We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Hotel Triton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Triton
Ranked #69 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The hotel had excellent facilities, great character and an absolutely brilliant location. Our room was on a high floor and faced inward so there was none of the external noise mentioned in other reviews. The staff was helpful and I'm a sucker of complimentary newspapers. Worth a second visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Hi Gavin L ~ Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We hope there will be a second, third and more visits with us this year!

Till then,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

939 - 945 of 1,952 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

My friend and I recently travelled to the states from Sydney, Australia and absolutely loved Hotel Triton! The staff were really down to earth and very approachable. Our room was comfortable and big enough for our 3 night stay. Can't wait to come back to this amazing city and lovely hotel :)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassie_Pew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Hi Cassie_Pew ~ Thanks for the awesome review! I'm happy to hear that you both had a great time with us. Don't stay away too long!

Till next time,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

A nice welcome gift, a small but fun room with character, friendly yet in-obsequious service, plus all the usual amenities from Kimpton hotels--good internet, wine reception, local papers, robes, etc.

Theme is rock and roll and beat. My room had words of "On the Road" on the wall.

Good location by the Chinatown gate. Cool that Cafe de la Presse is right next door and does the room service.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank mark10Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

HI mark10Ohio ~ Thanks for the great review! You hit the BEAT right on! Come back and hang with us again soon!

Till then,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

No complaints. I love coming to this hotel when visiting San Francisco. It is walking distance to some really great places like Chinatown and the Comstock Saloon. The rooms are always clean with very comfortable beds. The staff is always super friendly. They even have a couple city-friendly bikes you can borrow for free. The daily complimentary happy hour is also a big plus. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Hey Anthony R ~ You're HIRED! Thanks for the great review. Next time you're at Comstock you have to try the Pig in a biscuit app, AWESOMENESS in a biscuit!

Till next time,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Great location, staff are very friendly and they have unique things like the happy hour at 5pm where you can grab a wine or mulled cider. Would stay here next time. Reason it's a 4 not 5 is the noise, all external, fire trucks, a protest, horns so take ear plugs! Kinda worth it to be in a great spot.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Gemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

HI Gemma A (Devon) ~ Thanks for the awesome review. I hope the "heartbeat of the city" won't keep you from thinking of us again in the future.

Come back soon,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I had a great two night stay at Hotel Triton. After a quick check in, the cool guy at the front desk (sorry I forgot his name but super nice) told me that they would be serving the new fortune cookies instead of chocolate chip cookies for the afternoon/evening snack. I've stayed at other Kimpton hotels and look forward to the chocolate chip cookies. So I was a little disappointed until Adrian heard my moaning. He had a plate of hot chocolate chip cookies sent to my room - how amazing. It absolutely made my day and served as a great snack while I worked in my room. I also loved the hot chocolate and tea in the morning. The hotel location to my work office, restaurants, and shops were great too. I love staying at Kimpton hotels where I get free wireless internet and $10 card to get snacks from the in room bar.

I had an internal room and never heard any outside or street noise. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cstocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Hi cstocker ~ Thanks for the awesome review! We'll keep the chocolate chip cookies warm for you so come back soon.

Till then,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Avoid the major chains and treat yourself to a boutique experience in a great central location. Quirky and fun, with complimentary wine every evening from 5-6pm. If you're feeling lonely, you can even request a goldfish to keep you company! Very reasonably priced too. The only problem is the very noisy bin collection in the alley next door at four in the morning...

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank endurodavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Hi endurodavid ~ Thanks for positing your experience. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We couldn't agree with you more!

Till next time,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#76 of 230 in San Francisco
1,216 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#74 of 230 in San Francisco
771 reviews
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#55 of 230 in San Francisco
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
2,251 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Diva
Hotel Diva
#104 of 230 in San Francisco
2,025 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Triton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Triton

Address: 342 Grant Ave, San Francisco, CA 94108-3607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £118 - £409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Triton 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Triton is a creative vision made real. Sprung from the imaginations of San Francisco artists, the Hotel Triton is a colorful and ever-current showcase of the pop culture that keeps this city vibrant. It is a welcoming wonderland that cares for you as if you were the Greek god for which the hotel is named. Across from the Chinatown gates, the Hotel Triton is conveniently located near San Francisco's top destinations and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Triton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing