We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Experience - Rude staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Ranked #58 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2009

We booked our stay through priceline. Even though I had a printed receipt, which showed our reservation had been paid for in full - manager refused to acknowledge our reservation saying it must have been canceled. She also refused to call priceline to confirm our reservation. We called them ourselves and were told there must have been some kind of computer mix-up. Travelodge had a room available but refused to give it to us at the rate we contracted through priceline. We were told we could have the room at more than double the cost. We ended up going somewhere else and paying much less. I can not overemphasis how rude this manger was. She was completely unaccommodating and unsympathetic to our situation. Do yourself a favor and do not stay here.

Thankfully, Priceline refunded our money.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank annabell7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLPresidio, General Manager at Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2009

Reservation was booked for wrong date, this was confirmed by Priceline. The hotel was not at fault for the error in arrival date and could not accommodate this guest room requirements upon arrival. We’re a small motor inn style hotel with only 27 rooms and we tried to accommodate the guest, but we were already booked for their requested room. We apologize for the service provided to the guest, Management did not speak with the guest directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,156)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

947 - 953 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2008

Four of us (2 couples) were on a one month trip in the southwest U.S. We prebooked all our hotels and B&Bs and this was our choice in San Francisco because of the price and the location. We did not expect the Hilton but we sure didn't expect this. We booked two rooms for three nights and the comments apply to both.
The room was old, well worn carpet and furniture that appeared filthy in the poor lighting. The bathroom was moldy in the shower, around the ceiling and on the floor. There was no toilet paper holder in the bathroom and when we complained they said it would be done the next day (wrong). I went to the office which was under renovation to borrow a screwdriver to do my own repair in the room and was directed to the maintenance man in the breakfast room. He was sitting at a table with his feet on the table drinking a beer but did manage to find a screwdriver. Needless to say we didn't eat the complimentary breakfast in that room.
The bed was clean and comfortable, but that is the extent of the good comments.
Parking was another problem and we ended up parking off the premises around the corner at a restaurant as the lot was continually full.
We found another hotel and booked out early as we just couldn't manage to stay any longer.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woodworker_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2008

Staff very pleasant and helpful. Very good location. Room a little dated and on the small side but functional. Bathroom on the small side with older fixtures. Overall good experience. Advise you park the car and use public transportation. You will find that parking in SF is expensive and almost impossible to find.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TR4AIRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2008

So the location is good but thats as far as i would go. The linen was dirty, the fridge was filthy and falling apart and the room made my skin crawl. Cheap is no excuse for failing to provide basic hygienic conditions. Avoid.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank coldmachineUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLPresidio, General Manager at Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2010

Thank you for your review. I apologize for the condition of your room. It is our intent to provide every guest with a quality night's sleep. Because of this review, the front desk now is in charge of laundry. Every piece of linen is scanned to ensure it's cleanliness. We now inspect our fridges regularly and are just about done with our room renovations (2/2010). Please give us another chance to demonstrate our hospitality again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2008

We, two adults and a nine years old child, stayed at the Travelodge at Presidio on the 13th of July for three nights.
After a warm welcome to the reception staff we entered our room that was the once located to the street side, The noise of the traffic was audible in the room but it was in an acceptable scale. The motel is located in that part off Lombard St. directly near Presidio with only a little traffic compared with the more troubled part a few hundred feet away. Our room was clean, not small but also not very spacious. Usually every room has an own parking lot. But not in this motel. There are less parking lots than rooms in the inner courtyard. Breakfast in the very small lobby was more than poor. Only coffee, cereals, and some kind of sweet soft cookies. The only change to eat or drink something was to put the whole stuff on a tray and took it with you to your room.
Our son had a small infection at one eye so we had to go to a doctor. The staff at the reception was very courteous and did everything to help us.
Conclusion: Despite of some lack the motel is a good location for exploring SF. An further advantage is the short distance to the Golden Gate Bridge. We would stay at this motel again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael_Gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

Stay there with my family four nights. Small rooms, old building yet clean and almost everything runs pretty well. The front desk clerks were friendly and very helpful. They did everything they promised. Location is good for tight budget tourists. #45 bus terminal station is only one block away. Not far from the Crissy field and Palace of Fine Art. Hiking to the Golden Gate bridge is also not difficult for young children.
My biggest problem during stay is internet access, most of the time it won't work and the manager on duty told me it's the internet service provider's problems, they can't solve it.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mickchiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2008

Dates 6/24-6/28
Spent four days in san fran and was able to do just about everything on foot from this location. (we are in our early 50's) It is literally at the entrance to the Presidio (which is beautiful). Within walking distance of the marina (view of golden gate) then just up a scenic walk to fishermans wharf. If you walk straight up lombardo (and I mean up) you can access the crookedest street. One night we took a cab from fishermans wharf (too much happy hour) and it was only 8.00! Our room was old, bed linens were comfortable but exceptionally clean. New AC/heating had just been installed. Bathroom fan was extremely noisy so we just used the heating light most of the time. Not enough vanity space so I utilized the coffee area for hair/make up. People at the desk were extremely helpful. Continental breakfast was packaged rolls, cereal, milk, juice and coffee. Low water pressure, lots of hot water. Area felt safe even at night. Got a great package deal via travelocity. Well what can I say-definitely not a ritz carlton but I am sure it saved us a lot in transportation. Parking was not an issue on the days we stayed as we did have a rental car-just never used it. Average budget motel-great location.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvtogoanywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#87 of 230 in San Francisco
601 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
1,569 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#140 of 230 in San Francisco
218 reviews
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#76 of 230 in San Francisco
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco

Address: 2755 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £176 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our Rooms feature: Free Reliable High Speed Wireless Internet Access, Refrigerator, New Flat Screen LCD TV with Cable and HBO, Alarm Clock with MP3 Player, In-room Coffee, Hairdryer, and free access to a business center with a printer from 7AM to 7PM. We are pet friendly, $20/Pet/Day cleaning fee. We are a 100% non smoking, AAA approved hotel with free limited parking. The Palace of Fine Arts and Exploratorium are just four block's walk away. Our location is especially good for touring the city while remaining quiet. We are near 5 bus lines which can transport you all over the city. The staff here was either born in the city or has lived her long enough to help you navigate the well and not so well known parts of San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco At The Presidio Travelodge Hotel San Francisco
Travelodge San Francisco
Travel Lodge San Francisco
San Francisco Travel Lodge
San Francisco Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing