We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything we wanted”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wharf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wharf Inn
Ranked #113 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Everything we wanted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Just what we were looking for, reasonably priced for the area, great location,clean, comfortable bed, adequate space and a helpful staff. A bit of street noise but easily "drowned out" by the bathroom fan for "white noise". We would use this inn again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randomfarmerphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    331
    200
    61
    43
See reviews for
223
315
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mirboo North, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights. A standard hotel, very basic but it is in the perfect location. Perfect place to stay and head off on foot or jump on the tour bus which stops accross the road. Would definately recommend this as a place to stay, a little noisy as the walls seemed thin but if you used to city noise etc it won't bother you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robn360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

If you're not looking for anything fancy, but want a clean place that is close to main attractions, I'd highly recommend the Wharf Inn. Not the classiest looking place, but you are right at Fisherman's Wharf, and walking distance to the F-line and other public transit. Our room was clean, no AC, but had good air circulation with windows open, and the pillows were decent. You can't beat the price for the area. We had a late flight leaving, and they kept our huge bags for the day, even though the place is tiny.

The only downside was that there was no fridge to put all our tasty seafood leftovers every night. Also, if you are not into touristy areas, don't stay near Fisherman's Wharf.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kihei, HI
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Why? Because this is where we can park our car in an enclosed space and go in and out. Parking in SF with a car is very very expensive!!
You can get to downtown via a cable car or take a double deck tour bus around. Everything on Fishermans Wharf or Pier 39 is within walking distance. Granted, it's not a five star hotel, but who cares when all you're going to do is sleep and change clothes!! It has always been clean and the staff friendly.
There is also an iHop in the next block for anyone interested in a reasonably priced breakfast.
Safeway (grocery chain) is within walking distance if you need to buy anything. We travel the world and go into the city for events. This last trip was for the America's Cup but before then it was to go see a show at Beach Blanket Babylon in North Beach!!

Room Tip: We like a room on the street so we can look out on the bay BUT you will absolutely hear street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kihei.Goldilocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

The hotel was near to public transportarion and just one block from Fisherman Wharf's restaurants and stores. The room was small but it was clean and had everything you needed. The staff was friendly and helpful. There was free newspaper and free tasty Colombian coffee, hot chocolate and tea available in the lobby all day long. The best of all is there was free parking, you can't beat that in San Francisco.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Cubanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Our 1st time fo San Francisco. Did not want to drive in the city; wanted location from which we could walk to many attractions and to city transportion. We booked the Wharf Inn with some trepidation because it was somewhat pricier than what we usually spend for motel/inn/hotel. Finally bit the bullet and booked the Wharf - and we are really glad we did. Janet at the front desk was extremely helpful in arranging tours and cable transportation; along with directions. Our room was huge and yes, it was on the 2nd floor streetside. If it was noisy, we didn't notice because we slept extremely well. Really enjoyed the fireworks from our balcony. The Inn is an easy walk to many fine restaurants, pier 39, also the alcatraz tour center, Ghiradeli's, Cable cars and other city transportation. As for coffee, we are coffee people. Every morning I would walk down to the lobby and get our coffee (well, many times during the day). THe coffee is outstanding - way better than normally served in the room. The trade off was well worth it. My wife had no problem in getting a hair drier for the length of our visit (6 nights). Tour buses all over the place - big bus double decker right across the street. The Inn exterior looks a little run-down but our room was outstanding. Got a shuttle from the airport - somewhat of a hassle; however, Janet took care of getting us a shuttle back to the airport and it worked like a charm. I didn't drive at all, so I can't comment on the parking. If you are interesting in the wharf area attractions, and taking various tours, and fine restaurants, than I strongly suggest the Wharf Inn as a place to stay.

Room Tip: Depends on your preferences; however, we stayed on the 2nd floor, with a balcony, streetside. Yes it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulSr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

This was my first time here my fiance has been here several times it was beyond more than I could have ever imagined we stayed at the Wharf Inn and yes its not the Hilton But why pay big dollars to stay in a motel that your only going to be in long enough to sleep and shower. Our room was very clean and spacious we had a balcony over looking mason street it was so nice it was a quite room and I will be going back I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#109 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,900 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#58 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf Inn

Property: The Wharf Inn
Address: 2601 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1209
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Wharf Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wharf Inn is an independent 51 room hotel with 50 guest rooms and 1 Penthouse Suite built in 1959 located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most tourist-friendly neighborhood. We are steps away from Pier 39, cable car terminals and Alcatraz boats. Walk to world-famous restaurants, browse through colorful shops at historic Ghirardelli Square and the Cannery, ride cable cars and street cars to North Beach, Chinatown, and the Union Square shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing