We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Ranked #58 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,154)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We recently stayed at the The Presidio Travelodge and were happy with the location and room. The only downside is the parking, but at least it was free. The parking lot is very small. There is a lot of street parking around the corner to the west of the hotel but you have to walk a little ways. I was glad I had read the reviews ahead so was prepared. We had a corner room with lots of space and a nice open view out to the city. It was a great place to stay and it was quiet and felt safe.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jmh410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our Experience

Good
- Pleasant & friendly at front desk;
- Proximity to the Golden Gate Bridge;
- Close to Presidio Park (where there is a Starbucks);

General
- 45 minute taxi from the airport
- nothing plush or exciting about this place (but then it is a Travelodge and isnt marketed as such);
- room was okay, clean, reasonable amount of space, in room safe and fridge with a small ensuite bathroom;
- maid service was fine;
- air conditioning unit worked as expected;
- the car park is small and was full every night during our stay which may have to be a consideration for those driving - we walked our days in SF then picked the car up to drive route 1 late the day before our departure; we parked overnight on the street arriving late and leaving at 6am wasnt a problem;
- If you don't mind a lot of walking the location was okay (or want to use taxis/buses etc), if you're trying to get the full San Fran tour in a few days there may be some more central options might be better;
- We walked down to the Pier area where the ferry's leave for Alcatraz and ate there every night, as there were plenty of options.

Bad
- room could have been better lit although this was a minor point.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank CeciliaTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The location and service are definitely the best parts of this place. A quick walk up to the Presidio which has a nice walking path all the way out to the Golden Gate Bridge. The room was fine and bed was comfortable. The place itself isn't much to look at and I feel in any other city it would be an $80 a night kinda place... but this is San Francisco where everything is expensive. There are some good restaurants within a few blocks and a little dive bar up the street which has a very friendly bartender. As stated by many on here Raymond and Bruce were both as nice and helpful as people in the reviews make them out to be. They really did make our experience of San Francisco better because of the help and advice they offered.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cbergin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our first visit to the TL Presidio in 2011 (previously reviewed) was great and we expected nothing less when we returned.

Actually, I wanted to write a scathing review so no one else would go there as now I have to book 6 months in advance to ensure that I will get a room--but the truth shall set you free so here goes.

The stars of TL Presidio are Raymond (thanks for all of your help on the bummer Yosemite tour), Tyler (the manager with Hawaii ties), Niki, and Bruce. It is as though the staff at TL Presidio were imported from Hawaii. Raymond and the gang truly have the Aloha Spirit. Everyone is very helpful and is genuinely nice. For our family it is the staff that makes or breaks our stay at a hotel/motel.

The TL Presidio is very conveniently situated. At the end of Lombard Street you are in easy walking distance to the #30 Muni line that takes you right to Fisherman's Wharf. From there, hop on a cable car (or Muni bus) and cruise into Union Square. Why pay $25+ for parking. Also within walking distance is Columbus Street which is the new hangout for cool trendy restaurants and boutiques.

The TL Presidio itself an unremarkable property staffed with remarkable people. The premises are kept in excellent repair. The furnishings are current and clean. Parking is a little tight at times, but there are a few secret spaces that you will have to ask about. I won't tell you here.

If you want a fancy hotel with mints on your pillow, this is not the place for you. Spend $500 a night at a hotel in Union Square (and $40 to park your car). If you want a great San Francisco experience with wonderful tips from knowledgable people--there is no better place.

All of the staff are great, but Raymond goes above the call. He recommended a Yosemite day trip for our family and booked it for us. The tour turned out to be a disappointment due to a broken tour bus. The tour company balked at reimbursing us. One call from Raymond and we received a full refund. I doubt a 5-star hotel could have done the same.

Our family has been there twice and the next time we return to the city by the bay we will surely return to the TL Presidio--as long as Raymond and the gang are there.

Aloha from Hawaii,

Waipahu Traveler

Room Tip: If you are older stay on the first floor. This 3-story motel does not have elevators.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WaipahuTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Wow! What a great place to stay from the location, clean hotel, free breakfast & afternoon tea too the free high speed wifi. This place as the lot but wait.... The staff especially the manager Raymond were fantastic. He went out of his way to help us with information about San Francisco and with the transport around the city. He is so knowledgeable about this fantastic city.
The cost is reasonable and I'll definitely be back to stay.

Room Tip: A room on ground level as there is no lift.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#86 of 230 in San Francisco
599 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#140 of 230 in San Francisco
218 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
1,567 reviews
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco

Address: 2755 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £176 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our Rooms feature: Free Reliable High Speed Wireless Internet Access, Refrigerator, New Flat Screen LCD TV with Cable and HBO, Alarm Clock with MP3 Player, In-room Coffee, Hairdryer, and free access to a business center with a printer from 7AM to 7PM. We are pet friendly, $20/Pet/Day cleaning fee. We are a 100% non smoking, AAA approved hotel with free limited parking. The Palace of Fine Arts and Exploratorium are just four block's walk away. Our location is especially good for touring the city while remaining quiet. We are near 5 bus lines which can transport you all over the city. The staff here was either born in the city or has lived her long enough to help you navigate the well and not so well known parts of San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco At The Presidio Travelodge Hotel San Francisco
Travelodge San Francisco
Travel Lodge San Francisco
San Francisco Travel Lodge
San Francisco Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing