We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon stay at Hotel Triton”
Review of Hotel Triton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Triton
Ranked #67 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed at Hotel Triton on the first leg of our honeymoon. The staff are really friendly and helpful - we had told them when we originally booked that we would be on honeymoon, and when we arrived we were informed our room had been upgraded, and in the room was a bottle of champagne and a card signed by the staff which was lovely. The location of the hotel is literally right next to the gate for China town, which is a good position for getting to pretty much all the main places in San Francisco. The only issue we had was being woken up by the smoke alarm in our room at 3am as the battery was flat, but this was resolved for us quickly. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com
Thank Lianne186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Hi Lianne186338 ~ Thanks for the awesome review. We're happy that you choose to stay with us on such a special occasion. See you on your 1st Anniversary!
Till then,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,014 - 1,020 of 1,915 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

Came down from Eugene Oregon and had a fantastic stay at the triton, seems like it is one of a kind. Can't imagine ever staying at a place thats similar to this. Love all the colors and special decorations. came back from shopping friday, and Wine hour! what else do you need on a beautiful sunny weekend in san francisco?
Love the funky feel, and door decor, beds are phenomenal. Did not want to come back to rainy Oregon after staying here.
Staff is really friendly and accommodating. Will be back,
thank you

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Hi Arthur S ~ thanks for the great review! We can't imagine you ever staying anywhere else either! Come back soon.
Sincerely,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This hotel came highly recommended and did not disappoint. We stayed for just over a week while on holiday and this was an excellent centrally located position in San Francisco.

From the moment we walked in, until departure, we felt as if this was our home, with all requests being met promptly, and a really comfortable and well equipped room. As added bonus, there was a pot of hot coffee in the lobby in the morning and happy hour with drinks at 5pm, so it was a pleasure to return and share travellers tales with the other guests.

Free WIFI (for several devices) was a bonus, especially when this is not always available in other countries. Some of the decor is a little dated, but overall everything was clean and colourful - certainly a real San Francisco experience!! Don't change this formula - I will be back.

Room Tip: Choose a corner suite, slightly more in cost, but we liked ours very much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TWBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Hey TWBuddy ~ thanks for the great review! "Funky hotel with benefits" is going on my email signature immediately!
Till next time,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
A Funky Hotel with Benefits!
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

The fabulous decor and amazing location help give this place its great vibe! If you're sick of cookie-cutter hotels with no real soul, you need to stay here. The staff are super friendly and super helpful, which is of course a bonus. I thoroughly enjoyed the quirkiness and comfort of this hidden gem.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodexperiencesplz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Hi goodexperiencesplz ~ Thanks for the review. There isn’t anything cookie cutter about us, well except for the tasty afternoon chocolate chip cookies in the lobby!
Come back soon,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Let's begin by saying that if you love great service, a cool room and an excellent location, you will love the Hotel Triton. The young and enthusiastic staff makes you feel welcome at any time. We had a double double room on the third floor which was very comfortable and little noise. The SF touches such as the copy of Howl and the dragons in the room were hip and fun. The bathroom was a little small, but made up for it with the great soaking tub. Chinatown and Union Square are right across the street so walking was encouraged. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Hi Lindsey H ~ We HIGHLY recommend people read your review! Thanks, this is fantastic!
Till next time,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Hotel is in a great location, on the edge of Union Square area and by Chinatown gate; not so great if you want to be close to the port but okay as you can get a cab or even walk and take in the sites.

Definitely would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Room on a high floor would be a preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Hi Ryan M ~ thanks for the review. We are definitely a walking city and our location can't be beat. Next time you're in the city ask one of us about the best walking routes.
Come back soon,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Hotel is in a great location, on the edge of Union Square area and by Chinatown gate; comfortable rooms; very friendly, helpful, responsive staff...only drawback is to make sure to get an upper floor, away from trash and delivery trucks

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trvlr09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Hi trvlr09 ~ Thanks for sharing your review! We like to say that the HEART-BEAT of the city is right outside our doors... :)
Till next time,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#75 of 230 in San Francisco
1,200 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#29 of 230 in San Francisco
2,189 reviews
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#54 of 230 in San Francisco
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#53 of 230 in San Francisco
536 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
609 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#13 of 230 in San Francisco
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Triton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Triton

Address: 342 Grant Ave, San Francisco, CA 94108-3607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#71 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £128 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Triton 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Triton is a creative vision made real. Sprung from the imaginations of San Francisco artists, the Hotel Triton is a colorful and ever-current showcase of the pop culture that keeps this city vibrant. It is a welcoming wonderland that cares for you as if you were the Greek god for which the hotel is named. Across from the Chinatown gates, the Hotel Triton is conveniently located near San Francisco's top destinations and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Triton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing