We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
Ranked #66 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Quality Property”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Have stayed here several times during different times of the year. Always very good service, clean rooms, nice upgrades. The concierge lounge is well stocked and comfortable. The lobby is spacious with Starbucks onsite. The fitness center is adequate but, the pool & spa really need some updating. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donatella-Bingbong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    668
    223
    85
    45
See reviews for
317
534
76
539
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

While there are many hotels to choose from the Union Square area...and more than 1 Marriott Property, I always choose the JW. Not only is it a beautiful property with a great location to everything, the rooms are larger and the views are terrific. Being a Platinum Member, I was upgraded to a corner junior suite with an AWESOME view of the city. The staff is always courteous and polite...from the valet team to the front desk to the housekeeping staff...everyone is polite, smiling and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExitRowAisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Close to Union Square and a beautiful property. Very clean, a particularity is that the lobby is on the first floor where they also have a bar and a restaurant.
Quality of service is excellent and the place is truly really clean as are the rooms and the bathrooms. My only complaint was the view which was the top of a few building but then you sort of get what you pay for and I also did not request a room change.
As always in my experience with Marriott, they were extremely professional in their treatment of guests.

Room Tip: request a room with a view which I did not do
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The subject line says it all. Apart from the expense (I was visiting during a popular conference when every hotel in SFO including JWM chooses to milk its victims), I would have nothing to complain about. Oh well, I expected a swimming pool in a 5-star hotel. The staff is extremely courteous and warm. Quite competent in helping me out with the city and the facilities. The food in the hotel is limited in choice but good in quality. Lobby is spacious and comfortable. Beds are good!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BhutJolokia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I took my Girl Scout Troop to San Francisco for their bridging event. The Marriott was a great hotel and the girls loved it! They thought the hotel was fancy and enjoyed the indoor pool. The hotel is walking distance to many shops and restaurants which was a plus. It is also very close to public transportation which was very easy and safe to take. I highly recommend this hotel to my family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BBDoll619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We are here on a honeymoon and this hotel has been comfortable and quiet. The rooms are spacious and clean. The concierge lounge offers a good breakfast with a lot of variety. The location is close to a lot of excellent restaurants and the trolly. The staff is friendly and very helpful. My only complaint is the bathroom has lousy water pressure.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a Junior suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenna6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel a step down from Ritz Carlton properties. Good check in and cleaning staff. Bellman and valets were always chatting among themselves and less attentive to the guests. Clean, tasty food for room service but quite pricey (as you would expect in a big city).

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank KLIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,493 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#30 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,741 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#36 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Property: JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
Address: 515 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1226 (Formerly Pan Pacific Hotel)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Francisco Union Square Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Jw Marriott
Marriott San Francisco
San Francisco Marriott
Pan Pacific Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing