We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average”
Review of Greenwich Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Greenwich Inn
Ranked #153 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 27 September 2013

so so experience of staying here. one of the staff give me twice wrong info. 1st time plot me wrong location of the inn in the map cause me to walk around 20+ block to find my way back. 2nd time, wrong info again for the day tour big bus pick up station.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allensth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

Like staying at your grans house but your gran stays on the main bus line to town.

That is all you need to know, oh and you don't really like your gran that much.

BUT i have to write 200 characters which is a bit silly to be honest so ill just comment on how 200 characters is a bit silly until it accepts that some places only need reviewed with a sentence or two.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davross23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Great location, and they know it !! Certainly no frills here, no "going the extra mile" in any form or fashion at this motel. Most times of the year, I suspect you get what you pay for, but our stay during America's Cup week, they certainly took advantage of price gouge (as did all other hotels/motels in San Fran.) Frig in the room was good to have; shower was updated, but bedding, rug, television were definitely antiquated. So, just so you know what you are walking into. The surrounding neighborhoods, restaurants and pubs of Cow Hollow and Marina Dist. are a nice plus.

Room Tip: Ask for room on second floor of the "across the street" location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m3and1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I don't know what other people saw to write a good review, but my experience was AWFUL! Rug in room was so stained and smelled like pee.. mattress was warped and brown stains... stuff dripping down the walls. Doors and walls look like they were never cleaned. Bathroom had black mold growing behind the sink and in the showers. The fan in bathroom on the ceiling had so much dust in that it didn't even work. The room was so stuffy without air conditioning and the windows didn't open. The girl at desk was so kind to give me a fan to use. The phone in room didn't work, The coffee pot in room didn't work. YOU NEED TO RECONSIDER THIS PLACE. IT SHOULD BE CONDEMNED!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Rhonbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

A bit difficult to find on foot as the maps of San franscisco were not to scale. Excellent position once we worked out the buses. Beautiful houses around it to walk around the streets and along the water front to the piers. Easy access to the Golden Gate bridge and once we got a rental, out to the I5.
Smaller rooms than we thought but bathroom clean. Mel's Diner was wonderful for breakfast each morning as the office only offered coffee, packaged breakfast and pastry's. Unobtrusive staff. Quiet rooms and we had excellent sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prebbleton4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Excellent location, easy access to public transportation. Mel's Diner is a block away, so is Lombard St.. A good value in a decent area to walk at night. It was easy getting to all the attractions you usually visit,"Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, Ghierdeli Square, Golden Gate Park is an easy bus ride away.

Room Tip: We asked for the ground floor and were pleasantly surprised not to hear the people staying above us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Greenwich Inn (San Francisco) in July, 2013 and would stay there again if we were ever in SF area.

PROS-Clean, close to fishermans warf, shopping, restaurants, Lombard street, GG bridge, etc., good price for the location, excellent service, refrigerator, comfy bed, roomy, no bugs,

CONS-helpful and kind desk person was ALWAYS on the phone making reservations so u have to wait because there's very limited staff, rooms were outdated and in need of cosmetic repair, walls are pretty thin so u hear everything around you (trash collector, neighbors, etc), coffee pot was one of those 1 cup coffee makers (Mel's diner was a block away)

If ur not planning on spending ur SF time in the hotel all day this hotel is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdebaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#135 of 231 in San Francisco
687 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#86 of 231 in San Francisco
625 reviews
Music City Hotel
#117 of 231 in San Francisco
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#131 of 231 in San Francisco
527 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#141 of 231 in San Francisco
226 reviews
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#46 of 231 in San Francisco
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwich Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwich Inn

Address: 3201 Steiner St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3328
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £91 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Greenwich Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Greenwich Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwich Hotel San Francisco
Greenwich b&b
Greenwich Bed Breakfast
Greenwich San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing