We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful staff at secluded Travelodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Ranked #60 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Fortuna, California
1 review
“Friendly and helpful staff at secluded Travelodge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

Recently my husband, teenage son and dog, (yes a dog friendly hotel in SanFrancisco! ) spent 4 nights at the Presidio Travelodge, not to be mistaken for the other 2 or 3 Travelodges on Lombard Street. This one is tucked away on the West end of the street literally steps away from the Presidio gate. The night desk person who checked us in was Nikki and she made absolutely sure we were comfortable with our room. She brought us an extra light and a doggie treat bag for our dog. She assured us the neighborhood was safe and over the course of the next 3 nights cheerfully greeted us when we arrived back at the hotel, tired from a day of exploring and sightseeing. She even came to our car (we had to park around the corner when the lot was full) to see if we needed help carrying anything or help with the dog. Ray, the day person, helped our son locate places to skateboard and gave us driving directions so some out of the way places. The motel is gracefully aging and the rooms are very small, there was free wi-fi, continental breakfast, extra coffee for the room, and free parking! The fridge and microwave were very helpful as we had taken some food from home to enjoy while on vacation. We will no-doubt return. Thanks again Nikki & Ray for all your help and friendliness!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Columbo077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    489
    129
    31
    18
See reviews for
387
426
69
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2010

I stayed at the Travelodge Presidio in late October. After scouring the web for a place to stay, what drew me to this hotel was the mention of free parking. Having never been to San Francisco before, I didn't know parking was such a limited commodity.

The free parking turned out to be a huge benefit. It is admittedly a tight fit (I think I counted eight spaces), but I never had an issue finding a spot. I was there three nights and the farthest away I had to park was half a block away.

This was thanks in part to the great staff. The woman at the desk (sorry, I don't remember her name now!) was able to do a quick glance at a monitor to tell me there was a space around the corner. She was the same attendant when I checked in and she was very friendly and helpful, even asking for my preference of room. I ended up with a room with no direct neighbors and it was extra quiet.

I mentioned the cameras before. It's nice that an eye is kept on the extra parking, but it did not seem I had to worry about the area. The neighborhood itself is beautiful, with many tourist spots within walking distance. My last morning there, I was able to cross the street and wander through the Letterman complex on the Presidio and then stroll over to the Exploratorium. While other hotels just down the road were right on the busy Lombard St., this stretch is just off the main highway and it's surprising how quiet it was. I was there during the World Series and I was even able to walk half a block to a bar full of Giants fans and watch the game. That same helpful attendant told me the bar was recently used for a movie, something that myself as a movie nut appreciated.

I can't think of any real complaints. The room had the usual amount of wear and tear. The free web connection was a little flighty at times, but I also don't have a great laptop either.

I have already told a number of people that if they ever go to San Francisco, to stay at the Travelodge Presidio.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sxottlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLPresidio, General Manager at Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco, responded to this review, 24 November 2010
Wow! Thank you so much for the detailed review. Feedback similar to this is such a pleasure to read. Nicky remembers helping you during your stay and is pleased to see your review as is the rest of our staff. The Marina district is one of the safest locations in San Francisco and our security cameras add peace of mind. Did you see the Yoda statue at the Letterman Complex? That is George Lucas' main location for project development. It is the old Letterman Hospital from when the Presidio was an active military base. The Final Final is a great bar to watch sports and have a pint, plus, yes, they filmed a scene in Clint Eastwood's Hereafter movie. Thank you for recommending our hotel to folks here and in conversation. It was a pleasure having you here and we hope to see you during your next visit.

Tyler Shanahan
General Manager
Travelodge at the Presidio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

The hotel location is great. Walking distance to great restaurants, night life, Palace of Fine Arts, and you can almost see the Golden Gate Bridge!

We stayed for 5 nights and it was great. They have remodeled some and had a comfy bed. Parking was tight but for ~ $90/night, you can not beat this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRayWatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLPresidio, General Manager at Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco, responded to this review, 24 November 2010
Thank you for writing a review for us and pointing out all of our main selling points...restaurants, night life, Exploratorium, and more are all so convenient to our hotel. We were happy to host you while you were in San Francisco. Looking forward to next time.

Tyler Shanahan
General Manager
Travelodge at the Presidio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

Ours was a very brief stay - just one night. Drove into the easy parking, marveled at the wonderful location, and then set off on a comfortable and delightful walking tour of the area. I too, agree completely with all the good things said before me. I didn't know SF could be so easy - for price, for transportation, and for comfort and security. Oh yes, we were there on the night the Giants won the World Series. It was fun to stand on the balcony and watch the celebrations in the friendly neighborhood and when I was tired I went into my room, closed the door, and not a sound could be heard.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyw58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLPresidio, General Manager at Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco, responded to this review, 24 November 2010
I have wanted to do one of the walking tours for some time now. They are very informative tours all over the city and times/locations can be found at sfcityguides.org. Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad we helped make San Francisco so easy, especially during such an electric time of winning the World Series! We hope to host you the next time you fly in from OH.

Tyler Shanahan
General Manager
Travelodge Presidio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Travelodge Presideo very much. Raymond, at the front desk, is "Mr. Travelodge" himself. He was cheerful, helpful, friendly and knew so much about the bus routes and things to do in the city. The room was comfortable (a little small, but this is San Francisco!) and we had a great night's sleep. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HI-Garden-Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLPresidio, General Manager at Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco, responded to this review, 5 November 2010
Five-Star Ray! We are so lucky to have him and the rest of our outstanding staff at this property. Nicky, Richard, Stephen, and Ray are all very familiar with bus routes, restaurants, activities, sights, and many other local points of interest. We are glad you had a great night's sleep...on our extremely comfortable beds. We appreciate your review of our hotel and hope to see you again.

-Tyler Shanahan
General Manager
Travelodge at the Presidio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

Tyler and Raymond went out of their way from recommending restaurants to locating a taxi cab. I would highly recommend staying at the property.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterSurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLPresidio, General Manager at Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco, responded to this review, 5 November 2010
Hello! Thank you for posting a review for everyone to see. Taxis sure can be tough to find on busy days but we are glad we could help. We love seeing our names on this site and can only hope to continue to provide the level of service our guests have grown familiar with. Thank you again.

-Tyler Shanahan
General Manager
Travelodge at the Presidio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

Staff helped with dining and tour referrals and made arrangements for shuttle to the airport. This is the kind of service you expect at higher-priced hotels. We were very pleased and would definitely recommend staying here. Our room was smallish, but we were quite comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikelady_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLPresidio, General Manager at Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco, responded to this review, 5 November 2010
Thank you for recommending us to other travelers. We strive to provide the best service possible to each guest and are glad we were able to make your stay pleasant. We hope to create more space with a future furniture upgrade however SF rooms can be on the cozy side. Thank you again for the review and we hope to see you in the future.

-Tyler Shanahan
General Manager
Travelodge at the Presidio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#78 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#27 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#37 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Marina District
Marina Motel
Marina Motel
#93 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#86 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco

Property: Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Address: 2755 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our Rooms feature: Free Reliable High Speed Wireless Internet Access, Refrigerator, New Flat Screen LCD TV with Cable and HBO, Alarm Clock with MP3 Player, In-room Coffee, Hairdryer, and free access to a business center with a printer from 7AM to 7PM. We are pet friendly, $20/Pet/Day cleaning fee. We are a 100% non smoking, AAA approved hotel with free limited parking. The Palace of Fine Arts and Exploratorium are just four block's walk away. Our location is especially good for touring the city while remaining quiet. We are near 5 bus lines which can transport you all over the city. The staff here was either born in the city or has lived her long enough to help you navigate the well and not so well known parts of San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco At The Presidio Travelodge Hotel San Francisco
Travelodge San Francisco
Travel Lodge San Francisco
San Francisco Travel Lodge
San Francisco Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing