We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and Free Parking”
Review of The Wharf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wharf Inn
Ranked #127 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The hotel was near to public transportarion and just one block from Fisherman Wharf's restaurants and stores. The room was small but it was clean and had everything you needed. The staff was friendly and helpful. There was free newspaper and free tasty Colombian coffee, hot chocolate and tea available in the lobby all day long. The best of all is there was free parking, you can't beat that in San Francisco.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Cubanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (846)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

355 - 361 of 846 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

Our 1st time fo San Francisco. Did not want to drive in the city; wanted location from which we could walk to many attractions and to city transportion. We booked the Wharf Inn with some trepidation because it was somewhat pricier than what we usually spend for motel/inn/hotel. Finally bit the bullet and booked the Wharf - and we are really glad we did. Janet at the front desk was extremely helpful in arranging tours and cable transportation; along with directions. Our room was huge and yes, it was on the 2nd floor streetside. If it was noisy, we didn't notice because we slept extremely well. Really enjoyed the fireworks from our balcony. The Inn is an easy walk to many fine restaurants, pier 39, also the alcatraz tour center, Ghiradeli's, Cable cars and other city transportation. As for coffee, we are coffee people. Every morning I would walk down to the lobby and get our coffee (well, many times during the day). THe coffee is outstanding - way better than normally served in the room. The trade off was well worth it. My wife had no problem in getting a hair drier for the length of our visit (6 nights). Tour buses all over the place - big bus double decker right across the street. The Inn exterior looks a little run-down but our room was outstanding. Got a shuttle from the airport - somewhat of a hassle; however, Janet took care of getting us a shuttle back to the airport and it worked like a charm. I didn't drive at all, so I can't comment on the parking. If you are interesting in the wharf area attractions, and taking various tours, and fine restaurants, than I strongly suggest the Wharf Inn as a place to stay.

Room Tip: Depends on your preferences; however, we stayed on the 2nd floor, with a balcony, streetside. Yes it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulSr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

This was my first time here my fiance has been here several times it was beyond more than I could have ever imagined we stayed at the Wharf Inn and yes its not the Hilton But why pay big dollars to stay in a motel that your only going to be in long enough to sleep and shower. Our room was very clean and spacious we had a balcony over looking mason street it was so nice it was a quite room and I will be going back I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is a moderate-priced hotel, at an excellent location. I stayed in this hotel with four other friends . We paid the mini suite that was around $250. For this price, we got two queen beds and a sofa bed. That was the best part, and of course the location. You will be just blocks from Fisherman´s Wharf , Pier 39 or Pier 33 where you have to take the tour to visit Alcatraz.
The room was clean although the service is what you pay for, just fair.
They don´t charge for parking and offer free coffee in the mornings. Right across the street you will have options for breakfast. Also, you can take the BigBus hop on hop off bus in the corner.
A good hotel for those who will stay only for a short time in San Francisco.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksegovia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

You cannot fault the location of this hotel .... Right on Fisherman's Wharf... Ok it is a motel and the rooms could so with some serious paint and decor upgrades (just change the colour from yellow) but they are clean they are big some have private balconies which we had... There is free coffee in the reception and the best bit it's free parking!!!!!

It's pricey fir what is is but car safely parked on location a stone throw from the Harbour .... I will come here again

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Cariad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This motel was 1 block from Fisherman's WArf but quiet enough for a quiet nights sleep. The room we had was on the street side with a small balcony. The elevator was secure because it worked by using our own room card. We were able to see the fly-over of the Blue Angels right from our balcony. Room was clean and freshly made-up with TV and nice bathroom - nothing flashy or glassy but clean and comfortable...good hot water. Great location for visiting pier #39( sea lions) and aquarium as well as many restaurants. Mac Donald's around the corner for a quick,cheap breakfast or snack. Drive-in free parking behind building. Easy to get to Alcatraz by walking to ferry. " Hop on Hop Off Bus" right outside and across the street. Trolley nearby.

Room Tip: ask for up stairs - not too close to elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hillsborough_NJLaLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Great location!! We had wonderful customer service! The rooms have definitely had a long life, but they were clean. Hotel has many options for buying "day trips". Bonus: you can keep your car in parking lot until 1 or 2 the day you check out. Just enough time to go a few extra places without paying for extra parking! :) Have FUN!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#52 of 230 in San Francisco
2,327 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#110 of 230 in San Francisco
4,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf Inn

Address: 2601 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1209
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £120 - £521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Wharf Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wharf Inn is an independent 51 room hotel with 50 guest rooms and 1 Penthouse Suite built in 1959 located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most tourist-friendly neighborhood. We are steps away from Pier 39, cable car terminals and Alcatraz boats. Walk to world-famous restaurants, browse through colorful shops at historic Ghirardelli Square and the Cannery, ride cable cars and street cars to North Beach, Chinatown, and the Union Square shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing