We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Perfecly Fine Place”
Review of Greenwich Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Greenwich Inn
Ranked #169 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
San Frantastic
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Perfecly Fine Place”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

If you are coming to San Francisco to lounge around in your hotel room and live on room service, this is not the place for you.
But if you are coming to San Francisco and want to get out and about, this is a decent place to stay. Especially if you have a car -- parking is free.
I've stayed here. I wouldn't be willing to eat off the carpet, but where would anyone be willing to do that? Not even at the Four Seasons. (I never even walk barefoot in hotel rooms.)
The location is great. In between the bustle (and $$$) of Union Square and the more sleepy neighborhoods where there is nothing to do except wait for a bus. You can walk to a ton of restaurants, and shop 'til you drop from this place.
It's a bargain, in my book. I'd recommend staying here and saving your money to spend on all the awesome things to do/places to eat that San Francisco has to offer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Real_Grenadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    68
    75
    32
    35
See reviews for
44
103
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Quaint little motel in SF's most desirable neighborhood. For me the value was incredible and the staff (Diya and the bunch) were very nice during my extended stay. The motel's proximity makes it a short walk to Union St and Chestnut St. Feels more like a hotel with a parking lot. I would stay again for the location and the nice staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TSR24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My girlfriend and I recently stayed 4 nights at the Greenwich. There are 2 buildings across the street from each other. We stayed in the one by the main office. Although we didn't have a car, the parking lot is quite small and very tight. I can see where it would be a concern for those who use a car.

After reading some of the reviews, we didn't know what to expect. The building looks like a dive, but suprisingly the room(17) was very clean. There was fresh paint on the walls, and the sink and shower had new caulk. There were no signs of mold or mildew as seen in some posted pictures. we didn't use the coffe maker because it didn't look clean. The room was made up every time we returned. We didn't have much contact with the office staff, but when we did they were very nice.

The room is tiny and the bathroom even tinier. The shower door wouldn't open all the way because it hit the sink, but it did stay shut. The shower head was low for me and I'm only 6 feet tall, but it was manageable. We didn't use the heater because it was just too noisy and only a couple of feet from the bed. You better really enjoy each other's company because you don't get any personal space. It's a roof over your head after a day of playing.

The location is great. It's walking distance to most attractions in the Marina District - Pier 39 and the Warf etc. I agree with the other reviews, you must try Mel's Diner around the corner. It's a throw back to the 60's and has a very good breakfast with 2014 prices.

Overall, it suited our needs.

Room Tip: Room 17 was freshly painted and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank uncertain47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is simply horrible, dirty, smelly and noisy beyond belief. The sheets have not been changed when we booked the room and mould and dirt were 'dripping' out of the extractor in the bathroom. Even for $100 a night it was a torture. I stayed in the area a few years ago in the Ramada hotel which is now unfortunately closed, the hotel was simply lovely. While searching for a similar hotel, Greenwich Inn appeared, I don't know what I was thinking booking it..

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Prebooked with hotels.com arrived at the hotel and was asked for all my information again. That I can get over but the mold in the bathroom I cannot! My husband and I were to tired to look for another hotel but I really wished we did. I'd never ever go back.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed with my parents and brother one night and 3 out of the 4 of us ended up with lots of bites. My mom had a least 25 bites that are still itching today (an entire week since we stayed there). We stayed in room number 36. There is no telling if other rooms have bed bugs as well. We told the Greenwich Inn office about the bed bug problem and all the said was "thank you" with no further explanation or comment as to how they would resolve the problem. My father owns apartment buildings and understands that this is not an easy fix. The only solution that he knows of is extreme heat...130F for at least 3 hours. I have no idea if there is a service that can help with this in the Bay Area but I would NOT recommend staying at this hotel until this bed bug problem is addressed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JulieNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I am happy to stay at reduced cost hotels so long as I get a good shower, its quiet at night and there is a decent bed. I am not critical of the hotels age, minor cleanliness issues or the staffs friendliness etc. Unfortunately, Greenwich Inn, was my first miss when picking a place to stay using reviews on Tripadvisor.
The bed was OK but the shower wasn't, even running out of hot water on the first night. The biggest issue was the noise at night. As well as PeterNsw's comment on noise from the hotel owners, you could here people walking past, fighting, yelling and abusing until all hours of the night and morning. There is also a fire brigaide around the corner that gets called out fairly regularly and although they try to keep the noise down, they start thier sirens and blow horns when they get to the intersection of the hotel. As tight as I like to be when paying for hotels, next time I will be staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nevandhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#157 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Marina District
Economy Inn
Economy Inn
#174 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#107 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#125 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Marina District
La Luna Inn
La Luna Inn
#154 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#141 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwich Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwich Inn

Property: Greenwich Inn
Address: 3201 Steiner St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3328
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Greenwich Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Greenwich Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwich Hotel San Francisco
Greenwich b&b
Greenwich Bed Breakfast
Greenwich San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing