We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and cheap.”
Review of Travel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travel Inn
Ranked #183 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location and cheap.”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

San Fran is not a cheap place to stay. We stayed here for one night due to its good location and cheap price. It's what you'd expect from a budget motel. The bed was clean but the room was very basic and the carpet and some fittings looked old and tired. Can't say I enjoyed my stay but it was a bed in a good location. Other plus points are the free parking and friendly staff. If you want luxury look elsewhere (and pay much more). If you're happy to rough it for a night you'll get an excellent location, free parking and a reasonable nights sleep. You get what you pay for and at the price I paid I can't complain.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank oO-STEVE-Oo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    111
    102
    36
    32
See reviews for
79
121
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

There are a couple of Travelodge Motels close to each other and I am not sure if people are getting them mixed up as the reviews seem very contradictory. This Hotel "Golden Gate" is average at best. It is on a main road and has traffic noise which is common but it also has thin walls and floors and you can hear every footstep. It was reasonably clean but the furnishings are old and the bedding was old and holey. It also has lumpy beds and thin pillows. The towels are old, thin and a bit grey. If you are a light or fussy sleeper this hotel is not for you.

I'm amazed that Travelodge allow this standard.

The only positive is a good location with abundant restaurants.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here ask for a top floor room as the walls and floors are thin and you can hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nichpa2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Arriving I thought oh crap what have I done!
But after chatting to the friendly and helpful staff at check in I felt calmed then after entering the room I felt a lot better!
We had a smoking room and as a non smoker I can usually smell anything slightly smoke related but nothing here . Rooms are clean and tidy everything u expect for $95 a night. Centrally located although I still wouldn't be walking to the wharf area,

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kady B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Our room smelled like wet dog and we were told it was because the carpet was just shampooed. The bathroom smelled like cat spray...Very bad experience!!! We were offered a different room but it smelled old and dirty. Our door didn't even close correctly and we could see the outside from the inside...Very loud from outside traffic. Our TV never worked right

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, Limburg, Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed 3 nights in May 2014. Location is superb, center Lombard st and within walking distance of many restaurants. Room was clean and spacious. The only problem with this hotel is the noise from outside. Lombard st is one of the busiest streets of San Francisco so lots of cars and tour buses drive by all day and night. The door to our room did not seal off the loud noise from outside which required us to wear earplugs to get to sleep.
Other than that it was ok. A bit pricy but so are all other hotels in this area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Me and my husband spent there 2 nights. Location is excellent to Golden Gate Bridge. Room was nice with comfortable bed, flat TV, fridge, hairdryer, free Internet and free parking. Good idea is renting a bicycle and bike to Fisherman’s Wharf or Golden Gate Bridge. Some hills to cycle but nothing really bad beside cycling on Golden Gate Bridge. Prepare for proper cycling or walking with your bike. I can totally recommend this hotel as other wants crazy money only beside they are located on Lombard Street. If you stay over in Travelodge, have a breakfast in Home Plate Restaurant. They serve excellent breakfasts.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agusia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Room was tidy. Location was close to all attractions. A left turn out the driveway takes you
down the infamous Lombard winding road. Very cool! What a view! Great restaurants and bars all within walking distance. It's not a fancy place by any stretch but it is clean, comfortable and safe. The parking lot is quite small but it is free parking. That is always a bonus. Definitely difficult if you had a large sized car or truck to park. All in all, we had a fantastic time in San Francisco and when we return we would most likely stay at this reasonably priced hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberlee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#145 of 229 in San Francisco
618 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#82 of 229 in San Francisco
586 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#141 of 229 in San Francisco
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#115 of 229 in San Francisco
501 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#133 of 229 in San Francisco
155 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#140 of 229 in San Francisco
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn

Property: Travel Inn
Address: 2230 Lombard St, Hwy. 101 at Steiner Street, San Francisco, CA 94123-2704 (Formerly Travelodge Golden Gate San Francisco)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Travel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Golden Gate San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Travel Lodge San Francisco
Travelodge San Francisco
San Francisco Travelodge
San Francisco Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing