We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh my....the noise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Ranked #73 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Oh my....the noise!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We came to SF on a business trip and stayed a few extra days for fun. I was very disappointed with the hotel. The noise inside and outside this "historic hotel" was never ending! I was hoping for a nice quiet relaxing stay, but this was not the place for that. Added to that, our room was closet-sized and the bathroom a bit archaic. I have to believe there are better places to stay!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Toobz2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for choosing The Westin St. Francis. I am sorry to hear that you were not comfortable in your room but am pleased to let you know that we are quickly approaching the completion of all of our guestrooms in our Tower building. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back so you can experience them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,899
    1,808
    931
    456
    259
See reviews for
1,021
1,586
263
1,601
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,288)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful weekend getaway at the St Francis. Ask for a room in one of the Landmark Towers. They are a great, stately rooms, some overlooking Union Square. If you like historic properties, you get the best of both worlds. Modern amenities, like a great bed, in a glorious setting.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rocky-mtn-way
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for choosing The Westin St. Francis and for your kind comments! We truly are proud of our historic property and get even more excited when our guests enjoy them as well. We look forward to welcoming you back to The St. Francis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Spent 5 days during a convention. It was a good experience & the location is absolutely awesome. The food was OK but again the location & proximity to everything is the key. The hotel architecture is very cool

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for choosing The Westin St. Francis. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

The room was tiny, old and we could literally hear every word spoken by the people around us. People on one side were sick, coughing, and two rooms down was a screamy kid. After a sleepless night, we asked to move rooms.
There are two lines at the front desk: one for top-level Westin club members and another for everyone else. Not being frequent-traveller-at-Westin status yet, it was always long, but twice I stood for a really long time so that *everyone* in the premium lineup was served before *anyone* in the regular lineup was addressed. I understand the concept - loyalty has its privileges - but there was *no* staff member to serve the non-elite members. When I mentioned this, very politely in my understated Canadian manner, both times I was completely dismissed. Insulting... I could go on. Suffice it to say that for my husband's business travel he will be staying elsewhere - it's not that good a location to make up for the experience we had.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fiveft2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for choosing The Westin St. Francis and for your feedback. I regret to hear of the experience you had with us and would like to extend my sincerest apologies, as this is not the typical level of service that we provide here at The St. Francis. Your comments will be routed to the respective department heads to focus on service training. We hope you would give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The moment you step into the foyer you are taken aback by the beautiful marble floors and large chandeliers.

Fantastic staff, fantastic location, fantastic room and amazing beds!!! Loved every minute of our stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for choosing The Westin St. Francis during your stay in San Francisco! I am very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylmar, Ca
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I had booked a room here using my Priceline app because I had perused a steal of a deal on this normally expensive and luxurious hotel. The first room I was placed into by the merciless Tim was on the 6th floor. This room was quaint and snug, but something about this room just didn’t sit right with me. I asked the bellman if I could get another room and he flashed a quick smile and told me with certainty that I could. He instructed all I had to do was press 0 on the phone in my room and he would be called when I was issued a new room. Tim the terrible working the front desk late that evening had other ideas and told me that all the rooms that he had were the same and denied my request to move.
I then went downstairs and inquired again (to his face) for room change and was denied yet again. The reason was as he put it, “there’s always a problem with people using a 3rd party site to book rooms here”.
I’m no genius, and I need a few more seconds than average to fully comprehend when I’ve been had, but I was had. Being had, I proceeded to call Priceline and ask them why did they always give a nice hotel like the St. Francis Westin a hard time? My Priceline representative assured me that they did not harass the Westin in any way shape or form. She then asked me to hold as she also contacted the Westin and then told me that she had noted my inquiry in their records.
The following day I was helped by a brilliant young worker with hands on experience in the long halls on the St. Francis by the name of Kelly. Kelly talked with me about from a wide range of things from the dynamic surroundings of the town informatively to hotel information. Her composure was reassuring and commanded an air of professionalism that would make any company providing upper echelon service proud.
I next acquired a room on the corner of the 22nd floor and simply had the breath kidnapped from my lungs. It is a view that truly sets the eyes aflame. The floor is newly remodeled and has that freshly constructed aroma new construction leaves without the construction worker smells. The bed was a king sized behemoth and the bathroom is a hallway away which made the person I was sharing the room with very happy because the rooms on the 6th floor provided a much more intimate sharing of space.
Only complaints are that you have to pay for wifi and parking. I mean in this day and age free wifi should be a mandatory item. The extra surcharge for wifi and fifty bucks a day for parking is silly in my opinion, and sort of a classless considering the price per room. If you can charge what someone making minimum wage earns in a week per night for a room, you should be able to fork over some information access and some real estate for parking. But that’s the only snooty thing in my opinion. Everything else was simply perfect and I completely recommend staying here. If you’ve got dough to incinerate this place will give you plenty of grill space.

Room Tip: Lower floors have dismal views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for choosing The Westin St. Francis. It's always great when you are able to snag those great deals on third party websites! However, it can be slightly tricky as room type availability may not always be available. I am sorry to hear that is what seemed to be the case the night you checked in. Thankfully, I am pleased to hear your room preference was resolved with the help of Kelly! We hope you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The hotel is located in the middle of the city close to great restaurants, shops and city life. Check-in was very slow because there were three agents checking in 12 guests while two agents were assigned to the four Starwood Preferred Elite Guests. I was assigned a room in the historic tower that was renovated but small and noisy being next to the elevator. I liked the exercise clothes I was able to rent for $5.00. If you sign-up for the SPG program you will get internet free for your first stay. The internet speed was okay for quick browsing but not worth the money.

The food was excellent but very expensive! The Clock bar was a nice place to gather after attending the Fancy Food Show. If you are looking for a quick bit to eat, the lobby Bistro was excellent but closes very early in the evening. Housekeeping was great except they never replaced my toiletries during my four-day stay. Overall, I liked the hotel and would stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 966travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for choosing The Westin St. Francis. I am sorry to hear that your check in process could have been a little smoother, but am pleased to know that you enjoyed most other parts of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you find yourself in San Francisco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,484 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#91 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,108 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Property: The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Address: 335 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102-1804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a hotel, The Westin St. Francis is a destination where you can unwind and be pampered by attentive, world-class service. As the only hotel located on Union Square, we are celebrated for our historic Magneta Grandfather Clock, a popular gathering place for generations of travelers, as well as our commitment to guest renewal and relaxation. Explore this legendary landmark, which has drawn locals and visitors for more than a century with our distinguished service and through the timeless refrain "Meet me under the clock!" Inside our warm and welcoming San Francisco luxury hotel, marble columns, ornate balconies, and intricate woodwork transport guests back to the elegance of yesteryear. Yet these magnificent appointments are balanced by modern, groundbreaking amenities including the revolutionary Heavenly Bed, our Starwood Preferred Guest rewards program, and employees dedicated to making you feel at home. Book one of our downtown San Francisco hotel rooms and discover the allure of the city's most charismatic and vital setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin St. Francis Hotel San Francisco
Westin St Francis
Westin San Francisco
Westin Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing