We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location for the budget traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Ranked #59 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
tucson, arizona
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great location for the budget traveler”
Reviewed 2 July 2008

Dates 6/24-6/28
Spent four days in san fran and was able to do just about everything on foot from this location. (we are in our early 50's) It is literally at the entrance to the Presidio (which is beautiful). Within walking distance of the marina (view of golden gate) then just up a scenic walk to fishermans wharf. If you walk straight up lombardo (and I mean up) you can access the crookedest street. One night we took a cab from fishermans wharf (too much happy hour) and it was only 8.00! Our room was old, bed linens were comfortable but exceptionally clean. New AC/heating had just been installed. Bathroom fan was extremely noisy so we just used the heating light most of the time. Not enough vanity space so I utilized the coffee area for hair/make up. People at the desk were extremely helpful. Continental breakfast was packaged rolls, cereal, milk, juice and coffee. Low water pressure, lots of hot water. Area felt safe even at night. Got a great package deal via travelocity. Well what can I say-definitely not a ritz carlton but I am sure it saved us a lot in transportation. Parking was not an issue on the days we stayed as we did have a rental car-just never used it. Average budget motel-great location.

  • Liked — Location, quieter area of lombard, able to see san francisco on foot, free parking
  • Disliked — Walls are thin, noisy fans in room, little water pressure.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtogoanywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    504
    133
    32
    19
See reviews for
409
437
70
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2008

We needed a place for the whole family for graduation. Since living in SF for 3 years, we knew how difficult it would be to place the whole family and make sure there were things to do in a relatively safe neighborhood. We picked the Presidio area because there was the Exploratorium and Golden Gate Bridge for the kids, Chestnut street for food, and the hotel had free parking. The price was decent for SF ~$100/nt. I booked 2 rooms off their website and 2 directly through the staff. Be cautious because if you book thru the website, you can't claim the AAA discount since they are sold thru a 3rd party. The first room we got was in the process of a remodel and smelled like heavy paint. They told us they weren't going to give us that room over the phone in the AM but stuck us with that room anyway...the bathroom was semi-moldy and not done yet. After the first night, we asked and finally got a completed remodeled room which was very nice and comfortable. (2nd floor middle corner room). They have free parking, but only a limited number of spaces so you had to stake your claim early. Breakfast was nothing special, cold cereal, OJ, coffee, cocoa, danishes. At least it was free. I thought the area was safe since it was off the Lombard main drag, but apparently, the hotel was held up the second night we were there. Otherwise, it was very quiet, and comfortable (if you get the right room), but the staff needs to communicate better. A major plus...free wireless internet!

  • Liked — Proximity to SF's nicest neighborhood and free parking
  • Disliked — poor communication at front desk
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pharmagirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2008

This Travelodge is located at the entrance to the Presidio, which used to be an Army Post and is now part of the US Park Service. It is very near to the Golden Gate Bridge and is convenient to the attractions in and around the Presidio and the 'Marina' area of San Francisco. The hotel itself looks to be a renovated motel, but it's located in an area off the busy portion of Lombard St. so it was fairly quiet.

I spent 3 nights there and slept well each night. I would recommend the rooms toward the back of the complex. The room itself was nothing exceptional but everything was comfortable, clean and functional. The beds were very comfortable with attractive bedding, a microwave and refrigerator were provided and the room (#301) was a corner unit with windows on 3 sides. The bathroom was very small, similar to european B & B bathrooms with no tub just a shower, but everything was clean and in working order.

The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful, the housekeeping staff did a good job. A very skimpy continental breakfast is offered at the front desk; juice, coffee and some breakfast rolls which you have to eat in your room or elsewhere. There is no breakfast room but there are many great places to have breakfast.

The location offers many unique eateries nearby, and Chestnut St. has a wide selection of cafes, coffee shops, bakeries, restaurants with every kind of dining and grocery stores selling exceptional produce. There are many boutiques and shopping establishments as well. The area had only 2 franchise restaurants that I saw, an IHOP and a Johnny Rockets, everything else is a one of a kind.

Parking is available but limited onsite and an overflow lot is around the corner. Street parking and public parking is expensive if you're not from a big city with similar rates.

I paid about $100 a night for the room a double/double but found a $74 rate from the Roomsaver magazine. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Liked — The location so as to conduct business.
  • Disliked — The complimentary breakfast.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clan4irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2008

We stayed there just for a day. Got the room for USD119/night (for 4 persons). The room is really too small for a quad room (see photo attached), the bathroom is clean, though it's very cramped. The breakfast is actually served at a small corner beside the frontdesk, which i find it funny..
The good thing is its excellent location. (i) very quiet- Other hotels along Chesnut Street are definitely too noisy to get a good sleep (due to heavy traffic). (ii) Convenient- within walking distance to The Palace of Fine Arts, and Chesnut St.
If u are planning for a short stay and looking for a not-so-expensive room, I'd say, 'It's a good choice'. But do note one thing: When u check out, Remember to them the frontdesk IF U DID NOT USE THE SAFE. I got charged 'safety warranty tax' because I forgot to tell them!

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — The size
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merlion42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2007

This hotel was absolutely fabulous. The room was spotless, the king size bed was comfortable and the location was magnificent! It was in a very safe neighborhood and within walking distance of great restaurants and shopping, plus the bus stopped right down the street. Gary was a great help in securing our shuttle to the airport and helping us with places to eat. The hotel was very quiet as it was at the end of Lombard street. Great place to stay and the price was right.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emeraldhse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2007

Typical cramped motel room and overpriced ($109). But it was in reasonably good condition, the beds were comfortable, it was quiet at night (being two blocks from Highway 101), we had a fridge and microwave, and there was plenty of hot water. And the best part--the location! Chestnut, the "main street" of the Marina District, was just around the corner with plenty of cafes and shops and a real hometown atmosphere. Also, the Palace of the Fine Arts, and the waterfront were nearby, and you can take a public bus to Chinatown and Downtown.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Size of the room
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CA-FL-TX-FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2007

I needed a hotel near the Fort Mason Center, and I needed to get a good night's sleep for three nights. All the other hotels along Lombard St/101 are right on the highway and you can see from the reviews that people have had horrible experiences with noise. The Travelodge Presidio is farther down Lombard, after 101 curves away = quiet! It's right near all the beautiful green trees of the Presidio, and the shops and restaurants on Chestnut Street are a short walk away. My room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom could use some refurbishing, but again, everything was clean. I never heard a sound from the highway or other guests. The staff at the front was friendly and knowledgeable. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone on a budget who wants something quiet!

  • Liked — Quiet, free wireless
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Cauliflower81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#77 of 229 in San Francisco
576 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#30 of 229 in San Francisco
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#37 of 229 in San Francisco
1,109 reviews
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#81 of 229 in San Francisco
689 reviews
Marina District
Marina Motel
Marina Motel
#92 of 229 in San Francisco
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco

Property: Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Address: 2755 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our Rooms feature: Free Reliable High Speed Wireless Internet Access, Refrigerator, New Flat Screen LCD TV with Cable and HBO, Alarm Clock with MP3 Player, In-room Coffee, Hairdryer, and free access to a business center with a printer from 7AM to 7PM. We are pet friendly, $20/Pet/Day cleaning fee. We are a 100% non smoking, AAA approved hotel with free limited parking. The Palace of Fine Arts and Exploratorium are just four block's walk away. Our location is especially good for touring the city while remaining quiet. We are near 5 bus lines which can transport you all over the city. The staff here was either born in the city or has lived her long enough to help you navigate the well and not so well known parts of San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco At The Presidio Travelodge Hotel San Francisco
Travelodge San Francisco
Travel Lodge San Francisco
San Francisco Travel Lodge
San Francisco Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing