We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Please update the rooms, not just the TVs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Ranked #75 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
petersam
Level Contributor
115 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Please update the rooms, not just the TVs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

While I have stayed at the Westin St. Francis many times, I keep coming back not for the great rooms or views but the elegant nature of the lobby and facade. But I don't think I'll go again until they renovate their rooms. I stayed in a 2 room suite which was huge, but I was turned off by the dirty and stained furniture and carpets. The new flat screen TVs were nice and the bathrooms were in great condition (if not a little smelly). The bed was super soft if you like that sort of thing, but no foam pillows were in the room. I mention the view not being great because a majority of the rooms are either on Geary St. or overlook the inner area/courtyard. And if you're not on a high floor, bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petersam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,847
    1,772
    920
    451
    252
See reviews for
984
1,558
262
1,570
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,260)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville Ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

We stayed at the St. Francis this past labour day weekend and it was a very positive experience. We booked our room on priceline and were informed our room included a double bed. My wife asked for a king bed and the oblidged, The room was classic with old hotel charm. Very clean however the carpet was a little worn.
This location is very central to everything, walking distance to many areas. The concierge was fantastic giving us great recommendations on how to pack in as much as possible for our short stay.
My only complaints: we missed the return time for our rental car and had to use the valet at $57 and use of the fitness center is $12. Unacceptable.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank polarbear12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

I stay at this hotel for business purposes and I must comment on the great customer service at the front desk. Maria at the front desk always takes care of my needs right away and really understands the meaning of good customer service. She makes my stay at the hotel so relaxing and comfortable. She is one of the main reasons why I stay here week after week.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcuscae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

Great location, great service, beautiful rooms, best place to stay for your money for either business or pleasure

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dba436340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

After a long flight it's disappointing when you can't get into your room - even at 3pm! It's also not good when you've asked for one of the rooms to have two beds (booking well in advance) and they tell you they aren't available.

What is less disappointing is when they make up for this by upgrading you and giving you a view across Union Square to die for. And gave us free passes to the Fitness Centre.

This hotel has an Old World charm - very busy and bustling lobby, wide, wide corridors and big rooms. There's an attractive ease to it. And it has a good location of course.

The boys liked the Fitness Centre.

For breakfast nearby (100yds) there's the famous Sears Fine Foods - brilliant pancakes and fabulous atmosphere - you may have to queue but it's worth it. The cablecars stop just outside so we tended to head to Fisherman's Wharf for dinner.

And outside the door are Macy's Saks, Nieman Marcus etc etc.

this was the first hotel we stayed in on a grand tour of california, Nevada and Utah and was an excellent start!

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BestDreamcatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

Stayed here as a stopover from New Zealand to UK. I stayed with my two teenage daughters so had one room with two double beds. The room was large and comfortable although perhaps starting to see better days, especially the bathroom, but nothing that put us off. We didn't have a view from our window but then we had our curtains drawn most of the time (teenagers!). We were central for excellent shopping being close to all the department stores and a huge mall. The cable car stop was just outside which went direct to Fishermans Wharf for bay trip etc. We didn't eat in the restaurant as it was a bit pricey and not to our more simple taste, but there were loads of other places to eat nearby which we were happy with. The internet is expensive $14 per day and you have to pay for the gym which was $12 per day per person.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank confusedfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

Do dine at the Oak Room. Food and service excellent and the prices are relatively reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morningfog010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#36 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,342 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#90 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,053 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#20 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Property: The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Address: 335 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102-1804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a hotel, The Westin St. Francis is a destination where you can unwind and be pampered by attentive, world-class service. As the only hotel located on Union Square, we are celebrated for our historic Magneta Grandfather Clock, a popular gathering place for generations of travelers, as well as our commitment to guest renewal and relaxation. Explore this legendary landmark, which has drawn locals and visitors for more than a century with our distinguished service and through the timeless refrain "Meet me under the clock!" Inside our warm and welcoming San Francisco luxury hotel, marble columns, ornate balconies, and intricate woodwork transport guests back to the elegance of yesteryear. Yet these magnificent appointments are balanced by modern, groundbreaking amenities including the revolutionary Heavenly Bed, our Starwood Preferred Guest rewards program, and employees dedicated to making you feel at home. Book one of our downtown San Francisco hotel rooms and discover the allure of the city's most charismatic and vital setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Priceline so you can book your The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin St. Francis Hotel San Francisco
Westin St Francis
Westin San Francisco
Westin Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing