We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated hotel, poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Ranked #74 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Dated hotel, poor service”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The only thing this Westin has going for it is it's location on Union Square. I stayed there as a solo guest attending the ADA conference in June 2014. The rooms are old and dated; breakfast is expensive so I didn't eat there and they charge for wifi in the rooms in this day & age!! Most importantly, though, the staff leaves a lot to be desired. My room cleaner discarded a Walgreen's packet which I had kept on my desk since it contained all my credit card slips. I returned 1 night to find that it was gone and telephoned the front desk in a flat panic. I was told that it would be 'investigated' and the person at the front desk called me not even 5 minutes later to tell me that the room cleaner had been contacted and she had taken nothing. At 10pm at night? I doubt that she had been contacted. I then asked the front desk to get the hotel manager to call me. I was told that the manager only came to work at 9 in the morning. Of course I was not contacted at all since I left for my meeting at 7 in the morning. The front desk staff is self-righteous and downright rude. The hotel in general is staff-centric and not guest-centric. This unpleasant incident aside, the hotel is noisy with constant sounds from the street preventing a peaceful sleep. Do yourself a favour; spend your time and money somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeJaySA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
We are disappointed to hear of the lack of service you received and we appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We are located in the heart of the city on Union Square so there is some street noise that can be heard at times. The Tower guestrooms were just renovated and completed in April. If you book a grand view tower guestrooms they are on higher floors further away from the street.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,901
    1,813
    936
    456
    259
See reviews for
1,021
1,593
263
1,604
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,293)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pismo Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at the St Francis for four nights, and in that time we witnessed virtually flawless service provided cheerfully by an army of hard working staff.

It is not an exaggeration to say and every single staff member greeted us warmly served us quickly and competently and took a moment to make sure that there was nothing else that we needed.

The staff, especially the doormen fielded question after question, and were uniformly helpful(Michael S., stationed in front of the hotel was a polite whirlwind as he reassured guests while wrangling cabs.)

The rooms were pleasant,and immaculately kept. the decor was lovely, although I would wish for more storage.

Both restaurants and the bar / lounge are excellent.

All of this combined with the fantastic location in Union Square leads me to say that I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kidsensei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so much for the feedback!. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the location of our hotel on Union Square and that you had such great service while staying with us! We hope you will come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

From our check-in with Jack, who by the way upgraded us, to concierge service with Raymond,
can not say enough about the attention and service we received. The food in both restaurants was excellent also. Location is amazing can hop on trolley right outside hotel. Lori's diner right up street is a fun 50's diner. Many great restaurants within walking distance too. Rooms are spacious and immaculate. We were on the 22nd floor and had a spectacular view of the city and bay. Would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 523DeeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so much for the feedback! We are happy to hear about the great service you received from Jack & Raymond and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladera Ranch, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

My room is apparently in the older part of the hotel and not in the new tower. It is so small you could not possibly have two people in the room at the same time. The bathroom is the size of a port-o-potty and has no counter space. There is no room to even place a hair dryer while using it. In fact they hung the hair dryer on the towel rack because there is no where to store it. Sooooo angry that I am paying $400 per night for this!!!! When you walk into the room, the shade is closed for good reason. Your view is a brick wall. They have the TV in the corner (not facing the bed) b/c it cannot fit in the room. Long story short...don't stay here if you want anything more than a closet for a room.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ktrinka9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for the feedback. The guestrooms in the Landmark Building vary in size due to the age & shape of the building. The rooms were fully renovated in 2009-2010 and we have plans to renovate again in the near future. We just completed a full renovation of the Tower guestrooms in April. These rooms are all more similar in size since the building was added in 1972.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The location is the only good thing we can say about our experience at this hotel. The laid-back check-in staff should have been a warning of what was to come. They didn't offer to have our bags taken to our room which would have been welcome after a 14 hour flight. We were waved in the general direction of the lifts and only figured out how to work them with the help of another guest. Then the room. It was gloomy, very small, only one chair to sit in and very, very stuffy. It did have a view of Union Square but only if you stood up, inched alongside the bed & peered down through the alleyway between the hotel wings. The air conditioning didn't seem to be working (we were there in a heat wave), so asked at reception if it could be checked while we were out. It wasn't. We were given a big fan which was incredibly noisy but did cool things down a little .. all a bit third world rather than five star. The lobby area was very small, very busy and very noisy so there was really nowhere to sit when we wanted to escape the depressing room.
Location perfect though.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for choosing The Westin St. Francis. We appreciate the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were in the older section of this historic hotel. Our room was huge...easily the size two normal rooms. Nicely decorated with attention to preserving the historic detail. High ceilings, crown moldings, great marble bath. Our room look out on Union Squre.

The hotel staff was friendly, very professional and eager to assist in any way. We truly loved our spray at thus very well located hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerianng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed a superb stay with us in the charming Landmark Building! These rooms are unique with the features you mention (crown molding, etc.) and we are glad to hear you experienced our friendly staff as well. We look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is a great hotel, perfect location in Union Square close to everything in the city. Looking right at Union Square. I stayed in the new tower, rooms very spacious, beds totally comfy, and room service was great...we got back to late to leave our door hanger to order but called and they had it ready to go at the time requested! Bell hop's are awesome, taxi line never was too long and you MUST visit Anabelle's restaurant around there. Fresh yummy variety of food. I don't think I'd stay anywhere else when I come back other than this beautiful hotel. Worth every penny!!! Jason behind the desk was great to us, put us in a fabulous spot on floor 21.

Room Tip: Just ask for higher room, they normally will find you something.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kylorsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so much for the feedback! We are glad to hear you had such a great stay and happy to hear that Jason at the Front Desk took great care of you. We look forward to having you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,493 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#92 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,114 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Property: The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Address: 335 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102-1804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a hotel, The Westin St. Francis is a destination where you can unwind and be pampered by attentive, world-class service. As the only hotel located on Union Square, we are celebrated for our historic Magneta Grandfather Clock, a popular gathering place for generations of travelers, as well as our commitment to guest renewal and relaxation. Explore this legendary landmark, which has drawn locals and visitors for more than a century with our distinguished service and through the timeless refrain "Meet me under the clock!" Inside our warm and welcoming San Francisco luxury hotel, marble columns, ornate balconies, and intricate woodwork transport guests back to the elegance of yesteryear. Yet these magnificent appointments are balanced by modern, groundbreaking amenities including the revolutionary Heavenly Bed, our Starwood Preferred Guest rewards program, and employees dedicated to making you feel at home. Book one of our downtown San Francisco hotel rooms and discover the allure of the city's most charismatic and vital setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin St. Francis Hotel San Francisco
Westin St Francis
Westin San Francisco
Westin Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing