We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price, Quiet Location Yet Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Ranked #57 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Bowling Green, KY
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Price, Quiet Location Yet Convenient”
Reviewed 15 June 2010

I, too, picked this place after reading online reviews. My sister and I stayed here 5 nights and it looks like they've recently upgraded the rooms (new carpet, bedding, bathroom sink area). There's not a lot of counter space in the rooms, but I loved the thermostat controlled air conditioning. I had to strategically clip our curtains closed to keep it dark in the room, but there was little to no noise! Bed was super comfy.

The hotel is about 2 blocks off Lombard Street. About 4 blocks from the hotel on Chestnut Street there are a lot of restaurants and shops to check out. There is a MUNI bus stop right across from the hotel, and one just a few blocks away for a different line. They have free parking (BONUS!) but the spots are really tight! Luckily we were in a Bug.

Free continental breakfast was enough for us. I usually skip breakfast anyway. The front desk guy in the mornings always asked how our day was and would tell us about any festivals or cool events going on. He is by far one of the best frontline personnel I've seen (and I work in the hospitality industry!).

After shopping for a long time I found the specials on their website were the best prices. There was a discrepancy between what I had reserved (price) and what I was charged. Turns out there is a small fee for use of the safe that you can decline at check-in (I didn't notice it on the check-in sheet I signed) but I emailed the hotel and they refunded the money since we didn't use the safe. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorvetteKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLPresidio, General Manager at Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco, responded to this review, 22 June 2010
The staff was so happy to hear from you again, they all remembered you as soon as they saw the profile picture. Yes, we too were excited to have our bathrooms remodeled in January 2010. Thanks for pointing out the many bus lines in our area. Most the city is easily accessible from our location via public transit. Glad we could host you; when you're back in SF come say hello. Thank you so much for posting a response!


-Tyler Shanahan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    513
    137
    32
    19
See reviews for
415
443
70
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights as we'd found it recommended on this website. The staff were super helpful with helping us figure out our bus routes, restaurants to see, etc. The hotel was very close to public transportation, which was a bonus for us since we took the bus everywhere. The hotel is located in a quiet, safe area. The parking was free- the spots were a bit tight. The room was fairly average- nothing too exciting. The continental breakfast was also fairly average. We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank green_beam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLPresidio, General Manager at Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco, responded to this review, 25 May 2010
Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to hear your stay was made more enjoyable by the staff. We are constantly exploring the city for new places to send our guests. Our continental breakfast does include oatmeal, cereal, pastries, coffee, juice, and tea. For a full style breakfast we recommend Rose's Cafe or Mel's Dinner; great local choices. Yes…parking is always a bear in SF. Please see our staff at the desk before parking on the street so we can exhaust all options.

-Tyler Shanahan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Our stay here was a pleasure due to the personal service provided by the staff -- Ray, Tyler and Nikki all enhanced our stay by offering advice as to what to see and how to get there. We found the public transport easily accessible and many sites and services within walking distance as well.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2fortravel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLPresidio, General Manager at Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco, responded to this review, 14 April 2010
Thank you for your feedback! Since San Francisco has so much to see we are always happy to help plan outings. Nikki and Ray are all-stars.

-Tyler Shanahan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Trip Advisor reviews we had read, before our visit to the city, convinced us to stay at this Travelodge. We were not disapointed in our overall experience. The location was great. It was in a very quiet and safe area of town. The desk clerks were "exceptionally helpful". Raymond was there our first evening and we couldn't have asked for a more helpful and enthusiastic host.
Our breakfasts were adequate. The room was average in quality, but fine for the money.. Our location was near bus routes, the Bridge and Presidio Park. Most of Lombard Street is very busy, however, this particluar stretch of Lombard is not on 101, hence traffic is very minimal.
Our only frustration was with the TV set. The volume was adjusted so low that we really found it difficult to use. After a long day of sightseeing, we had hoped to relax in the evening, but the TV was virtually useless.
That said, we still highly recommend the Travelodge at the Presidio. We hope you enjoy your stays.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuckyBadgeragogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLPresidio, General Manager at Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco, responded to this review, 14 April 2010
Thank you for your feedback. We have just completed renovating all the bathrooms at the hotel. Some of our rooms have new TVs and we are in the process of replacing the older, pesky TVs with brand new flat screens! Our staff is very pleased to hear you enjoyed their help. We love San Francisco and sharing our knowledge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2010

The quiet street & park access is great. Public transportation let's us park the car for our whole visit unless we head out of the city. It's the staff which really keeps the place humming and provides everything possible for guest enjoyment. They watch out for your belongings [once we left for the day w/ car doors & trunk open which they noticed & locked for us]. They are the best source for local events & info on everything 'city' you need to know. Tyler, Raymond & Nikki get extra cudos for going above & beyond in assistance and pleasant attitude, even at the end of a long shift. If you have a YMCA membership elsewhere, you can get a discount to the nearby Presidio YMCA for $3/day.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontherios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLPresidio, General Manager at Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco, responded to this review, 6 May 2010
Thank you for posting a review! We were so happy to see you again. I hope you enjoyed the monterey bay aquarium on your drive back home. We take great pride in our customer service; having 27 rooms truly allows us to focus in on each guest. Thank you for mentioning the YMCA near by. It is an excellent place to get a gym workout in the Presidio, also where many running trails highlight the coastal region.

We look forward to your next visit!

-Tyler Shanahan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2010

The Presidio Travelodge turned out to be close to the sites we wanted to see, namely the Presidio and the trails in the area. The Tuscan decor and newly re-done bathroom made for a pleasant stay. The real jewel at this site is Raymond who can tell guests how to get anywhere in the city because he has been there himself. He could even tell us travel time on public transportation to get from one location to another. If you have a question, Raymond can answer it! A very service-oriented location.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraftyGrammy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McDonald's Corners, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2010

For the past few years, I've stayed at this place every Spring & Fall on golf trips.
It's clean, well managed and there's ample free parking. Rates are reasonable.
I like it as it's just outside Presidio's East Gate and it's central to all the great tourist spots. It's not far from Fisherman's Wharf, yet quieter then staying at hotels on the wharf.
Easy access to downtown via city bus (avoid driving in San Fran if possible) and close to a site seeing bus dropoff point at Broderick & Chestnut Sts.
The Manager, Tyler and his staff, Angie and Raymond are very helpful and have alot of tips on San Fran. I always stay at this place and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PURRRRRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#82 of 229 in San Francisco
587 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#139 of 229 in San Francisco
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#31 of 229 in San Francisco
1,557 reviews
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#38 of 229 in San Francisco
1,126 reviews
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#77 of 229 in San Francisco
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco

Property: Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Address: 2755 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our Rooms feature: Free Reliable High Speed Wireless Internet Access, Refrigerator, New Flat Screen LCD TV with Cable and HBO, Alarm Clock with MP3 Player, In-room Coffee, Hairdryer, and free access to a business center with a printer from 7AM to 7PM. We are pet friendly, $20/Pet/Day cleaning fee. We are a 100% non smoking, AAA approved hotel with free limited parking. The Palace of Fine Arts and Exploratorium are just four block's walk away. Our location is especially good for touring the city while remaining quiet. We are near 5 bus lines which can transport you all over the city. The staff here was either born in the city or has lived her long enough to help you navigate the well and not so well known parts of San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco At The Presidio Travelodge Hotel San Francisco
Travelodge San Francisco
Travel Lodge San Francisco
San Francisco Travel Lodge
San Francisco Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing