We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Landmark Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Ranked #74 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
205 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Landmark Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were delighted to stay in this Union Square, grand old San Francisco hotel. We chose to stay in the older part of the hotel for the history. The room was very spacious. The bathroom, on the other hand, was very, very tiny. Yet, the shower had the most powerful shower that I really enjoyed. Since Westin manages this property, it maintains good quality service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ehartlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for choosing The Westin St. Francis during your stay in San Francisco. I am very pleased you enjoyed the classic historical rooms in our Landmark building. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,847
    1,772
    919
    451
    252
See reviews for
984
1,556
262
1,571
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,260)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed in the tower after reading several reviews about the noise in the older portion of the hotel.

This hotel has a great location for exploring San Fran by foot or by trolley. The rooms were okay but certainly better than I expected based on prior reviews.

Biggest gripe is that the hotel was booked to capacity and only had a room with a king bed available. We were a party of four including two adults, one teenager and one infant. We requested a rollaway bed and was told that they were all sold out for the night which was disapponting. My teen slept on chairs (because he is a boy and the idea of sharing a bed with grandma and mom was less than desirable). We were fofered extra blankets (I guess so he could sleep on the floor?)

On the second night we were able to secure a rollaway but that like everything at this hotel comes with a premium up charge. I have never before been charged for a rollaway, particularly in a room that is advertised as sleeping 4. It is not like we were adding an extra person to the room.

Overall I found the service to just be medicore at best. I did not feel particularly welcomed or like anyone went out of their way to do anything to make the stay special. (I guess the extra blankets should count?)

The elevators are super fast in this hotel btw. To the point where one can easily experience motion sickness on the ride, thus if you suffer from motion sickness you may want to opt for a lower floor room (if available of course).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meleetyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for choosing The Westin St. Francis and for your feedback. I sincerely apologize for not being able to accommodate with a more comfortable room type. We hope you choose to return and stay with us again so we can better serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here with my two kids for three days and loved it!
* All of the staff from the staff from the valet to the dining room were very nice and accommodating.
* The room was updated and very clean (am a bit of a clean freak and was definitely satisfied).
* Loved the Heavenly Bed - more comfortable than my own!
* The location cannot be beat - within walking distance to many great shops, restaurants and even the cable car stop. Also easy freeway access.
I really look forward to my next stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldGreenwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for choosing The Westin St. Francis and for taking the time to share you kind comments about your experience with us. I am so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next stay as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

The Westin was the first of 3 hotels we stayed at while in SFO. This hotel was perfect. The check-in process was smooth. We are SPG Gold, and the associate recognized this and thanked us for our Starwood loyalty. The hotel room was clean & elegant. It had a view of the square. Had real charm!

We had the "super foods" breakfast (buffet) at the Oak Room?. It was great. Very quiet though (it was 7am). Sort of pricey but delicious. Service was decent. Hostess was excellent!

They added parking onto our bill ($60/night!!) ... this was in error, as we didn't have a car. The front desk looked into it... then I noticed later it was adjusted.

When you get there, see the concierge. Usually we don't... we just explore. But he was great. Gave us a map that he highlighted areas to visit and the area to avoid.

The trolley car picks up right infront of the hotel... take this over to Fisherman's Warf. $6/ride
The cable car picks up two blocks down from the hotel... this goes from the Warf one way or to the Castro Area (gayborhood) the other. $2/ride
We bought the CITYPASS ... I highly suggest it! It includes their public transit system (trolley, busses, cable cars etc) except the BART (this takes you to the airport).

Getting here from Airport ... use the BART! take it to Powell Street/Union Square. It was $8.65 each way (ish). EASY!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baallen33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your loyalty to Starwood and for being a valued SPG Gold member. It is truly our loyal guests who make Starwood the global brand that it is. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

I usually do not stay at a hotel near Union Square and have not been at the St.Francis since it became part of Westin. It is an interesting mix of old and new. They have managed to keep much of the charm of the old in tact. Room was in the old part and was decent. Staff was generally helpful, especially to my husband who was the trailing spouse for the small meeting I was attending at the hotel. The best surprise was the steak house style restaurant. I was prepared to be disappointed because who eats steak when in San Francisco. Interesting mix of patrons use the place. Regis was there when we were. Lots of business people busy networking in the bar and lobby, and the usual tourists. Would I stay there again? If I wanted to be centrally located in SF, it is convenient to everything whether by foot, cable car, trolley, bus, etc.

Room Tip: First think through if you want to stay in the old or new part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for choosing The Westin St. Francis for your business needs in San Francisco. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us and were pleasantly surprised with our Michael Mina Bourbon Steak Restaurant inside of the St. Francis. It is truly quite a treat! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindenhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

1st time in San Fran. Westin is right in the heart if things. Great service, nice rooms, super restaurants and close to everything.
Every effort was made to accommodate my requests. End room in new section is a good choice.

Green Features: Total California, on top of their environmental game.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for choosing The Westin St. Francis and for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was our first time back in SF in almost 30 years. Way too long! We really wanted to stay in the heart of the city and felt like we hit the jackpot with this hotel. :) I loved the old-world charm and the exciting Union Station atmosphere! The parking is expensive which is expected in most cities. The check-in went great! With the help of Luis ( who was extremely helpful and friendly) we were able to upgrade, for a small cost, to a corner room in the Tower. The view was magnificent!! Thank you so much Luis! :) We will definitely stay in this beautiful hotel again in this extraordinary city.

Room Tip: Corner suite in the Tower had an incredible view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riverrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Welcome back to San Francisco! You've been away for too long! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here at the St. Francis. I am most excited to hear that you found our front desk associate Luis, to be very helpful and friendly. I will be sure to share your kind comments with him as I am sure he will be happy to know. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you return to San Francisco.. please don't wait another 30 years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#36 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,337 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#88 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,052 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#19 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Property: The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Address: 335 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102-1804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a hotel, The Westin St. Francis is a destination where you can unwind and be pampered by attentive, world-class service. As the only hotel located on Union Square, we are celebrated for our historic Magneta Grandfather Clock, a popular gathering place for generations of travelers, as well as our commitment to guest renewal and relaxation. Explore this legendary landmark, which has drawn locals and visitors for more than a century with our distinguished service and through the timeless refrain "Meet me under the clock!" Inside our warm and welcoming San Francisco luxury hotel, marble columns, ornate balconies, and intricate woodwork transport guests back to the elegance of yesteryear. Yet these magnificent appointments are balanced by modern, groundbreaking amenities including the revolutionary Heavenly Bed, our Starwood Preferred Guest rewards program, and employees dedicated to making you feel at home. Book one of our downtown San Francisco hotel rooms and discover the allure of the city's most charismatic and vital setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin St. Francis Hotel San Francisco
Westin St Francis
Westin San Francisco
Westin Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing