We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy and Elegant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Ranked #71 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Northern California
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Easy and Elegant”
Reviewed 23 September 2008

My sister and I had a two night get-away and we couldn't have been more pleased with this hotel. We were able to use 'points' and were even upgraded to a room on the 27th floor overlooking the city and the Golden Gate Bridge.

The rooms were a decent size and it was really quiet. You can't beat it for location. There is nothing negative I have to say about it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank seeksocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,946
    1,858
    954
    460
    260
See reviews for
1,052
1,626
270
1,631
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,317)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2008

Friendly check in which was quick and easy. All staff we met were very helpful.

Our Room was on the 20th floor and a decent size. It was in the newer Tower Wing. As with all Westin hotels rooms it had very comfortable beds. Bathrooms are in marble and were maybe the nicest part of the room. The room was cleaned extremely well.

Only real fault was a reading light that was completely broken and although we mentioned it to the cleaning lady after 5 nights it still was broken and looked likely to fall at any moment.

The floor was a Starwood Preferred Floor but not sure what was different. You still have to pay $10 a day for Internet!

Have stayed at the Hyatt on Union Square and I found this hotel quieter. The view was decent though just a few floors higher it would have been much nicer.

The corridors could definitely do with redecorating and look from a different decade. Seems a shame as the rooms themselves seem more up to date.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank luischable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanFranciscoMary, Director of Elite Guest Experience at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 23 September 2008
We are very pleased that this guest found the Westin St Francis rooms to be beautiful, quiet and restful. Our corridors have just received a beautiful renewal in our Historic Building. We have updated them with new carpet, new furniture, warm lighting and new wallpaper. Our Tower Building will recive a refesh in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2008

Stayed in San Francisco for a couple of nights and chose St Francis for the location which is the main attraction. Apart from a very comfortable bed, the room was average. Bathroom well below 5 star standard and bring your own toiletries as the hotel offering was mediocre.

Breakfast was good, very fresh cooked options, great coffee.

Staff were average. Concierge not much help " sorry we can't book Alcatraz for you........." no further offer of help.

Next time I go, I will try somewhere else.

  • Liked — beds / breakfasts
  • Disliked — room / bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sbarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanFranciscoMary, Director of Elite Guest Experience at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 23 September 2008
We have been making wonderful and renewing upgrades and our guests have told us they are very pleased. Our concierge team has received many positive comments from our very gratefu guests, who tell us that the concierge team made their visit special. The Alcatraz Tour company asks that guests make their reservations directly with them. They have had problems with people trying to buy tickets and re-sell them, so they have made it their procedure to have the guest buy the ticket from them directly. Our concierge team helps our guests with the Alcatraz Tour schedule, website and phone number and our guests hav ebeen very happy about this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2008

We got married in San Francisco in July 2008, and the Westin St. Francis played a huge role in making our trip so wonderful! We had a corner room in the historic part of the hotel, and it was absolutely beautiful! It overlooked Union Square, which, while sometimes noisy (because you can actually open the windows) was perfect. On our first night, someone played the cello as we were falling asleep. Then sometime around 4am I had to close the window because A) it is San Francisco and it had cooled off considerably, and B) the garbage trucks were moving. The hotel was under minor renovation, but it wasn't loud or inconvenient (in fact, the guys doing the work were incredibly nice). I ordered my bouquet from the onsite florist (and I could have bought a slinky little honeymoon number from the Victoria's Secret also located in the building), and it was gorgeous. We bought souvenirs at the gift shop (which is nicer than many in the city). The history of the building alone makes it worth a visit, but having stayed in some very nice hotels in both the US and in Europe, I have to say that the St. Francis is definitely near the very top of my list. Room service was excellent; several friends sent champagne and strawberries to us, which were presented beautifully. The "heavenly bed" really was, and the bathroom was spacious with beautiful tile. Intricate crown moulding and beautiful glass door knobs were very nice touches. The closet was larger than the one in my home! I'll never stay anywhere else in San Francisco...I couldn't recommend the St. Francis more enthusiastically!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LG321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illinois
Level 6 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2008

My wife and I were there August 27 for an attorney conference. The room was not ready at one pm so we went out the front door and used our 3 day transit pass to hop on the cablecar down to the Wharf for lunch. When we returned the room (at a special conference rate) was still not ready and the front desk was very busy. Yet the receptionist found us a half studio way up the tower at the same rate. We took the glass elevator up and stepped into a room with windows on 2 sides overlooking the City (though no Westin bed). We flew back down and said yes we love it. When I thanked the manager at the desk area she was glad we were happy and sent us a wine basket to welcome us. So for a big busy conference hotel we were much impressed.

  • Liked — Service and location
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gregIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthews, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2008

As a business traveler, the St. Francis is in a perfect location right in the heart of downtown San Francisco. The front desk staff was very helpful to me on this particular trip, as I had left an item in my room upon check-out, returned five minutes later, and they quickly helped me retrieve the item. I love the size of the rooms, along with the big-screen television (HD for more channels would certainly be a plus). For a high rise hotel, I very rarely had to wait more than 15-30 seconds for an elevator - and the hotel was nearly at capacity.

Only a couple things prevent this hotel from being five stars in my book - first, the closet doors in my room had obvious nicks in them that almost seemed calling out to be fixed. Also, the toilet fixtures don't seem to match the luxury image of the hotel. On the plus side, the Heavenly Bed is great, along with the views from the high-story rooms.

Whenever I'm in San Francisco, I would stay here, especially since the price is typically the lowest of the Starwood properties in downtown San Francisco.

  • Liked — Location and room size
  • Disliked — Very busy hotel - you may have to put up with crowds
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2008

I recently stayed at the Westin St. Francis for six nights using my Starwood points. The location of this hotel is great--easy walk to Nob Hill, Chinatown and of course Union Square. I was very pleased with the room, spacious and very clean and of course, the infamous Westin Heavenly Beds. The only thing that was troubling during the stay were some items were taken from my room. I noticed one thing immediately and reported it, and was reimbursed for the item, but after the cleaning service was in the room, it magically appeared again. On the way home I remember a gift that I had purchased for my daughter was also missing. I contacted the hotel twice and got absolutely no response about this. Luckily the items were not of significant value, but I wonder if anyone else who stayed at this hotel had a similar experience. I am surprised that a hotel of this caliber would not respond to even apologize about this. I am a Starwood Preferred Guest and have never had an experience such as this in one of their hotels.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — customer service
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelbug12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanFranciscoMary, Director of Elite Guest Experience at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 16 September 2008
The Westin St Francis is extremely proud of it's very honest. team of associates. We have an excellent Lost and Found department and woud urge our guests to contact them when inquiring about items that were possibly left in the guestrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,619 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#98 of 229 in San Francisco
3,192 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#68 of 229 in San Francisco
3,917 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Property: The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Address: 335 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102-1804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a hotel, The Westin St. Francis is a destination where you can unwind and be pampered by attentive, world-class service. As the only hotel located on Union Square, we are celebrated for our historic Magneta Grandfather Clock, a popular gathering place for generations of travelers, as well as our commitment to guest renewal and relaxation. Explore this legendary landmark, which has drawn locals and visitors for more than a century with our distinguished service and through the timeless refrain "Meet me under the clock!" Inside our warm and welcoming San Francisco luxury hotel, marble columns, ornate balconies, and intricate woodwork transport guests back to the elegance of yesteryear. Yet these magnificent appointments are balanced by modern, groundbreaking amenities including the revolutionary Heavenly Bed, our Starwood Preferred Guest rewards program, and employees dedicated to making you feel at home. Book one of our downtown San Francisco hotel rooms and discover the allure of the city's most charismatic and vital setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin St. Francis Hotel San Francisco
Westin St Francis
Westin San Francisco
Westin Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing