We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Nearby Hotels
US$576
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
US$195
US$155
MysticHotel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
US$432
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Comfort Inn by the Bay(San Francisco)
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$265
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
US$421
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$322
US$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$328
US$266
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$482
US$362
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$454
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,195)
Filter reviews
1,195 results
Traveller rating
455
541
143
36
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
455
541
143
36
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree parkingpalace of fine artsraymond archerthe golden gate bridgebus routeschestnut streettravel lodgecrissy fieldquiet locationcold cerealmarina districtpublic transportationlombard stcontinental breakfastsafe neighborhoodfisherman's wharfno elevator
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
976 - 981 of 1,195 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2009

The rooms are small and crowded. The temperature control in the shower is very difficult to control. I turned water on and waited several minutes for the temperature to stabilize. After getting in, the water got scalding hot. There is just a trickle of water and I mean a trickle. It kept changing from hot to cool. The room was supposed to be non smoking but it smelled like smoke. They have 27 rooms and only 16 parking spaces. Parking is a major problem in this city and if you have a car, you may or may not have a parking spot when you come in at night. The parking spaces they do have are very small and only suitable for small cars. They charge you a 20.00 fee when you check in whether you use the safe or not. I still do not have this charge taken off my card even though the clerk told me it would be taken care of. The hotel is not convenient at all and very difficult to get in and out of. The heating/ac unit made a terrible racket all night. The walls seem to be paper thin and we could hear loud people talking on cell phones and arguing in the adjacent rooms.
The wireless internet barely works and is very slow.I booked this hotel through travelocity for 5 nights but we checked out after that first night. The clerk offered to change our rooms but there are so many negatives about this place we had to go somewhere else. I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vsp527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLPresidio, General Manager at Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2010

Thank you for your review. These help us to fix problems and ensure other guests do not encounter the same problem; I'm sorry we were not able to fix these during your stay.

This review makes a great point that our parking is limited. We advertise it as free, but limited. Very seldom is there an issue, but summer events bring heavy traffic to our area and parking can become tight. We do everything possible to help our guests find parking.

There is a $20 additional authorization made on each credit card in case phone calls are made or guests decide to smoke in our non-smoking rooms. This additional authorization ensures the card can cover these expenses. Typically the charge will release in 2-4 days dependent on the bank.

We feel it offers peace of mind to our guests, knowing there is a safe available. On our registration card, which each guest signs, there is an explanation of the charge. It is gladly removed when requested by those who have not used it.

This review also pointed out the low connectivity of our wi-fi. Since then we have added two additional access points to ensure all rooms have a strong connection. We also have a toll free number for troubleshooting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2009

My husband and I stayed here over Easter- Thurs. - Monday and we wished we could of stayed longer! The staff was excellent! On Thurs. we went to a ball game at AT&T park and had a 3 day muni pass and we weren't sure how to use the bus system but the man at the front desk printed out a sheet of what bus we had to take and where to go. We wanted to go to a beach and the front desk recommended a beach that you could find whole sand dollars and we did! We were a little scared of the parking but we pulled in at 2pm and found a spot and many others empty. We took our car out, one day and came back and there was still a spot. We will definatly be back on our next trip to San Francisco!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceanlover15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2009

We had a great time at this hotel. The customer service is excellent! The desk people were very knowledgeable about how to take the bus, things to do, and great places to eat. The location was great! We drove our car but didn't want to deal with driving and parking around town. The bus that went to Fisherman's Wharf was only a few blocks away . The only downside to this hotel is that the rooms are very small and the parking lot is first come first serve but it's free. It was hard for a family of four to move around the room. Our room was very clean. The breakfast was very simple-coffee, juice, oatmeal, pastries, and cereal. I would definitely stay here again. P.S. The Alcatraz tour is a must!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fuman2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2009

We booked our stay through priceline. Even though I had a printed receipt, which showed our reservation had been paid for in full - manager refused to acknowledge our reservation saying it must have been canceled. She also refused to call priceline to confirm our reservation. We called them ourselves and were told there must have been some kind of computer mix-up. Travelodge had a room available but refused to give it to us at the rate we contracted through priceline. We were told we could have the room at more than double the cost. We ended up going somewhere else and paying much less. I can not overemphasis how rude this manger was. She was completely unaccommodating and unsympathetic to our situation. Do yourself a favor and do not stay here.

Thankfully, Priceline refunded our money.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank annabell7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLPresidio, General Manager at Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2009

Reservation was booked for wrong date, this was confirmed by Priceline. The hotel was not at fault for the error in arrival date and could not accommodate this guest room requirements upon arrival. We’re a small motor inn style hotel with only 27 rooms and we tried to accommodate the guest, but we were already booked for their requested room. We apologize for the service provided to the guest, Management did not speak with the guest directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2008

Four of us (2 couples) were on a one month trip in the southwest U.S. We prebooked all our hotels and B&Bs and this was our choice in San Francisco because of the price and the location. We did not expect the Hilton but we sure didn't expect this. We booked two rooms for three nights and the comments apply to both.
The room was old, well worn carpet and furniture that appeared filthy in the poor lighting. The bathroom was moldy in the shower, around the ceiling and on the floor. There was no toilet paper holder in the bathroom and when we complained they said it would be done the next day (wrong). I went to the office which was under renovation to borrow a screwdriver to do my own repair in the room and was directed to the maintenance man in the breakfast room. He was sitting at a table with his feet on the table drinking a beer but did manage to find a screwdriver. Needless to say we didn't eat the complimentary breakfast in that room.
The bed was clean and comfortable, but that is the extent of the good comments.
Parking was another problem and we ended up parking off the premises around the corner at a restaurant as the lot was continually full.
We found another hotel and booked out early as we just couldn't manage to stay any longer.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews