We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dangerous for older adults”
Review of Hotel Majestic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Majestic
Ranked #123 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My parents, who are in their 80's but NOT disabled, decided to make a spur of the moment trip to SF and only the Majestic Hotel had rooms available in the neighborhood they wanted. I now know why. The hotel is really old, has a very slow elevator, and the rooms are furnished in an Edwardian style, since it's a historic hotel. While the hotel is clean, it is shabby and not at all well-suited to anyone who is concerned about falling. There are only 2 "disabled units" and all of the other units have large claw-foot tubs with no handrails. When my parents got to their room, there was not even a rubber suction mat on the bottom of the tub or any decals for traction. Maintenance did add the decals for my parents but they were too afraid to take a shower in the bathroom because there were no handholds for support. For their 5 day stay, they had to sponge-bathe. The beds were also so high that my parents had difficulty getting into them and my dad almost fell getting out. I informed the manager when my parents were checking out of the danger the bathroom posed to those who must be cautious in their mobility and he thanked me for my input. But until the bathrooms are remodeled to make them safer, I do not recommend this hotel, since even young people can slip in the bathroom. The astronaut John Glenn did.

Room Tip: If you are afraid of slipping in the bathroom, ask for the disability rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SRochelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

We apologize for you and your parent's inconvenience, We did not purposely try to harm them, we know how much care they need. We are re-modeling our hotel to make the rooms safer. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 645 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

I booked a 5 night stay, checking in on July 22dn

When me and my wife arrived they gave us 3 rooms, all of the were dusty and smelled bad, the argument the front desk used was "this is a 120 year old hotel" not only that only one room had aircon and it didn't work properly

The lady at the front desk was rude, only the bellboy was very helpful

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luisjoset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

We are sorry that you felt this way, but we try to be helpful as we can. That should not be a valid argument. We check the rooms all the time to make sure they are ready for our guests to stay in for the time they are in San Francisco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We "Named our Price" on Priceline and got stuck with Hotel Majestic. The hotel is old, not renovated, stuffy and uncomfortable. In addition, the floor in our room was far from being level; the building must have sank. I would not recommend this place to anyone. I really didn't see the "boutique" aspect others did.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

We apologize that you did not feel that you were in a boutique hotel. We are renovating the hotel, but our hotel is certainly Edwardian and old-fashion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Majestic for 1 week in June/July. As a previous reviewer mentioned, we wish that we had stayed elsewhere. The hotel was within walking distance of downtown, 1/2 to 3/4hr walk to ferry terminal. We just felt a bit uneasy walking back to hotel in the evening, not the best of areas. Nice that it was only about 4 blocks further to Japan town, nice restaurants. Did not eat in Majestic restaurant though it looked very nice, but always empty. Hotel bar was very overpriced. I ordered a Mojito that was made from a mix and had not one piece of fresh mint in it all for the inflated price of $12 before tax! No wonder they had not bar menu, so they could catch you unaware! We had two different rooms during our stay. The first was at the end of a corridor on the 5th floor. The window in the hall was always open onto a fire escape that then connected to our window. So we were never able to leave our window open, would have been the same as leaving our door open. When we asked to change the front desk told us there were no air conditioned rooms and all rooms had fire escapes outside the window. I confirmed that with him several times. We then walked outside and looked up at building and saw he was lying. When we asked for information about buses etc, they were not helpful. They were the most unresponsive, unhelpful staff that we have ever come across. There was never a greeting as we entered or exited each day even when we spoke to them. To make matters worse, on our 3rd day, our toilet overflowed. I turned off the main water, soaked up water from the bathroom floor & room carpet. We went downstairs and informed the front staff. The two staff members looked at each other, never said one word to us. We informed them that toilet needed fixing, towels needed replacing, floor needed washing due to grey water, or they could move us to another room . Still nothing. Not one word!!!! So we said we were going to dinner and would be back in 2-3 hrs. When we got back, NOT A THING had been touched, so we went down to front desk and demanded to know why nothing had been done. The staff member then offered to give us a new room, no apology. Upon checking out the new room down the hall, we found it had an air conditioner and no fire escape out the window. Good thing as the window did not lock. I am not sure if this hotel is family owned or if staff are all related, but they definitely need a course on how to treat paying customers. Even when we checked out they never once asked how our stay was, apologise for the toilet issue (wonder if they ever got around to fixing it). Would we ever stay here again, NEVER and we have travelled all around the world and this was one of our worst experiences. Though I have to say the cleaning staff did an excellent job. The rooms were very clean and nicely period decorated. Floors a bit sloped but what do you expect from a hotel that survived the 1906 earthquake.

Room Tip: Make sure you insist on air conditioned room, very stuffy otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Winston67899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2014

We apologize for the inconvenience but i am sure that our staff could not be that unfriendly. We always treat our guests with respect and make sure their living environments are proper and clean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Hotel Majestic (on Cathedral Hill) for three days in one of its suites and it was lovely. Old style hotel with plenty of room. Wait staff and reservations very nice. Clean place that made you feel like you stepped back in time. Unfortunately, at the end of our stay we reserved airport transportation and the hotel clerk asked for too much deposit money and we never received a chargeback for the oversight. Several phone calls to the hotel and an email did not rouse them to answer us. A poor ending to an otherwise pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Choose a suite - it's bigger and roomier with two TVs - one in the bedroom area and one in the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZanneHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for the inconvenience with the deposit money but that is the way the outside service airport shuttle works. I'll make sure to have them e-mail you as soon as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very clean, had nice rooms with comfortable beds, and was located close to several good restaurants. As part of Japan town, there were not as many homeless as surrounding areas. It is a solid walk to the Bart or embarcadero but there are many bus connections.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2014

Thank you for staying with us. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Rooms are cery over priced, location is good but for the price I wish I had stayed elsewhere! The hotel might be historic but the rooms are not! They are old.....holes in the walls, holes in the chairs, wardrobe broken and hole in the back. Not what we expected!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mm2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2014

Sorry for the inconveniences and that you felt this way. We make sure that our rooms and furniture are always spotless. You should have informed our front desk to switch you and the people you traveled with into a different room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Queen Anne Hotel
#83 of 231 in San Francisco
667 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#174 of 231 in San Francisco
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vertigo
#74 of 231 in San Francisco
1,446 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#130 of 231 in San Francisco
1,074 reviews
Music City Hotel
#116 of 231 in San Francisco
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic

Address: 1500 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94109-5307
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £110 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Majestic 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Majestic known for its enchanting romantic décor is a popular choice among visitors traveling to San Francisco. This classic European-inspired boutique hotel is just a short ten blocks away from the Union Square shops and restaurants of Downtown. Located in the Pacific Heights neighborhood, our quiet surroundings offer a conveniently located romantic escape from the many noises of Downtown San Francisco. It survived the Great Earthquake of 1906 and is rich with history, Edwardian architecture, and even ghost stories. At this boutique hotel in San Francisco, travel back in time, to the turn of the century! With royal bedding draped over the four-poster beds, plush carpeting, soft seating, accent furnishings, and beautiful artwork we aspire to provide only the best for our guests! Our bathrooms are just as unique as our guest rooms! Magenta marbled wash basins, brass faucets, extra large mirrors, antique decorative lighting, textured wall coverings, and of course claw-foot tubs with full-length goose neck showers to preserve the glamour of the Majestic. Recently renovated with modern comforts, all our guestrooms are equipped with flat screen televisions with premium channels, complimentary Wi-Fi, elevated pillow top beds with soft duvet covers and cool pillows, a snack basket and honor bar for purchase, hairdryer, electronic safe, iron and ironing boards, bath robes are just the standard amenities that come in each guest room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel San Francisco
Majestic San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing