We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel but very noisy!”
Review of Hotel Triton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Triton
Ranked #66 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“nice hotel but very noisy!”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

every night we were kept up with little sleep from the noise in the ally outside our window. the sound of loading plates, which crashed every time they dropped them, and cutlery. the workers then continued to load laundry etc right through the night with shouting and loud talking. Although it was a very quirky and interesting hotel it was brought down by the lack of sleep. great position in the city - you just have to walk across the road and you are in china town! - which is great but i have to say that it is not up to the standards of the other kimpton hotels we stayed in on our trip with a less "luxurious" feel that all the other hotels seem to have.

Room Tip: try - if there is any way possible - to not get a room that looks onto the ally. If you find that yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Hi Robyn A ~ Thanks for posting your review. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't get the best night’s sleep. As you mentioned, we are located in the just steps away from everything you will want to see in San Francisco although with that comes what we affectionately call the "heartbeat' of the city. As a part of Kimpton Hotels, we do have plenty of options from fun and funky like us to luxurious to the max. The next time your plans bring you to SF reach out to me. I would be happy to help you find the right hotel for you.

Sincerely,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    737
    660
    231
    104
    62
See reviews for
274
701
127
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We've stayed in many hotels and I can say this is one of our best stays. The location is excellent, right by China Town and all the action on union square. We were also able to walk to all the touristy sites like fisherman's warf and coyt tower For people that complain about the room size, it was spacious enough and ALL the hotels in this area have smallish rooms. It's a historic area of the city! The room was plenty big enough and we loved the decor of the room and lobby. The service was excellent. My wife caught a salmon on a charter boat and they were nice enough to freeze it for us (and didn't even act like it was an odd request even though who brings giant fish fillets into a nice hotel?). They also helped me tape up my giant box of wine from napa for transit back home. Comfy bed, clean hotel with a memorable eclectic feel, great service, A+.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Hey Jonathan K ~ I can see why they call it Hot-lanta! Your review is on FIRE! Thank you for all of your kind words. I will be sure to share them with my team.

Don't stay away too long,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Kimpton Hotels all seem to have some sort of quirks. The Triton has gone a bit far with the bohemian theme. From the changing purple illumination in the elevators, the upside down Corinthian columns in the lobby complete with resident psychic, to the Jack Kerouac wall paper in the room, you know you're not at a Hilton. The downtown San Francisco at the boundary of Union Square, the Financial District, and Chinatown can't be beat. Perhaps a towel rate in the room might be an improvement and a bit more attention to carpet cleaning in the halls and in front on the in-room sink might be useful improvements. Otherwise, this is a great find.

Room Tip: Rooms are small. Opt for a King Bed corner unit and check for the noise at the lower levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikecbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Hi Mikecbu ~ EXTREME! We'll take it! We definitely don't want you to think we're your run of the mill hotel for sure. Thanks for posting your review. We hope you come back and visit us again.

Till then,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I booked a Kimpton hotel because, well I like Kimpton. The little quirky stuff just works!

So we got complimentary coffee in the morning from the lobby, we got cookies in the afternoon and we enjoyed the free wine hour in the evening. We got the 'Raid the Minibar' offer which was a nice touch. The hotel decor is also a little quirky, but isn't a problem.......most importantly everyone who works their gives great service......

The room was small (as expected), was very clean and perfect for a city break; location right in the centre, a small walk from Chinatown, Union Square, Cable Cars.......the lack of safe was the only downside.

Would happily go back again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chairman_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Hello Chairman_9 ~ Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We hope you will think of us again should your plans ever bring you back to San Francisco. Don't stay away too long!

Till then,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

It's right by China Towns Gate, walking distance to Coit Tower, walking distance to Pier 39 and great shopping all around. The hotel was clean with amazing decor. Every evening there is a wine tasting in lobby around fireplace. Loved the place and staff!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constance D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Hi Constance D ~ This review is... Simply the Best! Thank you for making it happen!

Come back soon,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I just joined Trip Advisor to provide a review of this hotel. I visited for one week in October - pleasure. The hotel location is just outside of the Chinatown gate and it was perfect - I like to be near Union Square but without the high prices. The staff was great. Wine hour each night - can't beat that. I'd definitely stay here when returning to SF.

Room Tip: The way the hotel is situated I can't imagine that there would be a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Welcome to TripAdvisor Alexander M! Thanks for the awesome review. We hope you come back to visit us sooner than later.

Till then,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed here for three nights as part of a fly-drive trip to CA and enjoyed staying in this quirky, stylish and unusual hotel. We were a little taken aback on arrival, as our agent had requested, many months previously, a room with two beds for our two adult children, but they were offered a room with one normal size double bed, which clearly wasn't going to work. The reception staff, (especially Tawny) however, were helpful and although they couldn't provide them with a two-bedded room, were able to sort out a larger room with enough space for a 'rollaway' bed too. Not ideal but do-able, but we were slightly disappointed after having planned so far ahead. Our rooms overlooked an inner courtyard, which whilst not having any view was certainly quiet and provided a bolthole for peaceful sleep after each of our two full days of touring. After all, who wants to spend a lot of time in their hotel room when there is so much to see and do. The bathrooms were small but perfectly functional with good showers and plenty of hot water. Hotel Triton is ideally situated for touring, being right next to the Chinatown gate and within walking distance of Union Square and bus/tram routes to get just about anywhere. Only downside for us was the $40 per day parking fee, though we couldn't find parking more than a few dollars cheaper ourselves and the valet service was very good. The hotel is unusual in that it has no restaurant or cafe, but does provide breakfast bags containing fruit, juice, muffins and cereal bars, with unlimited coffee and other drinks available in the lobby at breakfast time. There are no coffee making facilities in the rooms but there is a Starbucks across the street (where we used their free wife) and a cafe next door. There is also unlimited wine on offer at the hotel's evening happy hour, along with tarot readings! We loved the pets who were obviously having a great time visiting the Triton with their owners and we didn't notice any smells at all while we were there, not even doggy ones! The gym in the basement was well equipped too. We liked the art and mirrors in the corridors/stairwells too. Glad we tried something different from the norm, but just a bit let down by the bed situation.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet, ask for an inward facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
HI Lindy87 ~ Thanks for the awesome review. I'm so happy to hear that the staff took great care of you. We hope you will think of us again the next time you’re in San Francisco!

Till then,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#29 of 229 in San Francisco
2,054 reviews
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#22 of 229 in San Francisco
1,455 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#58 of 229 in San Francisco
1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#77 of 229 in San Francisco
1,165 reviews
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#50 of 229 in San Francisco
1,004 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Triton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Triton

Property: Hotel Triton
Address: 342 Grant Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94108-3607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#71 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Triton 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Triton is a creative vision made real. Sprung from the imaginations of San Francisco artists, the Hotel Triton is a colorful and ever-current showcase of the pop culture that keeps this city vibrant. It is a welcoming wonderland that cares for you as if you were the Greek god for which the hotel is named. Across from the Chinatown gates, the Hotel Triton is conveniently located near San Francisco's top destinations and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Triton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing