We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and lounge!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
Ranked #66 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
409 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Great location and lounge!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Yes, it can be noisy at night with street sounds filtering up even to the 16th floor. The beds are quite comfortable. There was a separate tub and shower with a generously sized bathroom. Coffee service was in the room (something we are no longer finding and greatly appreciated). Our highlight was sitting in the lounge area with a glass of wine enjoyed listening to Sony Holland sing with her husband on the guitar. We chose not to go out to eat Friday night and just have a relaxing time listening to them. The staff is helpful. We asked some recommendations and they went out of their way to help and suggest things. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeriLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    668
    223
    84
    45
See reviews for
317
533
76
538
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Well-located near union Square, it is an imposing building. We had a junior suite, corner room with views extending out to the Bay. check-in and welcome was excellent. They have truly hospitable staff. I am allergic to feathers and they graciously "de-feathered" my room, which made it a much better stay for me. Once the feather pillow-top was removed, the bed proved very comfortable. Concierge service was exceptional - - professional and thorough. The hotel is, however, in need of upgrading. Furniture had wood peeling off it. Bathroom is outdated. Windows, as others have noted, are very thin and even on high floors, all the street noise comes through. Would give it a 3.5 if it were possible, on account of the excellent staff, but for a hotel of this calibre, it is not 5 star.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peachesmesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alex9297, Director of Hotel Operations at JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear PeachesMesley,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding our hotel. We appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We will share your message appropriately within the leadership team.

Sincerely,
NASSER MOBARAK
Direct of Hotel Operations
JW Marriott San Francisco
nasser.mobarak@marriott.com
4159292088
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I've been a Marriott Gold Loyalty member for years now, so when my fiancée told me I should book with a different brand because it would be nicer & cheaper I politely considered and then convinced him that he must be wrong....but sometimes he's right. At over $500/night, I was extremely disappointed for what it was, which was in essence, Lipstick on a pig.

Upon entering the room there was a dirty lollipop stick on the carpet, right next to the trash can. I know these things happen, but at the JW at a ridiculous nightly rate, I expect better. The room itself is dated, but with touches that try to cover it up. The bathroom sink area for instance had been updated with granite counter tops but the cabinets below were dilapidated, had kinks in them and the paint looked ancient...again, not a big deal but a "little lipstick on a pig" for what I expect from a JW.

The saving grace is that the Concierge Lounge is open every day, and the people are super nice. This hotel also has a great location with easy walking to BART if you don't want to pay a grip for parking. I would stay here again if the price was at least half of what I paid this time and even then, I think that's more out of brand loyalty than the hotel itself.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank robinl887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alex9297, Director of Hotel Operations at JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Robin L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about our hotel. We appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We will share your message appropriately with the leadership team.

Sincerely,
NASSER MOBARAK
Direct of Hotel Operations
JW Marriott San Francisco
nasser.mobarak@marriott.com
4159292088
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Laurel, nj
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The JW in San Fran was ok. But that is the problem. It was just OK and from a JW I expect much better than OK. Although there were door men, no one ever held the door. I would say 75% of the time we had to open it ourselves. The SHOWER was so tiny I could not even turn around in it, and the water dribbled out. There was no water pressure. The room also was small. I know it is a city, but again for JW i expect more than a lower level hotel. The concierge level breakfast however was good. Variety of foods, kept well stocked, and the staff at breakfast was very helpful.I am a Marriott gold member so I know my Marriotts and usually prefer JW for their exceptional service. This one was a disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helaina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alex9297, Director of Hotel Operations at JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Helaina S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about our hotel. We appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We will share your message appropriately with the leadership team.

Sincerely,
NASSER MOBARAK
Direct of Hotel Operations
JW Marriott San Francisco
nasser.mobarak@marriott.com
4159292088
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The JW Marriott near Union Square in San Francisco is one of my favorite hotels in SF. I have stayed there several times in the past year for business and appreciate the friendly staff and the nice rooms. The top 3 things that makes this hotel great:
1. Nice rooms with separate shower and bathtub in the bathroom.
2. Good working High speed internet (Free for Marriott rewards elite members)
3. Great location

There is only one improvement as the rooms can be noisy and the single pane windows do not keep much street noise out.
2.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on higher floors in the room number range xx02-10 as these have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jespermc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portales, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Got in from an all night flight which left us wanting come thing to eat and eventually a bed. We arrived around10pm and the lobby was crowded and noisy. It has the open terraces on the inside which concerned us because of the noise, but the room was very nice and amazingly quiet....except for the hoodlums hanging around the nightclub down the street...they were easily heard through the windows. All in all...good place to stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank peterNMdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
121 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Having recently visited the JW in Bangkok and finding the room really comfortable and well equipped for the long haul traveller just off a flight, I imagined that the same would be true across the world. Wrong! The room in San Francisco was noisy, tired and dated and the noise from the street (even 20 floors up) is because the windows have only single glazing. There was no amenity pack or fresh inviting bedding and the concierge lounge when compared to Bangkok was a joke! We took one look at the small space and meagre offerings and headed out into the city to find breakfast. It is very well located and the staff are great, warm, welcoming and very friendly - shame the rooms are so poor. Come on Marriott, surely a big chain like you should offer travellers the reassurance that what you get in one city will be the same worldwide?

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luxuryhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alex9297, Director of Hotel Operations at JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Luxuryhound,

Thank you for taking the time to share your overall experience with our hotel. We value your input and it will be discussed further.

Sincerely,
NASSER MOBARAK
Direct of Hotel Operations
JW Marriott San Francisco
nasser.mobarak@marriott.com
4159292088
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,484 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#29 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,721 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#35 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Property: JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
Address: 515 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1226 (Formerly Pan Pacific Hotel)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Francisco Union Square Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Jw Marriott
Marriott San Francisco
San Francisco Marriott
Pan Pacific Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing