We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little motel in the city, no amenities (pool...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travel Inn
Ranked #180 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    109
    101
    34
    32
See reviews for
77
120
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed here because of the reviews and the price looked ok for San Francisco. This place was horrible. It smelled bad first of all. I don't know what the smell was from, on the door it said it was a non smoking room and yet the place reeked. The carpets were dirty, the toilet seat was disgusting and stained, and the towels were yellowing and thin as paper.
I don't mind outdated furniture, but how much could it possibly cost to replace the cheap towels that look like they havent been changed in 10 years?
The worst part was the bed. My boyfriend woke up with itchy red bites all over his arms and hands. It was so disgusting. We know it was from here because the bites happened when we started staying here. Management needs to do something immediately about this place. They definitely did not tell us about the bed bugs when we checked in. I found this hotel already has a listing on a bed bug registry. So disgusting!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel in San Francisco - free car parking, free Wi-Fi and one block away from Chestnut. Sure the rooms are not the most modern, the towels are tiny, no flat screen TV BUT how much time are you planning to spend in your hotel room in San Francisco?

101 runs past so the Golden gate is close to drive to, MUNI Route 30 is around the block on Chestnut so access to Fisherman's Wharf and Downtown is an easy bus ride away.

Also around the corner are excellent Italian, French, steak restaurants; Apple store, a great book shop, a bagel place, Starbucks, Peets Coffee, Amicis Pizza, Mels Diner, IHOP and lots of great shops when you are bored with downtown.

What's not to like ! We will be back . . .

Room Tip: The hotel is organised as a three sided courtyard, so there are stairs to climb to 2nd and 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ianBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dortmund, Germany
Level Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in March. Considering the prices in San Francisco and reviews here i've chosen this motel. And i have to say this one was the worst during my San Diego - San Francisco trip! The location is ok, it's about 20 min walk to fisherman's warf. But that's about it. The room we had was extremely dirty! There were pieces of dirt and plastic garbage on the carpet, the tv was very old and impossible to use, but what was terrible for me, is the fact that there were different kinds of hair basically everywhere! Now as much as i didn't expect luxury or something i at least expected CLEAN room for more than 100$ a night! That was not the case. The pillow had hair all over it, it was disgusting. I even put it away at first, than i decided to take the pillow case off and ask for the other one at the reception. It was a mistake! When i saw the pillow it made me sick! So i just went to Ross and bought me one... The housekeeping didn't care. In all 4 days the room wasn't cleaned properly. The things on the floor were lying there for 4 days, the clock wasn't wright (there was the change to spring time couple of weeks ago, but no one cared at the motel), and on the 3rd day of my stay after taking a shower i noticed i didn't have any towels at all. Apparentely they have taken the old ones and forgot to bring the new ones... I strongly recommend you find some other place to stay!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonibulg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3nights. Rooms okay, a bit old fashioned, but all requiered facilities where there. Walkable distance to Fishermans wharf. Hotel surrounded by cafés, restaurants and shops. All in all, good value for good money!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank L V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#161 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Music City Hotel
#127 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#78 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Marina Inn
Marina Inn
#172 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Marina District
La Luna Inn
La Luna Inn
#157 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#133 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn

Property: Travel Inn
Address: 2230 Lombard St, Hwy. 101 at Steiner Street, San Francisco, CA 94123-2704 (Formerly Travelodge Golden Gate San Francisco)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Travel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Travel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Golden Gate San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Travel Lodge San Francisco
Travelodge San Francisco
San Francisco Travel Lodge
San Francisco Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing