ness which has great bars. There are a couple of shops nearby and we felt perfectly safe in this area. There were a couple of issues with this place though, first and foremost, they need to invest in a/c as the window unit didn't really work. We stayed in November and I woke up sweating every night. Also, there is zero water pressure in the shower. The toiletries were not replaced once in a 4 night stay. All things taken into account, including the fact that this was by far the cheapest hotel we could find, other that Travelodges and the like, I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catch242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Owner at Hotel Majestic, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Just on the right side of "charming and antique" rather than "in need of renovation" - but may need an overhaul soon! Staff were pleasant and helpful (held our bags prior to checking while we dropped a rental car off, and held them after checkout before we had to head back up). Breakfast wasn't included and was quite expensive (although tasty, as long as you like garlic!). That said, in a very decent part of town with really good transport links all over the city, and very comfortable rooms. A very characterful place.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Owner at Hotel Majestic, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your remarks and thank you for dining with us. On my top to do list I've got public area carpet renovations, which we will be starting next month (the interior was remodeled 18 months ago)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Queen Anne Hotel
#82 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,260 reviews
Japantown
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Kimpton Buchanan
#40 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
The Opal San Francisco
#99 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#77 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic

Property: Hotel Majestic
Address: 1500 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94109-5307
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Majestic 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Majestic known for its enchanting romantic décor is a popular choice among visitors traveling to San Francisco. This classic European-inspired boutique hotel is just a short ten blocks away from the Union Square shops and restaurants of Downtown. Located in the Pacific Heights neighborhood, our quiet surroundings offer a conveniently located romantic escape from the many noises of Downtown San Francisco. It survived the Great Earthquake of 1906 and is rich with history, Edwardian architecture, and even ghost stories. At this boutique hotel in San Francisco, travel back in time, to the turn of the century! With royal bedding draped over the four-poster beds, plush carpeting, soft seating, accent furnishings, and beautiful artwork we aspire to provide only the best for our guests! Our bathrooms are just as unique as our guest rooms! Magenta marbled wash basins, brass faucets, extra large mirrors, antique decorative lighting, textured wall coverings, and of course claw-foot tubs with full-length goose neck showers to preserve the glamour of the Majestic. Recently renovated with modern comforts, all our guestrooms are equipped with flat screen televisions with premium channels, complimentary Wi-Fi, elevated pillow top beds with soft duvet covers and cool pillows, a snack basket and honor bar for purchase, hairdryer, electronic safe, iron and ironing boards, bath robes are just the standard amenities that come in each guest room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel San Francisco
Majestic San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing