We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Renovated rooms are nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Ranked #74 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Renovated rooms are nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

First up, the location is fantastic - close to shopping and trolley bus. I had a recently renovated room on a low floor in the 'newer' building - of a good 4 star standard and good size. Great value as I watched the price drop up to 2 weeks before my stay. Front door staff friendly re taxis and directions. I would stay again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank mphtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the renovated Tower guestroom and our great location on Union Square! We hope you will come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,873
    1,790
    926
    454
    258
See reviews for
1,006
1,575
262
1,584
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,274)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
337 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times. It has a beautiful lobby and amazing history. It is especially nice at holiday time. The rooms are okay to good. The rooms org of show their age but have they westin bed, wifi, etc. the gym is okay, nothing great but has anything you might need. The location is awesome and the hotel has good restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingworkingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for choosing The Westin St. Francis! We are glad to hear you enjoyed our beautiful lobby and amazing history as well as the great restaurants and location. We hope you will come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the location, it's right in front of Union Square and Macy's. I'm not too impressed with the room as it's quiet small, I also can hear busy noise from the street at night. Love the staff! Most of them are very friendly and helpful. For fine dining, I suggest Bourbon Steak, a Michael Mina restaurant, on the ground floor. Oak Room is also nice for breakfast/lunch.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our location as well as your dinner in Bourbon Steak & breakfast in the Oak Room. We hope you will come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

The only thing this Westin has going for it is it's location on Union Square. I stayed there as a solo guest attending the ADA conference in June 2014. The rooms are old and dated; breakfast is expensive so I didn't eat there and they charge for wifi in the rooms in this day & age!! Most importantly, though, the staff leaves a lot to be desired. My room cleaner discarded a Walgreen's packet which I had kept on my desk since it contained all my credit card slips. I returned 1 night to find that it was gone and telephoned the front desk in a flat panic. I was told that it would be 'investigated' and the person at the front desk called me not even 5 minutes later to tell me that the room cleaner had been contacted and she had taken nothing. At 10pm at night? I doubt that she had been contacted. I then asked the front desk to get the hotel manager to call me. I was told that the manager only came to work at 9 in the morning. Of course I was not contacted at all since I left for my meeting at 7 in the morning. The front desk staff is self-righteous and downright rude. The hotel in general is staff-centric and not guest-centric. This unpleasant incident aside, the hotel is noisy with constant sounds from the street preventing a peaceful sleep. Do yourself a favour; spend your time and money somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeJaySA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
We are disappointed to hear of the lack of service you received and we appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We are located in the heart of the city on Union Square so there is some street noise that can be heard at times. The Tower guestrooms were just renovated and completed in April. If you book a grand view tower guestrooms they are on higher floors further away from the street.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pismo Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at the St Francis for four nights, and in that time we witnessed virtually flawless service provided cheerfully by an army of hard working staff.

It is not an exaggeration to say and every single staff member greeted us warmly served us quickly and competently and took a moment to make sure that there was nothing else that we needed.

The staff, especially the doormen fielded question after question, and were uniformly helpful(Michael S., stationed in front of the hotel was a polite whirlwind as he reassured guests while wrangling cabs.)

The rooms were pleasant,and immaculately kept. the decor was lovely, although I would wish for more storage.

Both restaurants and the bar / lounge are excellent.

All of this combined with the fantastic location in Union Square leads me to say that I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kidsensei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so much for the feedback!. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the location of our hotel on Union Square and that you had such great service while staying with us! We hope you will come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

From our check-in with Jack, who by the way upgraded us, to concierge service with Raymond,
can not say enough about the attention and service we received. The food in both restaurants was excellent also. Location is amazing can hop on trolley right outside hotel. Lori's diner right up street is a fun 50's diner. Many great restaurants within walking distance too. Rooms are spacious and immaculate. We were on the 22nd floor and had a spectacular view of the city and bay. Would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 523DeeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so much for the feedback! We are happy to hear about the great service you received from Jack & Raymond and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladera Ranch, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

My room is apparently in the older part of the hotel and not in the new tower. It is so small you could not possibly have two people in the room at the same time. The bathroom is the size of a port-o-potty and has no counter space. There is no room to even place a hair dryer while using it. In fact they hung the hair dryer on the towel rack because there is no where to store it. Sooooo angry that I am paying $400 per night for this!!!! When you walk into the room, the shade is closed for good reason. Your view is a brick wall. They have the TV in the corner (not facing the bed) b/c it cannot fit in the room. Long story short...don't stay here if you want anything more than a closet for a room.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ktrinka9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for the feedback. The guestrooms in the Landmark Building vary in size due to the age & shape of the building. The rooms were fully renovated in 2009-2010 and we have plans to renovate again in the near future. We just completed a full renovation of the Tower guestrooms in April. These rooms are all more similar in size since the building was added in 1972.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,422 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#89 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,079 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Property: The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Address: 335 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102-1804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a hotel, The Westin St. Francis is a destination where you can unwind and be pampered by attentive, world-class service. As the only hotel located on Union Square, we are celebrated for our historic Magneta Grandfather Clock, a popular gathering place for generations of travelers, as well as our commitment to guest renewal and relaxation. Explore this legendary landmark, which has drawn locals and visitors for more than a century with our distinguished service and through the timeless refrain "Meet me under the clock!" Inside our warm and welcoming San Francisco luxury hotel, marble columns, ornate balconies, and intricate woodwork transport guests back to the elegance of yesteryear. Yet these magnificent appointments are balanced by modern, groundbreaking amenities including the revolutionary Heavenly Bed, our Starwood Preferred Guest rewards program, and employees dedicated to making you feel at home. Book one of our downtown San Francisco hotel rooms and discover the allure of the city's most charismatic and vital setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin St. Francis Hotel San Francisco
Westin St Francis
Westin San Francisco
Westin Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing