We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
Ranked #65 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Langley City, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel, and location”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Hotel was very nice, staff very helpful. Gold level lounge isn't up to par with other hotels we've stayed at, but good.
Came back to our hotel one night to find other peoples luggage in our room which was kind of disturbing, as we didn't know if the people had been in our room our it was fault of staff. Turns out it was the latter, which they admitted, but still shouldn't have happened.
They are great about late check outs, and concierge was super helpful.
Some great restaurants within walking distance and not far to the heart of union square and other areas.

Room Tip: All the rooms in this hotel are perimeter rooms, meaning there are none in the middle. The whole mid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artsyshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    747
    683
    227
    85
    45
See reviews for
322
543
77
545
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights while attending a conference at the convention center. Its in a fun, safe neighborhood thats easy to walk to most neighborhoods. And one of the best concierge lounges Ive ever visited. Its a busy, well lit hotel with a great atrium. The convention center is maybe a ten minute walk, china town is close by as is the trolly which is so fun that I took it 3X because it was so fun.

Room Tip: I had a hgh floor corner which was great. The showers are very small but fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancylovestraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This trip was a combined business and leisure trip. From the time I got to the front door of this hotel to the time I checked out, I have experienced nothing but great service from ALL of the staff that I've encountered. From the doormen, to the front desk staff, to the room service personnel, I have gotten a lot of courtesy and friendliness. I've always had a great experience in all of the hotels I've stayed at in San Francisco but I can say without a doubt that JW Marriott in Union Square is one of the best I've stayed at.

The room I had was just amazing! It had a lot of amenities, especially in the bathroom. Speaking of which, I love the design and layout of the bathroom (I've always liked the concept of the shower separate from the bathtub). The bed was a California King and had more than enough - and may I add very comfortable - pillows than I needed. Suffice it to say that I've slept well on the five nights that I've stayed here. I always like having ample desk space for my laptop, paperwork and other devices while I work, and this hotel did not disappoint. There was an abundance of restaurants and retail stores nearby (Macy's is just one block away). My favorite coffeehouse, Starbucks, had a store just about 1 1/2 blocks away from the hotel. The only (albeit minor) downside I noticed was the hotel didn't have discounted parking for guests.

Would I stay again at this hotel? You bet! I have a few hotel reward memberships, including Marriott Hotel Rewards, but I may just focus my future hotel stays within the Marriott chain!

Room Tip: The hotel is situated in the middle of other buildings, so I'm not sure there would be any amazi...
See more room tips
Green Features: There are signs in the bathroom asking guests to help the hotel be more environmental friendly by re-using towels if they want. I really like that it was encouraged but not enforced.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGal9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The constant positive greetings at the front door, helpful check-in and out staff, extremely helpful concierge, and clean well appointed room made this one of the best San Francisco stays ever. The location for almost everything you'd want to see and do could not be better. I would recommend this hotel for anyone that wanted a great value and good time in San Francisco.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 668burtonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Really enjoyed the property.Easy walk to union square,close to shopping,restaurants etc.Check in was flawless,room was decent and comfortable.The lounge on 21st floor has a nice view and is great place for a quiet pre dinner drink and appetizers.

Room Tip: Lounge is on 21..we were on 20 so it was an easy walk up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Pleasant, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

If you are a shopper this is the place to be, if not, public transportation is also right there. You can't go wrong there. However, the staff was really just okay, not overly friendly or helpful, I would even say occasionally snippy in the concierge lounge. Also, when we were leaving after our week's stay, the doorman/bellhop tried to steer us to a more expensive private car (not even a nice Towncar, just privately owned) rather than a taxi for our trip back to the airport. That's something I have NEVER seen at a Marriott and would suspect it is something they could get fired for.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights and were really impressed with the location. The hotel sits just a few steps from Union Square and some of the best shopping San Francisco has to offer. We stayed over the weekend and found that the prices are extremely reasonable relative to the other hotels in the area. If you have stayed at JW before you will find that all of the amenities are inline with what you would expect for this chain. As part of that, you will find that the breakfast and the evening snack/desserts are comparable to what you will find at a $25-$30 per head meal in the neighborhood.

When searching for a upscale hotel at a reasonable price, the JW is a great option.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 229 in San Francisco
4,621 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#27 of 229 in San Francisco
5,132 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#6 of 229 in San Francisco
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Property: JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
Address: 515 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1226 (Formerly Pan Pacific Hotel)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Francisco Union Square Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Jw Marriott
Marriott San Francisco
San Francisco Marriott
Pan Pacific Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing