We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Fishermans Wharf”
Review of The Wharf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Wharf Inn
Ranked #125 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

My fiance and I stayed here January 30 and 31 for a short vacation. While this property is older and could use some updating, we found the rooms clean, the office staff helpful and the location second to none in Fishermans Wharf. Pier 39 is a block away and the cable car station is about 4 blocks away. Their is an abundance of dining options within a 5 minute walk in all price ranges. The free parking is an added bonus and we never had a problem finding a spot in their secure parking lot. The price is great compared to other hotels for what you get. We will be back!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rtr r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (840)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

335 - 341 of 840 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

An excellent hotel for the price. Free parking in the heart of the waterfront makes it a great find. Customer service is good, it is clean, and beds were not uncomfortable. The rooms are small, but manageable. For someone on a budget like us it is great. We will come back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
5  Thank Zachary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Great location to Fisherman's Wharf and for our trip to Alcatraz. Room was adequate and older style. We weren't there for the view which was a good thing as it was of a shed wall. Staff were tolerant and polite. Value for money was ok - purely because of its location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davehome33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Booked this hotel for the location and the fact it had parking. Location is great being right at Fisherman's Wharf. But the hotel is old, very noisy both from the street noise as well as the from the hotel itself. Plumbing was so noisy that we could hear when other guests were using the bathroom - shower and even more. Even guests walking around their rooms could be heard. We got moved to the top floor (3 as there are only 3 levels). Manager was rude but did at least move us. If you are staying for 2 nights and doing everything around Fisherman's Wharf and/or are hiring a car and need parking then maybe. Was really disappointed considering reviews I read on several sites were more positive than negative

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank cas65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We booked this hotel online for two nights and hoped for the best . The price was reasonable ( for San Francisco ) and the location was perfect . It.s just a few blocks to Fisherman's Wharf and steps to the historic F line trolly buses . When we arrived we were upgraded to the Penthouse ( for about the same price ) ! I guess it's not rented out often and it was offered to us by a helpful manager . Thank You !!! The Penthouse contained a fully equipped two bedroom apt. with full kitchen , private stairway and two rooftop decks to enjoy . First class all the way . The only down side was the very dated interior and a few repair issues . It did make us feel special though . Another plus at the Wharf Inn was the free covered parking . We were able to walk to several venues from this convenient location . The staff was always knowledgeable , helpful and fun to visit with . With a great location and reasonable price you just might want to try The Wharf Inn .

Room Tip: Ask for upper floors for less noise . See if you can get a deal on the Penthouse !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights to enjoy the Wharf and it was worth the while. Usually stay at a Marriott location but between the room cost and the parking, the Wharf Inn was worth a try. Now its not the 4 Seasons, but let me say that there is great value here, and a person should know what level of accommodations when buying-in other words, do some research so there wont be a reason to grumble afterward :-). First the location: for easy access to the bay and all it has to offer, you cant get much closer; second, the parking is free and definitely a plus since short hops around the bay and Embarcadero can be accomplished on trolley or any public transportation if needed. The room was clean, well serviced, a good sized bathroom and had a secure elevator to the floors.The front desk staff are helpful and there all the time to answer questions or help out. Yes, the walls are a little thin for loud mates and 'door slammers' :-) next door and there is no hair dryer (note to self to remember that next time) but in the long run....well worth the value and I would stay again for a short bayside visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ginnynj4133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I picked this hotel because of the location and free parking, it wasn't worth the price doing construction next door woken up everyday at 5am should tell guests that is going on and room is from the 1980's yuck, not as there wed-site said newly appointed rooms

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 230 in San Francisco
2,280 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#109 of 230 in San Francisco
4,165 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf Inn

Address: 2601 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1209
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £132 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Wharf Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wharf Inn is an independent 51 room hotel with 50 guest rooms and 1 Penthouse Suite built in 1959 located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most tourist-friendly neighborhood. We are steps away from Pier 39, cable car terminals and Alcatraz boats. Walk to world-famous restaurants, browse through colorful shops at historic Ghirardelli Square and the Cannery, ride cable cars and street cars to North Beach, Chinatown, and the Union Square shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing